Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tasso Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
Tasso Hostel Located at Via Villani 15, , Florence.
Tasso Hostel
Italy
Florence 50124 Via Villani 15
89% 485
43.7658146 11.2389931
Tasso Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
6.9

The hostel was clean and the decoration was cool but the atmosphere was bad, no one spoke to one another and the people working there are cold and unfriendly, Literally the friendliest person there was the cleaner... If you are a solo traveler avoid this place if you want to have any social interaction during your time in Florence. It was odd as the bar was cool and so was the garden but lacked life and really wasn't worth the the money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved this hostel. The vibe was really cool and was in a safe area. There are a lot of cool restaraunts near by. The breakfast was really good and is included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.4

My friend and I are traveling all over Europe and this was our first experience staying in a hostel. We both felt very comfortable here. We loved the outdoor patio for breakfast and just relaxing. They give you a complementary free drink as the hostel has its own bar and entertainment area attached. Our room was perfect for our stay. We came in July and there was no air conditioning but it cooled down a lot at night. Loved staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.1

Good location, easy to get to and on a nice street. The kitchen is nice and big and the market is really close. Our room did have a key so it was open at all times for people to use and the lockers were so small that our bags had to left out all day. You get a free coffee and croissant each morning but the first day they ran out so they provided cookies, not the best breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
6.6

I only stayed for one night in the Hostel, but it seemed really nice. It's not in the center but you can move around pretty easily. The stuff were really friendly and helpful. About the security, I stayed in a shared three bedroom, and one of the guys was pretty mad on pills, and other stuff... but luckily the other girl was normal. On top of that the breakfast was nice and I'm sure that the hall is pretty nice when there's live music.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.1

The hostel is amazing. I just wish there were curtains on the door (in the room on the first floor) because it is not dark to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Jul 2016
5.7

It was fine initially until you have a complaint. The staff simply doesn't know how to deal with it. The aircon in the room is impossible to turn down so it will either be super hot or freezing cold. There was no atmosphere here - the hostel was pretty much empty so don't expect to meet other people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for getting in contact with us so you also give the property a chance to clarify this matter.. The heat has been increasing drastically, it has been hotter then other summers these factors have led to two different problems we are now facing one that our air conditioners are working double time to cool the rooms that are inside old cemented structures that let out heat at night and the increase of tiger mosquitoes that have been infesting the area. We are sure that they are mosquitoes for the simple fact that 1. The beds we invested in have been treated with not only a bed bug spray but we also have vaporizers that treat the mattresses to disinfect it from these bugs and for hygiene purposes. The biggest problem in hosteling is bed bugs, they make you throw away costly mattresses and cause great inconvenience to clients, they destroy the good reputation we try to maintain so as a primary investment we did everything possible that these outbreaks or infestations do not happen. We are backpackers ourselves and we are the first people to sleep in our beds. In the 4 years that we have been running we have had no problems with bed bugs because we are almost certain that they are the tiger mosquitoes that bite even us while we are working. We requested a photograph of these bites so we can verify the problem, as we have been working in this sector for many many years we always have to double check with certain situations as a bed bug complaint followed by a request for an immediate reimbursement without any proof as when she showed us the bites we could not see any bites at all. The hostel has had 3 treatments for mosquito infestations so we did not dismiss her complaint we knew that the problem was something we have been trying to resolve because of this summers heat. As for the inquiry of reimbursement we requested evidence of the situation to have a valid documentation for the complaint allowing us to show our superiors that there is really a problem and that the client does have a valid issue at hand. But with the increase of bloggers and backpackers that have been trying to get freebees, we think that it was to just reason our establishment requested the images to verify the problem. If you view all our reviews you will see that this is the first complaint EVER on this matter, we really do everything possible to make this Not our problem because it is the biggest problem of Hostels. The client also sighted that she worked in Hotels and that how we handled the situation was not at par with what she was used too, followed by a request for reimbursement. She emailed us with the threat of writing a review if we did not stabilize the matter with her. We know our establishment, we know the dedication and attention we put in. If she was not happy with her stay she would have not requested a reimbursement threatening the establishment with a bad review. She would have wrote the review and finished the matter there, but as you see between emails to Hostelworld, our establishment and now Tripadvisor, with out any correspondence of a valid evidence please understand the doubt we have on this situation. As for meeting people, The hostel is a 25 bed hostel, it has a bar where people can meet, if our clients are wondering around the city on a MONDAY ( because thats the day she checked in) its difficult to huddle our clients together to introduce them to one another, each one has their own agenda and there are days where the hostel seems empty because everyone is discovering Florence as they should. As for our breakfast, Italian breakfast is a coffee of your liking, A fresh baked brioche which is a sweet bread that our local pastry shop brings in, cold yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, teas, milk with toast, jams and NUTELLA.. Italian breakfast has no eggs, no ham, no salami and no cheese.. These are things people in italy eat with wine at lunch time as an aperitif. Sadly when June, July, and August come in all the Italians that do hang out at our bar run to the beach leaving the city empty but how can you blame them in this heat.. we would like to be tanning ourselves.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, staff were very helpful and good english. Breakfast was plentiful and kitchen was fully equipped for personal use. Only downside is that the lockers in our room didn't work. Overall brilliant, I would definitely return here. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.9

Tasso Hostel felt more like a hotel, but I honestly relished that after spending two weeks in cheaper youth hostels. The decor was awesome, I felt super safe in my room (it was private), the facilities were clean and the backyard patio was really relaxing. The bar is awesome too. Breakfast is a little on the light side - one croissant and one coffee, otherwise you have to pay. The location is a little removed from the center of the city, but no more than a 15-20 min walk to the main attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
9.7

I stayed here for a week and loved it! It is removed from the touristy chaos of the other side of the river, without being too far. Everything is walking distance from here if you enjoy walking. It is fun and beautiful and gives you a chance to explore more areas slightly removed from the busy centre.It is clean and the beds are comfortable. My only suggestion to the hostel would be to update the bathrooms. Still no complaints tho, I am very picky about clean bathrooms and these were no problem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.