Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.7

A great hostel with friendly, helpful staff. Lots of lovely extras, such as breakfast,free bikes, free wifi and the pièce de résistance...warm chocolate brownie and ice-cream every evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Absolutely fantastic and loved staying here. The only issue was the fire alarm went off twice in the middle of the night for no reason which was quite disruptive and a lot of the other backpackers were quite noisy up until 1am. Other then that, great atmosphere, great staff and loved the pudding.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jun 2017
6.9

A bit disappointing really. I was put in a dorm next to the main building which was really small and crowded. Tiny bathroom but a separate kitchen was nice. There are absolutely no lockers despite what this page says - they also never had any so don't expect them. The owner was really nice and friendly though and also kept my laptop in their safe. The bed was pretty bad, mattress had lots of lumps and springs poking me throughout the night. Pudding was quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Clean and cozy. And free chocolate pudding!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.6

Cosy hostel, friendly vibe. Liked the nice lounge area with books, comfy sofas and a fire. Good place to read and chat with other guests on an evening. Rooms are nice but beds and pillows are getting a bit tired. Would also be handy to have some small lockers available for valuables. Great location just a few mins walk from centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Definitely the best backpackers I've stayed in in NZ so far. The staff is kind and helpful. The room was warm and comfortable, the atmosphere friendly and peaceful. I couldn't have asked for a better place with this value. The only slight disadvantage is it's a little ways out of town which is more uncomfortable in the cold but Nelson is quite small so it really doesn't matter. It might be nice to have small lockers in room. Otherwise perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2017
6.6

The staff in the hostel were friendly and helpful, they offered free breakfast in the mornings and pudding in the evenings. Location was okay, bit of a walk from the bus station and local town centre. The facilities in the hostel could be improved, as we had a dead moth in our room and the showers were a little dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

Very cosy and a friendly environment I recommend staying in this backpackers chocolate pudding so yummy so like back at home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.7

Favorite hostel I've ever stayed in! Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the long term residents took me in immediately. I accidentally left my camera there and they shipped it to me immediately. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.6

Spent a great weekend there. Close to the i-site (10 minutes on foot) still in a quiet area. Kitchen's fine, pudding's as perfect as advertised! Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.