Hostelworld.com

Taroko Liwu Hostel

  • No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Taroko Liwu Hostel Located at No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, , Hualien.
Taroko Liwu Hostel
Taiwan
Hualien 972 No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien
82% 178
24.1520009 121.6251754
Taroko Liwu Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Shout out to Ken the owner who was a great help the whole time we were there. One outlet was broken in my room (the others were working). He got an extension cord for me the first night, and by the second night the outlet was repaired, he even asked for permission to enter the room before the electrician fixed the outlet. Also this place is right by the gate that leads into Taroko and toward Tian Xiang.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
8.6

Owner can speak well English and provide helpful information. Toilets are too less, 2 rooms for all dorms, not sure how many beds totally. Not much food shop nearby, but 7-11 is not far. On locations, if your TRA schedule has stopped at Xincheng Taroko station, you can just dropped and take a taxi to a hostel, it's only 5 minutes away by car. But from Hualien city, it's 1 hour away by bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
8.6

Perfect for visiting the gorge, right next to the entrance. It was dead while I was there, but I went mid week during the rainy season when a lot of the park wasn't open. Good common areas, I think it would have a good atmosphere with more guests. In spite of the language barrier, the owner did his best to be helpful and give me advice. Average cleanliness. The shower is a shower hose and shower head attached to the sinks right next to the toilets in the bathrooms, not ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2016
9.7

Very helpful owner and great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here! ken and his wife Ellen are so nice, they even helped me secure a bike rental knowing that I wanted to bike the entire trail. This is located right outside Taroko National Park. If you're looking for something quaint and quiet, this is the place!! It's simple, quiet, and very peaceful if you wanna get away from the city!! Highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
8.9

Hostel was clean and conveniently located within walking distance to Taroko. The hostel owner was very helpful, and even offered to drive us to the local night market for dinner as there aren't any restaurants around the hostel, just a 7-11.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
10.0

Very friendly and knowledgable staff! Helped greatly with the planning of my trip and just went above and beyond. It was hard to sleep for me because the hallway light shone into the room but it was my fault for not getting up to turn off the outside hallway light so no points deducted for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
6.3

The Hostel is faaaaar away from Hualien so for those who only want to visit Taroko Nationalpark it would be optimal, for those who'll not, not really. There is only Wifi-signal in the public rooms so no Wifi in the sleeping-rooms which are okay but without little bedside lights. Toilet and showerrooms are average or little bit under average. The public rooms are nice and the Wifi is fast.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2016
6.3

The staff was truly lovely and willing to help. The location is good if you want to be near the National Park but there is little to nothing else around. I think you'd do better to take a bus or train from Hualien. The room was simply mats on a floor with no lockers or security to the rooms. The walls are thin and the doors to the rooms are I think just paper so noise carries really well between rooms. Wifi worked well. It was very expensive for what it is but served its purpose.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI Miss Many think you for your introduction We will try to improve and sorry about this Next time travel Chinese regions. Please avoid Chinese new year Because this time really will be more expensive than usual 2017 Chinese New Year will be (2017 Jun 28~31) Thank you Ken

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Feb 2016
8.3

Great place to stay overnight if visiting Taroko. Easy to find, clean & safe. Just a couple of minutes walk from Taroko entrance. Some nice breakfast spots near the 711 down the road but dinner options are VERY limited. If you stay here I'd recommend a scootrwhich is also handy to have if visiting the gorge. Quite far from Hualien City so only stay here whilst going to Taroko. Only complaint I have is the showers. Water is far too hot & when you try and turn it down just a little it turns cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.