X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tatts Backpackers Adelaide City Reviews

17 Hindley Street, Adelaide, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
453 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Absolutely perfect location, nice kitchen, gets very noisy on Friday and Saturday depending where you are in the hostel but that's expected in a city centre. Overall good place stay, the price is great for the location

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel is very cheap and we saved a lot by staying here but you get what you pay for. It is very dirty, and the communal balcony outside our window (a small girls dorm) was the drinking and party area until the early hours. However the location is fab and the parking was cheap. If you are after a cheap and social place it's fine.


60%

The mattress were very uncomfortable to sleep on and the room was so dirty, there was dust everywhere. It smelled quite a lot and probably needed scented candles to freshen up the place. Very quiet place which was good. This is the first backpacker hotel I've stayed in that does not supply towels and it was very disappointing. Good to sleep one night but was glad to leave the next morning.


80%

Good cheap accommodation in a decent location. Bathrooms and rooms could do with upgrading, but for the price was good enough!!! Staff extremely friendly on my arrival. Hard to find from the street as above a pub and has no signage outside...!!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

The worst place ever. Please do not Book the Hostel. The bed was broken, cockroaches as big as rats

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

We cancelled our booking after a hour because it was to dirty.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hostel, alcohol is allowed and wifi :) free washing and clothes drying good location and price good small rooms and small hostel was little bit complaining find I recommend go back

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Bedroom above bar, very hard to fall asleep. Beds are clean and comfortable. The rest is clean enough. Hostelworld.com needs to notify customers that the hostel name doesnt appear anywhere, its above a place called little pub or little bar, I dont remember.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff is nice but seems busy running the bar and casino as well as a bottle shop and hostel. It was quite nosy all night. If you are lookong for a fun nosy spot this might be it. Unfortunately all I wanted was a good night's sleep.


71%

first,it's a little but difficult to find this hostel, because there is no sign around this hostel. I stayed at this hostel for only 1 night. it's good for only 1 night. The room is not so bad.


51%

The kitchen was filthy and there was even a cockroach running around. Everything was put back dirty and the cleaner (who can't clean at all) was extremely rude to my friend and I. Our door could be pushed open even when the latch wasn't on. The balcony area was nice though

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Close proximity to better things, like the parks.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I thought the Hostel was great for my stay. It had all the facilities and help that I needed. One thing though and that is perhaps the air-conditioning was very cold. Perhaps the foreign people wanted it because it was too hot outside but I thought it was too cold.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

You won't find a hostel in a better location in Adeliade. It is central to everything!! Bars, shopping, sporting precincts and some funky little restaurants. The room itself was fine and the beds were what you would expect for a hostel. However the cleanliness of the showers/bathrooms was probably the biggest let down and slightly off putting. The toilets themsleves were clean, but the showers and floors were very very poor. I would stay again, however hope that the cleanliness improves.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not very clean, but good value for money. Nice location, free laundry and dryer, not very good kitchen (a bit dirty, messy and not well fitted) but very nice to have a balcony !


77%

Good location, right in the middle of the city


80%

It was alright, although I didn't like the balcony. Always strange, loud, bare chested, beer drinking types hanging out there. Adelaide must be the most boring city I have ever been to after having traveled fifty countries and three hundred cities, that is really saying something. Mount lofty is a huge disappointment-great views? sure! Spend more time in Tasmania instead or Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane, skip and avoid Adelaide. The only reason to go there is for a cheap flight out of Australia.


83%

Only 2 faults: needs to be easier to find. It's actually called the little pub when you get there. Parking isn't free- shouldn't say parking included when you have to pay for Wilson's..... Discounted or not. Location is excellent. The place is good for the price. Would stay again.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall a pretty good experience, great people staying there at the time, attentive friendly staff. It wasn't the cleanest, not the filthiest either. The lockers were located outside the rooms which was not convenient. There was no common room but the balcony made up for it.The location was really convenient it was in the middle of everything. The bar downstairs was great with nice staff and cheap drinks which was good on a night out. I would come back here should I pass through ADELAIDE again.


57%

Just three female showers and two toilets in the whole hostel. Everything is really old and a bit dirty. But for the price it is okay to stay there for a few nights. During the weekend it is quite noisy. The reception is a bar, so it is quite hard to find.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Adelaide Hostels

Please give us your feedback