Hostelworld.com

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

This hostel is amazing, I had high expectations after reading the reviews online and it met them all! My only small criticism is the lack of lockers, not only from a security point of view but also my dorm was quite long and narrow and having no lockers meant bags and equipment were just all over the floor as they wouldn't even fit under beds. Not a massive issue just meant a bit of concentration was needed when getting up in the night! Would definitely stay again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Great, friendly hostel to stay in with staff who are more than happy to help. Kitchen, free wifi and comfy beds are all of a great standard, and the free chocolate pudding is always a winner! Strongly recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.9

Walk isn't too far from the bus stop, I guess around 15 minutes. In a nice residential area and near a supermarket which is ideal. Staff were nice and free chocolate pudding!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
10.0

From the warm and friendly greeting when we first arrived to the help with bookings in Abel Tasman to advice on places to see, we couldn't have felt more welcome. Great location for walking into town and also on a bus route. Kitchen and showers were kept clean and guests respected rules on washing dishes. All enjoyed the chocolate pudding social hour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Best backpackers ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.7

First off, FREE CHOCOLATE CAKE AND ICE CREAM EVERY SINGLE NIGHT. a) it's delicious and b) they advise you not to use your phone during 8-9 (choc cake time) and it made everyone hang out and chat together! Such an awesome time! Rooms were a bit smaller which was nice. Pretty clean! Nice showers! The walls were a little thin, but honestly the place was so amazing I didn't care! Go here! Go here! Go here!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, everyone very friendly, on a nice quiet street close to town. Loved that they had bikes you could take out for the day for free, and the daily pudding and tech-free hour was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed at in NZ. Feels like home away from home. Great atmosphere, and all the couches in the living room were a great place to hangout. Free chocolate cake every night was awesome too. Comfy beds. Clean bathrooms. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

What a wonderful stay! It's located in a more residential area but still a short walk into town. The overall vibe was by far the best I've stayed at (and I've stayed in hundreds of hostels) and they make a great effort to stand out from the crowd. Free pudding and ice cream at 8pm, lavender spray to make you sleep better, free bike rentals, free bus shuttle, hammocks, board games and no wifi hour to ensure we socialize. Staying here is a must!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

Very cozy hostel, I definitely would stay again ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.