Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
Tasman Bay Backpackers Located at 10 Weka Street, , Nelson.
Tasman Bay Backpackers
New Zealand
Nelson Nelson 10 Weka Street
92% 561
-41.2665335 173.2879114
Tasman Bay Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel, about a 20min walk into the city centre. Really appreciated the free chocolate pudding and ice cream.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Choc pudding is the icing on top!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

I don't give the maximum mark to this hostel because it doesn't have a secure place where you can leave your things while you're hiking Tongariro, otherwise this place is amazing! You need to go there and pay attention to the details and I'm sure you'll be as amazed as I am. I was my favourite hostel in New Zealand. Note: The beds don't have blankets or a slip (in case you're travelling without a sleeping bag)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Stayed here for a week and loved it. Its got a homey feel and everything is spotless, always cleaners around. The free pudding and device free area is such a great idea and had some great chats in those times. Reccomend this place for certain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff was incredible and the atmosphere was more comfortable than being at home. I loved everything about it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

A well organised hostel, right down to the small details e.g. wash baskets in laundry, hammock, puzzles in lounge. Staff provided us with excellent eat-out & activity suggestions. Free chocolate pudding nightly was a big winner for in-person social networking. WiFi worked great. We had two short stays in December 2016 and would happily return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mzatynski7738
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Dec 2016
10.0

STAY HERE! No brainer. Very obvious that the owners/staff take pride in this hostel and making it a comfortable place for travelers. Super clean, spacious, friendly. The chocolate pudding every night is delicious, but the best part is that it draws everyone into the common area at the same time. I met someone new every night! Great environment for solo travelers. Easily the best hostel I've stayed in. Thank you, staff!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Dec 2016
8.0

Loved this hostel, really good vibes and very social! The hot pudding and social hour is great to meet people in the hostel. Location is also good being not too far from the town. Rooms had great bunk beds - only thing I would mark it down on is no lockers. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
9.4

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hostel is clean and comfortable. Kitchen facilities are very good. Free chocolate pudding for all guests every evening. Unlimited and free wifi. Bikes free for guests to borrow. Great atmosphere too. A fantastic hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved staying here. It was I short 10 minute walk to the city centre. The staff were really helpful, the other lodgers were friendly and the free chocolate pudding was delicious! I'm definitely staying there the next time I'm in Nelson.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.