Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Taroko Liwu Hostel

  • No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Taroko Liwu Hostel Located at No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, , Hualien.
Taroko Liwu Hostel
Taiwan
Hualien 972 No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien
87% 202
24.1520009 121.6251754
Taroko Liwu Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Taroko Liwu Hostel was a great place to stay for our group of 7 during our weekend exploration of Taroko. The host was extremely kind and helpful. He arranged for a taxi service to come pick us up from the train station when we arrived. The location was perfect due to the close proximity to the bus stop that goes to Taroko. Only negative is that the hours (closed from 11am to 3pm and front door is locked at 10pm) are pretty rigid, and they prefer you to be very quiet (so loud groups be warned).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Perfect for exploring Taroko Gorge, situated right at the entrance. However, if you want to do anything else (for example visit Hualien) then this hostel is a little bit out of the way. Ken (the owner) will give you good advice on places to go and which buses etc to take. Had a great time and met some friendly people here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
5.1

I really liked the location and the people running it seemed nice but I felt like an inconvenience to them. They were rushed with their kids or they run a daycare out of the place . i dont know. Wifi and aircon were weak. Bathrooms very dated. Pay laundry and lockers. Rooms very damp maybe the reason for sparing furnishings in the room. They close up between 11:00- 3:00. Some extra staff would help them a bunch. But most people are there to sleep and shower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Kind, helpful family run hostel. Relaxing stay outside of the main city. Delcious countryside, home cooked food at a local restaurant nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pa_eman8740
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Great if you just want to relax and trek in Taroko. Best location by far. Not much in town, but it has what you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

It's the perfect base for Taroko National Park given its location. Very very value for money too. Rooms are huge, with air conditioning and they even have a hairdryer and a huge TV. It's within walking distance to Taroko National Park, and there's a shuttle bus stop right outside the hostel which makes travelling very convenient (bus goes to Hualien and xincheng stations, Qixingtan and taroko all the way to tianxiang). 2) the owner Ken was very very very helpful and friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice friendly and helpful boss , Ken. Near to entrance of the toroko.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.9

This hostel is in a beautiful location but it's not quite in the Gorge. Although you can bus or hitchhike, it is much easier getting around the Gorge if you rent a motorbike so try to reserve one ahead of time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
10.0

My friends and I couldn't of picked a better location! The owner was so nice and accommodating. The hostel was clean and comfortable.i highly reccommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.9

I had a very positive stay at the Taroko Liwu Hostel. It's a perfect location if you don't have transportation: only a 10-15 walk from the park entrance. The facility is simple and clean, and I met some great people, who were also at the hostel. In addition, the owners, Ken and his wife, Ellen, were super friendly and attentive during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.