Hostelworld.com

Tavern 47

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • anniekao5694
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
10.0

My friend and I had an absolutely amazing time staying at Tavern 47 during Chinese New Year. The atmosphere was really inviting, the rooms were really clean, and the electric blankets were much appreciated! We also loved the food, and sitting around talking to the other guests around the wood-heated stove.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Very friendly staff, they are always willing to help! The hostel is amazing, food is quite good, at the atmosphere could not be better! Everything is a 10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2017
6.9

Well. It was ok. Had better hostels at a cheaper price. I came in winter so not many people in Shangrila. Still the staff seemee a bit helpless and slow sometimes. One time they almost suffocated the entire hostel because they didn't know how to properly make a fire in their stove. everything was full of smoke. Yak burger is tasty. Then Jun (the owner, was on holiday) arrived and everything seemed to go more smoothly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
10.0

not sure if yak burger is as good as they say it is, but sweet place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
10.0

One of the best hostel we stayed in China. The owner was really friendly and helpful. He invited everyone who stayed at his hostel to his restaurant for the Xmas dinner (best yak hotpot in Shangrila). Highly recommend to anyone heading to Shangri-La!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice place with uniquely room designed and also very hospitality. Highly recommend menu Yak shabu don't miss great taste with cheap price ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2016
9.7

Perfect room with electric blanket. Cosy atmosphere. Very friendly host, ready to answer and help you with all your questions. Good location in ancient town. Close to bus nr 3 (monastery). We had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
10.0

This guest house is incredibly good...actually darn right excellent. The owner and his wife will do everything to make your stay in Shangri la magical. They also have a restaurant in Old Town that had the best mo mos (yak dumplings) and Korean food if you want a bit of a change. The guest house has good food and drink too...try the yak burger!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
10.0

I had an excellent stay at Tavern 47! The owner of the hostel was really friendly and gave helpful tips about getting around Shangri-La and day trips to take outside the city - he even has great bikes to rent at the hostel for a great price. The hostel itself is incredibly comfortable with a nice lounge/eating area, a good selection of beers, and delicious yak burgers :). Highly recommend to anyone heading to Shangri-La!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willywill9876
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

Staff are super helpful and really helped us to plan our trip. Location is great about a minute from the old town. I recommend the yak burger it's pretty awesome. The food at the sister restaurant is great too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.