X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tanita House Reviews

152 Charoenrat Road, T. Wat Kate, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

99%

Rating
237 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 100%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My husband and I loved Tanita House! It’s a family-run home that consists of a compound of chalet houses in Thai style traditional wooden houses, made of teak. The mother and owner – Khun Aor- was lovely, and so was her home.Our chalet consisted of a double bed, and an extra bed for our 12 year old son. Very comfortable! Bacon and eggs in the morning, as well as a buffet breakfast, and as much iced-cold water, tea and coffee, was also included. Highly recommended!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Adorable teak huts - very clean, simple, and rustic. Close to some cool riverside bars, but a little farther from the main area of Chiang Mai (though a nice walk). The owner was so incredibly sweet and accommodating - she let us borrow bug spray for the day when we ran out! The free breakfast was great, and there's a cute coffee shop on site as well. Great atmosphere - I would definitely come back and recommend.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

We have lived in tanita house for 3 days.it was a great experience there!!!!! The person in charge is a nice people and she does not hesitate to help us in all time. The wooden house is full of chiang Mai's culture. The location is near some bars and restaurant. The resident can enjoy the night life in chiang mai !!!!!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We were very happy with the room and staff. Very good value for the money. We would definitely recommend this place to stay. Back off the street so quiet and serene setting. Loved all the care taken with the ambiance and setting. And the breakfast was Great.....

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

It is the cutest place ever! Its not even a hostel, because you can get your own bungalow with bathroom. The garden is very pretty and the location near the river is very nice. We would definitly stay there again!


94%

Harmony in Chiang Mai, Tanita House is located on the east side of the Ping River. Aor and his staff are friendly and attentive. The property is characterized by spacious villas in Lanna's architecture style in teak wood. respectful of this heritage Aor maintains the site with taste and you get a feeling of harmony and authenticity. Close to the old town, but in the quiet, you can dine on the shores of the river in many restaurants in short a very good address.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this place. The ambience and attention to detail without need for gimmicks was fantastic. The staff were lovely particularly the owner who ensured that we were more like friends than guests. We would certainly recommend it. We loved the walk into the centre but I guess some people may find the ten minute trek a little off putting. We always found something different to look at.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

If there was a rating above "excellent," I would give it to Tanita House for the atmosphere. It's a really great haven from all the bustle of Bangkok!


100%

What a beautiful place, Aor has at the Tanita House. My husband and arrived in Chiang Mai and checked into our own private bungalow, so you can call it, at Tanita House. A large, comfortable bed, plenty of move around space, cupboard for storage that locks, and a western traveler friendly bathroom! The grounds were beautiful, breakfast excellent, and the owner Aor was beyond helpful! We truly loved our stay there and will stay again! Tanita House is also close to everything in Chiang Mai!


89%

We truly loved the Tanita House but feel that the bathrooms could use some updates! Aor was wonderful!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

As you walk down the entrance lane passing the beautiful artique art work and seeing the teak buildings you feel like you have stepped back in time. We shared the 2 bedroom home with our niece and nephew. There is a shared living room with half bath and then two ensuite bedrooms. Breakfast was delicious. Aor, our host, was helpful in every way -from getting taxis to giving advice about what to see, where to eat. Next time in Chiang Mai we would only stay at Tanita House.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Tanitas house is a hidden gem in Chiang Mai. We were lucky enough to spend 6 nights there, and Air the host was so welcoming and incredibly helpful when it came to the best places to shop, eat, cooking classes etc. Our room was cleaned daily and I would highly recommend staying here if you ever visit Chiang Mai.


100%

This place was fantastic! The owner really helped us get the side trips we wanted booked and the room was fabulous! Would gladly go back!


94%

We came second time and our stay was as great as last time. Thank you very much for caring for us so heartly, Miss Aur


100%

We loved staying at Tanita House. The teak bungalow was a beautiful quiet oasis from the busy activity occurring outside the gates of the property. There are wonderful galleries up and down the street, including lots of antique treasures being sold on the property store. Aor is the perfect hostess providing a wonderful breakfast and an endless supply of drinks. We will be recommending with property to all our family and friends.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I absolutely loved staying at Tanita House! The bungalow was beautiful, and in a traditional family compound on a nice street with shops, restaurants and local food stands. I ate a lot of the 60c satay dumplings from down the road! It was great having tea, coffee, water and breakfast provided and On (not sure of the spelling) was super helpful, directing me ago the Hmong textile market, post office etc, and calling tuk tuks and cabs for me. I absolutely loved it and will definitely return!


49%

员工态度冷淡,一两句话没说清就不再沟通,完全失去民宿的热情风格。住了一晚觉得不行准备退房,说要收两天费用,抱着争取的态度想跟员工磨磨价,第二句回复就是不给的话就报警。好吧,算长见识 了,真的是nice到家了。。。欠虐的强烈推荐。。。

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place, perfect for unwinding on the edge of the old town. Nice


91%

Had a relaxing time at Tanita's House. The property was small but just right. During our stay the family guest house was being renovated so we weren't able to enjoy the property at its best. Our bunglow had everything we needed, a bed, a bathroom, free wifi, A/C, and free breakfast. Breakfast was usually coffee, tea, juice, cereal, toast, eggs and bacon. For lunch or dinner there are plenty of restaurants near by at walking distance. The owner was extremely help and soo sweet.


83%

A nice and quiet Guesthose with very friendly and helpful staff. A little oasis in the city. Great value for money: Free water, tee and coffee. We really enjoyed our stay!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(183 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback