Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

By far the friendliest hostel I've ever stayed in! The free pudding is not only delicious but also encourages people from all over the world to get to know each other. I felt very welcome and it was like a home away from home, even just for the two nights I was there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.7

Fabulous hostel - really great atmosphere created by super friendly staff and guests, yummy free chocolate pudding and breakfast, very clean facilities and cheap laundry. It's not bang in the center of town but the short walk is more than worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent place to stay. I fully recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.1

Tanya was super friendly and took the time to make sure we had everything we needed. Great set up for young travellers. We would recommend Tasman bay backpackers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lwebb1982
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

Nice place to stay, free chocolate pudding in the evening. Slightly out of town, ideal if you've got a car!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel has been our favourite in New Zealand. Friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere from the minute you walk in. Super clean, excellent facilities, the kitchen and common rooms, bedrooms, etc were immaculate! Fabulous hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.7

A great hostel with friendly, helpful staff. Lots of lovely extras, such as breakfast,free bikes, free wifi and the pièce de résistance...warm chocolate brownie and ice-cream every evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Very clean, good facilities, good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Decent wifi and a nice lounge area to chill and meet new people. Last but not least, free chocolate pudding was lush!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Absolutely fantastic and loved staying here. The only issue was the fire alarm went off twice in the middle of the night for no reason which was quite disruptive and a lot of the other backpackers were quite noisy up until 1am. Other then that, great atmosphere, great staff and loved the pudding.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Jun 2017
6.9

A bit disappointing really. I was put in a dorm next to the main building which was really small and crowded. Tiny bathroom but a separate kitchen was nice. There are absolutely no lockers despite what this page says - they also never had any so don't expect them. The owner was really nice and friendly though and also kept my laptop in their safe. The bed was pretty bad, mattress had lots of lumps and springs poking me throughout the night. Pudding was quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.