Hostelworld.com

Tauranga Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
4.6
Rating 89 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 3.9
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 4.6
  • Atmosphere 3.9
  • Cleanliness 3.3
  • Facilities 4.1
BOOK NOW
4.6
Rating 89 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 3.9
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 4.6
  • Atmosphere 3.9
  • Cleanliness 3.3
  • Facilities 4.1
Tauranga Central Backpackers Located at 62-64 Willow st, Tauranga, Tauranga.
Tauranga Central Backpackers
New Zealand
Tauranga 3110 62-64 Willow st, Tauranga
46% 89
-37.6817990 176.1688710
Tauranga Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Apr 2016
5.4

I thought the reviews would be over exaggerated but they weren't. There is a funny smell, kind of like it's a hostel full of stray cats or something. There's hardly any room in the dorms to move never mind put your bags. And someone in the room I was in advised that my bed hasn't been changed before my arrival which isn't great. Staff don't seem too fussed, they also say they find work for you but I wouldn't trust that. Didn't see many travellers about seemed to have more families staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
25th Jan 2016
2.6

The whole place is just disgusting. The rooms are basic and have no window so you feel like your in a cell. The kitchen and common area are just filthy nothing clean at all to use we couldn't even wash up as the sink was full of yellow water and so many flies. The reception staff weren't helpful at all and were hardly at the reception so anyone could walk in. The wifi is poor and the parking is in a car park full of broken glass...my advice stay somewhere else in this pretty town!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
31st Dec 2015
7.1

There is a nice communal area and the bathrooms are pretty big however there is an awful smell which they do need to get rid of!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
6.0

Very centrally located. Cleanliness is an important issue. At least, please change the terribe carpet .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2015
2.0

An absolutely awful hostel. Omgosh, where to start. Wish I had read the reviews before hand. If we hadn't had paid before arriving, I would have walked out and slept on the street! Its so dirty, full of flies and the kitchen is diabolo, despite the signs saying do your dishes, there was curry everywhere. The rooms were disgusting, we had dirty bedding, no plugs to charge devices and awful smell. There are no windows in the rooms so no fresh air can get in. Despite the 10pm curfew, we were woken

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2015
7.1

the place smells and it needs little freshness.. i had 5 days with a stuff nose and couldnt breath so well.. staff was friendly and homest with good service

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Nov 2015
2.6

The kitchen was so dirty, rotten food everywhere. You really don't want to cook there. There's a bad smell in the whole hostel. I decided to leave one night early without getting my money back because it was so disgusting!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
20th Nov 2015
3.7

Had to stay two nights but don't recommend even one. Anyone from the street can enter the hostel, noisy environment. I would be okay if the price would be a half as it is. Dirty kitchen. They don't find you work as they say on huge billboards. Can't find any positive here sorry.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.