Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tani9 Backpackers Osaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing place! So cozy it feels like getting home after a long day sightseeing. Clean and great people working there plus the lovely cat. Nice free little breakfast and soap&shampoo in the showers. I will choose Tani9 next time I'm in Osaka for sure!! Thank you all :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Tani9 is awesome, they have a hostel cat named akubi. hes the cutest. The staff is awesome, they provide maps and give you information on local events, theres a nearby 24hr grocery store, and nearby 24hr laundry. I love Tani9 its very cozy and intimate. A good base to rest, and explore Osaka, Kyoto, and nearby areas. They also let you store luggage the following day after you check out. Thank you Tani9 for a good stay :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th May 2017
9.7

I can say without a doubt this was in my top 3 hostels during my 5 weeks in Japan. The staff (Emi, Minori, Ina and more) are awesome and they have the most adorable cat named Akubi (that thinks it's a dog). We met some great people here as well that we hope to visit in Korea some day soon. The only item which may concern some was the lack of larger lockers for luggage/packs (smaller ones are provided), though this was never a concern in Japan. Will 100% come back when I return to Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing comment and rate for us. We are very glad to hear that you liked here and met some great people during your stay! Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. We all (needless to say Akubi) miss you guys! See you again, definitely!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Apr 2017
7.7

Rooms are claustrophobic so is the hostel. Staff are nice but there's no real common area or even a proper kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your valuable comment and rate for us.Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. It would be great if you come back here someday!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.1

Stayed a couple of nights in Osaka. The hostel was a little older than many I've stayed in in Japan, but such a good location (can walk to everything except for osaka station) that it makes up for it. Staff are lovely and really welcoming! Bring an eye mask - the dorms are quite bright. Would recommend - was perfect for my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your valuable comment and rate for us. Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. We hope to see you next time again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Absolutely awesome hostel. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Amazing location close to downtown and stations. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing comment and perfect rate for us. We are very glad to hear that you liked here! Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. We all welcome you anytime!

2nd Apr 2017
9.7

Favourite hostel so far! It was like staying in a cottage in the middle of the city, so cozy and comforting. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were always hanging out and happy to join in on a night out. Very convenient location too, close to trains, supermarkets and Dotonbori. Also, if you love cats you'll get to meet one of the cutest, silliest cats ever here! I 100% recommend this hostel, and hope to stay here again one day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing comment and rate for us. We are so glad to hear that you felt cozy and comfortable here! Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. We all miss guys! See you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.3

Location was great, short walk to the downtown area. Different than an average stay at a hostel so keep that in mind, this is totally different. Small place, more personalized, homier, makes you feel closer to the staff, to the other travelers. The staff are all friendly and helpful, willingly offering suggestions on where to go & how to get there. Good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your valuable comment and rate for us. We are so glad to hear that it was good for your stay! Thank you for your sharing your time with us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. We welcome you anytime!

8th Feb 2017
9.1

Nice location close to Dotonbori Street and very convenient to subway. Hostel is small and has a very small common area which limits the atmosphere and ability to be social. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are small individual lockers just big enough for valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your wonderful review and rate for us. We keep it in mind and doing try our best. Thank you for choosing Tani9 Backpackers Osaka and we hope we will see you again in the future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.