Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tauranga Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th May 2017
5.4

I had been sleeped in many hostels so I can say that this hostel really got a messy kitchen and living room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
2.9

Was very dirty, seemed liked the blankets were not washed. Was very worried to bring anything in to the hostel. Staff were not friendly other backpackers were not friendly. I was supposed to stay 2 nights but left after night 1 because i was so uncomfortable :/

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.9

Very clean and nice receptionist. Quiet hours were not "quiet" but who can blame people who are having fun!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
2.6

This was one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at. This place was super filthy; my room smelled like total body odor and no circulation whatsoever. The mattress I tried to sleep on had the springs popping out on my back. The hostel and immediate area around was very loud as many of the guests staying were partying. The kitchen area and common area were filthy, many dishes and rotting food left out. The only positive was the manager was nice. I would rate this place 0.5 out of 5 if I could.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
8.9

Basic facilities but large common / kitchen area with pool, pong pong TV etc and great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jan 2017
5.4

The place could do with taking the winter off and spending a load of money cleaning everything and getting some new furniture in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • huest2tiger4765
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
15th Jan 2017
5.1

The room smelled lik the elephant pen at the san diego zoo. Bathroom was like something u might encounter if you were put in prison. Only the fitted sheet and pillow case get changed between guests, not the duvet. There was a sign with instructions on how to pee in the toilet. Next time I'll stay at the other hostel in town. I'd say it's worth 15 not 30 a night

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.6

Enjoyable stay thanks apart from the bed was terrible in room 16.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
4.6

No windows in rooms, dirty kitchen, rather dirty facilities and unfriendly staff. Would not recommend staying there!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.