X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tanita House Reviews

152 Charoenrat Road, T. Wat Kate, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
257 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We had a wonderful stay!

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing place. The owner is amazing and kind. We felt at home. The room was very comfortable. Breakfest was outstanding. Location is just out of town but near all the cool restaurants on the river. I would stay here again.


100%

This was the best hotel we stayed in in all of Thailand!! When I head back to Thailand, I would definitely stay here again!

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Owner are super helpful and friendly. no doubts that is the reason like Tanita house.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • cheewai54
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanita House. We stayed in our own little wooden house with a balcony, everything was spacious and very clean. Tanita House is located on a main road but when you walk through the tall wooden gates into the garden you wouldn't even know it. Beautiful and quiet. The people are absolutely fantastic. Aor gave us great advice as we were picking excursions and helped us bargain fair prices for tuk tuks. She made our stay. Cannot recommend highly enough.


97%

Really peaceful and relaxing location but easy walking distance from centre of town. Tanita House's owner was incredibly friendly and helpful but also very relaxed. Always ready to help if you needed but also left you to your space if not.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was incredibly friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The location was a very peaceful, only a short walk to the city center, and had great bars/restaurants on the same street. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and very clean. The only negative (if any) were that there were quite a few ants in the bathroom, but this didn't bother us much at all!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Everything was perfect. Iwould recommend it and i would stay again there.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Delightful, tranquil spot a short walk away from the the more bustling spots in Chiang Mai. Staying in a traditional teak house was a great introduction to Thai life...

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My husband and I loved Tanita House! It’s a family-run home that consists of a compound of chalet houses in Thai style traditional wooden houses, made of teak. The mother and owner – Khun Aor- was lovely, and so was her home.Our chalet consisted of a double bed, and an extra bed for our 12 year old son. Very comfortable! Bacon and eggs in the morning, as well as a buffet breakfast, and as much iced-cold water, tea and coffee, was also included. Highly recommended!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Adorable teak huts - very clean, simple, and rustic. Close to some cool riverside bars, but a little farther from the main area of Chiang Mai (though a nice walk). The owner was so incredibly sweet and accommodating - she let us borrow bug spray for the day when we ran out! The free breakfast was great, and there's a cute coffee shop on site as well. Great atmosphere - I would definitely come back and recommend.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We have lived in tanita house for 3 days.it was a great experience there!!!!! The person in charge is a nice people and she does not hesitate to help us in all time. The wooden house is full of chiang Mai's culture. The location is near some bars and restaurant. The resident can enjoy the night life in chiang mai !!!!!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We were very happy with the room and staff. Very good value for the money. We would definitely recommend this place to stay. Back off the street so quiet and serene setting. Loved all the care taken with the ambiance and setting. And the breakfast was Great.....

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

It is the cutest place ever! Its not even a hostel, because you can get your own bungalow with bathroom. The garden is very pretty and the location near the river is very nice. We would definitly stay there again!


94%

Harmony in Chiang Mai, Tanita House is located on the east side of the Ping River. Aor and his staff are friendly and attentive. The property is characterized by spacious villas in Lanna's architecture style in teak wood. respectful of this heritage Aor maintains the site with taste and you get a feeling of harmony and authenticity. Close to the old town, but in the quiet, you can dine on the shores of the river in many restaurants in short a very good address.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this place. The ambience and attention to detail without need for gimmicks was fantastic. The staff were lovely particularly the owner who ensured that we were more like friends than guests. We would certainly recommend it. We loved the walk into the centre but I guess some people may find the ten minute trek a little off putting. We always found something different to look at.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

If there was a rating above "excellent," I would give it to Tanita House for the atmosphere. It's a really great haven from all the bustle of Bangkok!


100%

What a beautiful place, Aor has at the Tanita House. My husband and arrived in Chiang Mai and checked into our own private bungalow, so you can call it, at Tanita House. A large, comfortable bed, plenty of move around space, cupboard for storage that locks, and a western traveler friendly bathroom! The grounds were beautiful, breakfast excellent, and the owner Aor was beyond helpful! We truly loved our stay there and will stay again! Tanita House is also close to everything in Chiang Mai!


89%

We truly loved the Tanita House but feel that the bathrooms could use some updates! Aor was wonderful!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

As you walk down the entrance lane passing the beautiful artique art work and seeing the teak buildings you feel like you have stepped back in time. We shared the 2 bedroom home with our niece and nephew. There is a shared living room with half bath and then two ensuite bedrooms. Breakfast was delicious. Aor, our host, was helpful in every way -from getting taxis to giving advice about what to see, where to eat. Next time in Chiang Mai we would only stay at Tanita House.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(192 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback