Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Taroko Liwu Hostel Reviews

No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained


153 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


If you wanna live on the door step to Taroko park and basically walk in, this is the place for you! Unfortunately the atmosphere and the facilities are not that good. The shower sucks, no lockers available unless you pay for it outside the hostel and there is no wifi in the room. Price is average in Taiwan, but for the standard, it is too high.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay. For our location closer to Toroko than any other hostel, the price (NT450, US$15) is fair. 2. We offer hot water 24 a day, what was it about the showers that you didn't like? 3. We offer WiFi in the living room as we want it to be a common area for our guests to exchange. If you have any concerns about your stay, please let us know and we can do our best to correct it for you. We hope at least that you have great memories of Toroko. ^_^


Staff is great! Bathroom could be better, but okay for a weekend. There's a nice common room and a pool table :). If you want to go to Taroko National Park, it's a really good choice.


This hostel is perfect for those who want to be close to Taroko National Park. The owner is very nice and accomodating, and even took a couple of us out to one of his favorite dinner spots! Highly recommend.


Meh. This place met all our basic needs. The rooms are large enough with very high ceilings and tall bunks. Each bunk has it's own curtain which does a decent job at blocking out light and sound. They have hot water available and a common room with a TV. There are a few mediocre restaurants close by and a 7-11. Most importantly, it was a short walk from the visitor center. Our main complaint was the noise. Sound traveled easily through the walls and screen above the door.


Good location. Ken was very helpful. Taiwanese are great people.


The owners are really kind and helpful. Their beds are comfortable and clean. The shower is not very convenient but it is alright. An address to recommend, especially if it stays that cheap !

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Such a lovely hostel. The staff were all so friendly, chatty, welcoming and helpful. The location was right on the doorstep of taroko. A little harder to get to Hualien, but still very manageable.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Friendly staff but after to staying in many hostels in Bangkok, Taipei and Shanghai this one was the first that didn't have soap or shampoo. Ed


My friends and I spent most of our time hiking and driving around Taroko National Park, so we were only in the hostel for one night, to shower and sleep. I booked a 4 bed mixed dorm for the three of us, and we ended up in a Japanese style room with 6 beds and two other people. That was a bit unexpected, but everything worked out fine. There wasn't really any English speaking staff working at the time that we got there, but checking in was pretty easy. The doors didn't lock well though.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I woudl recommend this hostel to other people. Service was really good and the owner even took us to one of the Taiwanese markets. The communication worked well and people there are helpful and willing.


Excellent all round hostel. Loads of space. Big sitting room, kitchen and nice outside area. Loads of bathrooms and even a pool table. Location is amazing. 5 mins by taxi from Xinsheng (Toroko) train station and at entrance to the National Park with a bus stop outside which will take you up into the main sights of the gorge. Very easy. The owner, Ken, was really friendly and helpful. Took us to the night market which was great. Hostel not open between 11am and 3pm so arrange arrival ti


Nobody was there when we arrived and nobody replied to my emails before we arrived. Sloppy tour When the owner finally showed up to let us in, he told us we were lucky that he even showed up. The guy was rude, he offered us hot sauce and then when we asked for it at the next meal he was extremely rude and unprofessional. With a sneer, he told us that we "used to much of it," and he didn't want to give us more. Pee in the shampoo bottle! Pool table was cool, had to find it on my own.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mr. Stubbins, Sorry for my flawed service on your day stayed in our place. Please accept my sincere apology. In respond to your post ahead, I consider not to provide my personal spicy sauce anymore to guests in the future so this will not be a blame point of our hotel, after all the disappearing rate of one third a full jar for only two meal is really ridiculous.

View all Hualien Hostels

Please give us your feedback