Hostelworld.com

Tauranga Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
8.9

Basic facilities but large common / kitchen area with pool, pong pong TV etc and great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jan 2017
5.4

The place could do with taking the winter off and spending a load of money cleaning everything and getting some new furniture in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • huest2tiger4765
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
15th Jan 2017
5.1

The room smelled lik the elephant pen at the san diego zoo. Bathroom was like something u might encounter if you were put in prison. Only the fitted sheet and pillow case get changed between guests, not the duvet. There was a sign with instructions on how to pee in the toilet. Next time I'll stay at the other hostel in town. I'd say it's worth 15 not 30 a night

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.6

Enjoyable stay thanks apart from the bed was terrible in room 16.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
4.6

No windows in rooms, dirty kitchen, rather dirty facilities and unfriendly staff. Would not recommend staying there!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
7.4

Only there for a night so wasn't too bad but wouldn't want to stay longer, didn't feel the hostel itself was too clean and the kitchen was missing stuff, having said that, good atmosphere with the young backpackers and pool/table tennis tables! Didn't get much wifi free but that didn't bother me that much! Staff were strict but when we got checkout times mixed up still gave us our full key deposit and we didn't have to pay extra which was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.3

The first thing I noticed was the friendly guys working in the reception. They were awesome and helpful to me all the time ! It's really close to both the harbour and the cbd! Many peoples staying there were friendly and keep good vibes in the backpackers. Only complaint was the limited wi-fi but you would get it unlimited anyways if you stay for at least a week, but other than that: FANTASTIC!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Hi guys,it's my first time in newzealand,since i come all the way from germany so my friends recommended tauranga first to visit because of good work oppurtunity. My all german friends were at Tauranga central backpackers and they are living there since 2 month, they got work because of helpful staff who will find you work in seasonal work and very friendly enviroment inside backpackers its like a whole big family over there i really loved my stay and i got work because of backpacker thank you:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
8.0

Good hostel with lots of facilities. huge common area and a big kitchen. Beds are clean and staff is nice. Right in the city center close to all the great facilities in the town. superb location. filled with friendly backpackers a nice cosy feel .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
2.0

WORST HOSTEL EVER I stayed there one night cause it was the only hostel on Tauranga which wasn't fully booked for that night. The kitchen was that dirty, I think the last time it was cleaned was in the past century. The whole place is smelling like old dirty clothes and there isn't even a window in the rooms. And in addition to that the staff doesn't even know what hospitality is. When I arrived the manager kept me waiting for half an hour cause he was having lunch in the next room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.