Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taroko Liwu Hostel

  • No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Aug 2017
9.7

This place is walking distance to the entrance of the park. It can also be a pleasant walk from the train station. It propably takes 45min to an hour but it's a beautiful walk. There is a nice bridge on the left side of the road, however there was about a 20 ft stretch that was a little sketchy, so watch your step. The reception/host guy was very helpful in giving suggestions on where to go throughout the gorge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
9.1

İt was very happy staying . Especiall ken who is working there helped me too much and recommended me too many things. Thank you ken

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st May 2017
6.6

It is situated at walking distance to the entrance of Taroko, but it was mouldy, almost empty and very isolated (it's on the roadside to Taroko). The room didn't have much light. I would recommend staying in Hualien better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
4.9

This hostel is conveniently close to the Taroko national park and you can take a bus close by to tour the park. Otherwise, facilities were not so clean, the shower took a bit of time to have warm water and it didn't last long, we slept in a separate building from the main hostel which had kitchen and pool table, woke up early because of roosters. Useful if you want to spend a single night to go to Taroko.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.4

Just 5 minutes walk you can get to experience the wonder of nature (Taroko Gorge). The Tourist bus towards Taroko is just 2 minutes away. It's unbelievable how convenient the hostel can be! The host of the hostel Ken was very friendly. He was very helpful and offered plenty of information to ensure you'll have a smooth trip to varies attraction. The warmth of the host can be felt deep down from the bottom of my heart. Anyone that's going to Taroko, this is the place and you won't go wrong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Convenient if you're visiting Taroko;Taroko bus stop for 1133A is~1min walk. Place is clean, staff was helpful and nice! Only thing that may bother some is the rooster calls from nearby @3AM. Didn't bother me. There are places to eat nearby in direction of Taroko, the closest one ~1min w/veg options. There's a gas station~3 min in other direction with a 7-11 next to it. The hotel next door also has food but it's pricey. There's also food along most of the major stops up to Tianxiang(included)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
6.6

Pros: pool table!, close to Taroko Visitor Center and buses into Taroko, owner is very helpful. Cons: roosters! :( from 3am, no food offered and lack of food options in local area, buses to the nearest train station don't match up well with train schedule. The single, ensuite room I had was spacious, but the bathroom was one of those types where there's no curtain, so everything gets soaked. Overall, it's a decent place to stay for a night if you're visiting Taroko. Light sleepers beware though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.3

Excellent location for visiting Taroko National Park! There's a bus stop right in front but it's not far to walk for some of the trails either. Actually we ended up taking a bus to Tianxiang and walking all the way back. It took us the whole day but I recommend it if you want to avoid the crowds and scary bus rides (the drivers are a bit crazy). The guy at the front desk was really helpful. He told us all the critical information like hikes that are closed and recommended some places too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay if you want to go to Taroko National Park. Clean rooms and cozy living room with some guitares and yukuleles. And most of all super friendly manager, ready to help or give tips on what to do around. Taroko trails are closed to the hostel. Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.1

helpful and friendly staff, short walk to park headquarters with access to 4 trails, i walked to Eternal Spring Shrine, train station is a 50 minute walk, or there are bicycles and scooters for rent at station, washer & dryer, mattress a little thin, tv room, pool table, maps.me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.