Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taroko Liwu Hostel

  • No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Taroko Liwu Hostel Located at No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, , Hualien.
Taroko Liwu Hostel
Taiwan
Hualien 972 No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien
92% 211
24.1520009 121.6251754
Taroko Liwu Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.1

Upon arriving we were "greeted" by an employee of Hosteling International, the place next to LiWu hostel, but we thought it was LiWu. I didn't see the LiWu sign to the left. She didn't speak English, but asked us in Chinese to for our reservation info, and seemed a bit upset that the price was too low for her to give us for our stay. For a little while we were concerned our reservation was lost, not knowing what the problem was. Then she called LiWu Hostel to open the door so we could check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel, perfectly situated at the entrance to the gorge and great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Ken is a fantastic host and his family runs a fantastic hostel - the rooms are cosy and airconditioned. Ken gave some absolutely fantastic advice which led to me having a fantastic time in Toroko- please stay here and support this fantastic hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

As soon as we arrived Ken the owner was very welcoming and helpful. He told us where to find meals and good information about the national park. The hostel room itself was very good value for money. We stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm which was spacious, had lockers and privacy curtains and lamps for each bed. Comfy beds and clean bathroom. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome Hostel! Right outside the Gorge! The staff was great, extremely helpful, he showed me great places to eat and also told me where I should go in the gorge. He even lent me an extra helmet for my motorbike. On the other hand I highly highly suggest checking out the gorge on a motorbike. You can rent one in Hualin outside of the train station. Also check out the Golden Grotto, it's beautiful! If you're a nature lover like me! Stay at this hostel it's amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Taroko Liwu Hostel was a great place to stay for our group of 7 during our weekend exploration of Taroko. The host was extremely kind and helpful. He arranged for a taxi service to come pick us up from the train station when we arrived. The location was perfect due to the close proximity to the bus stop that goes to Taroko. Only negative is that the hours (closed from 11am to 3pm and front door is locked at 10pm) are pretty rigid, and they prefer you to be very quiet (so loud groups be warned).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Perfect for exploring Taroko Gorge, situated right at the entrance. However, if you want to do anything else (for example visit Hualien) then this hostel is a little bit out of the way. Ken (the owner) will give you good advice on places to go and which buses etc to take. Had a great time and met some friendly people here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Kind, helpful family run hostel. Relaxing stay outside of the main city. Delcious countryside, home cooked food at a local restaurant nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pa_eman8740
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Great if you just want to relax and trek in Taroko. Best location by far. Not much in town, but it has what you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

It's the perfect base for Taroko National Park given its location. Very very value for money too. Rooms are huge, with air conditioning and they even have a hairdryer and a huge TV. It's within walking distance to Taroko National Park, and there's a shuttle bus stop right outside the hostel which makes travelling very convenient (bus goes to Hualien and xincheng stations, Qixingtan and taroko all the way to tianxiang). 2) the owner Ken was very very very helpful and friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.