Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Taroko Liwu Hostel

  • No.242-2 Fushih Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien, Hualien, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Convenient if you're visiting Taroko;Taroko bus stop for 1133A is~1min walk. Place is clean, staff was helpful and nice! Only thing that may bother some is the rooster calls from nearby @3AM. Didn't bother me. There are places to eat nearby in direction of Taroko, the closest one ~1min w/veg options. There's a gas station~3 min in other direction with a 7-11 next to it. The hotel next door also has food but it's pricey. There's also food along most of the major stops up to Tianxiang(included)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
6.6

Pros: pool table!, close to Taroko Visitor Center and buses into Taroko, owner is very helpful. Cons: roosters! :( from 3am, no food offered and lack of food options in local area, buses to the nearest train station don't match up well with train schedule. The single, ensuite room I had was spacious, but the bathroom was one of those types where there's no curtain, so everything gets soaked. Overall, it's a decent place to stay for a night if you're visiting Taroko. Light sleepers beware though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.3

Excellent location for visiting Taroko National Park! There's a bus stop right in front but it's not far to walk for some of the trails either. Actually we ended up taking a bus to Tianxiang and walking all the way back. It took us the whole day but I recommend it if you want to avoid the crowds and scary bus rides (the drivers are a bit crazy). The guy at the front desk was really helpful. He told us all the critical information like hikes that are closed and recommended some places too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay if you want to go to Taroko National Park. Clean rooms and cozy living room with some guitares and yukuleles. And most of all super friendly manager, ready to help or give tips on what to do around. Taroko trails are closed to the hostel. Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.1

helpful and friendly staff, short walk to park headquarters with access to 4 trails, i walked to Eternal Spring Shrine, train station is a 50 minute walk, or there are bicycles and scooters for rent at station, washer & dryer, mattress a little thin, tv room, pool table, maps.me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed here in January 2017. Awesome little hostel at the very entrance of Taroko. Ken the owner is incredible, taking me down to the night market for grub on one of the nights, and even transporting me to Hualien to my next hostel! I would certainly stay here again, thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.7

The place is just all right, but the guy at the reception is really great! He was most welcoming and attentive, with very reasonable English. He took us to the night market and gave some useful tips about the Park. Will recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Perfect location. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Great for seeing Taroko!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.4

Very good deal just outside the Taroko National Park. Easy access with a bus stop just outside the door or you can walk to/from the Taroko visitor center in 5 minutes. The town doesn't have much to offer, just a small Chinese restaurant, a 7/11 and some small food shops. The hostel is clean and the owner is friendly and helpfull. The 4-bed dorm was clean with your own locker, charging point and a bed-light. Only disadvantage point is that I wasn't able to meet any other travelers in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.