X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Tavern 47 Reviews

47 Cuo Lang Street, Shangri la Old Town, Shangri-la, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
371 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great atmosphere. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Quite atmosphere, clean and tidy rooms, delicious korean food, very nice and hard working staff, the very cute cat.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing stay, beautiful clean and well decorated room, food is delicious and the location is perfect, close enough to old town yet far enough away to not hear any of the building noise. Friendly cat and mischievous rabbit make it feel more like a home then a hostel.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing staff with some wonderful food in an excellent location. We had a wonderful time staying with the owner and his family. He was extremely helpful with whatever we needed and even drove us places upon request. Super warm, friendly, and the Yak burgers were excellent. I can't speak highly enough of Tavern 47

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A few main points: -This place is beautiful. Old tibetan design, classic wood panelling, incredibly comfortable bed (with electric blanket in double rooms). Bar/restaurant great atmosphere. Very clean. -Family run and we were made exceptionally welcome. They helped us with local knowledge, bike rental, lift to airport. - Eat the Korean BBQ dish (I can't remember the name but it was incredible) - Good location (Old town had mainly burnt down now but we still loved Shangri La)


100%

Perfect location,great and helpful staff and tasty food. Even with burnt old town, Shangrila is still worth a visit.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice cozy inn with friendly and helpful owners. Food served was good! However much of the structure was wood and can become creaky at times, especially in the night. All others are good!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Cleanest dorm room ever! Toilets and showers were super clean too. Heating blanket, personal reading lamp AND a huge socket for all electronic appliances - so convenient! Awesome noodle soop. Boss and his wife are very nice and helpful. Would come back here again :D Perhaps not in winter, but summer time was perfect: Some light rain showers and mostly blue and cloudy sky in the afternoons.


91%

This is a great little place. Good food, friendly staff. June went out of his way to help us out and was an informed host. I found it clean and nice to hang out in. It's located close to the burnt part of old town so navigation through there can be tricky, and the street smells like sewage, though you thankfully can't smell it inside. There is an 11pm curfew and a small staff (sometimes not around because cleaning etc.). Be aware that the hostel is wooden, thus noise sensitive. I liked it here!


100%

We really appreciated the relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the hostel. Jun and Christin made us feel very welcome from the start and nothing was ever any trouble for them. The food is fantastic - especially the yak burger! The location within the old town is great too and Jun offered us great advice on what we could do in the time we had. They were also brilliant at organising transport to and from the city for us at a very reasonable price. Our favourite hostel so far. Thank you again!


91%

Jun, the owner, is really, really nice. He and his wife run the place; sometimes you may have to track them down to get help, but when you find them, they are very helpful with whatever you need. The yak burger (and other food) really is delicious. The hostel is small, but with a warm feeling and everything you need. Definitely recommend.


94%

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the food was great! Trip to Napahai was the best!!


83%

Nice hostel, and good staff, lovely food, is a reasonable location, unfortunately there is still a lot of building work around after the fire.


97%

staffs are very kind and foods are really awesome.


74%

The owner here is very friendly, no taxi would actually drop us to the hostel as it was under construction so he picked the 7 of us up. At the time of writing the road outside was under construction so was hard to get in and out of hostel but not the owners fault. We had private room, was comfortable and quiet! Only two showers available so there was a bit of a queue! Food was tasty and reasonable price! A nice quite family run hostel, such a pity old Shangrila has been destroyed by fire!


86%

Very friendly and helpful host. A bit difficult to find and a pity that the old town adjoining the building was destroyed in the Jan 2014 fire

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The owner is a great guy, he'll be happy to help you with anything


97%

Thanks to the hostel owner Jun for going out of his way to help us and show us the best Shangri La has to offer. The best hostel we stayed in on our trip, just such a shame about the old town (or lack of it). Lake trip was beautiful.


94%

Very nice place close to old town. you can feel traditional house in this hostel, cuz this building is 40 years old. But dont worry, the owner always keep clean and welcome everybody. The best thning about this hostel is food. Especially, yak meet burger, rice etc everyfood was great. If u pass through daocheng, lating, u can take a relax at this hostel with deliciouse foods. Otherwise u will go though daocheng, lating, u can fill up ur energy before leaving. I totally reccomend to you.


86%

Good location nearby (the remainders of the burnt down) old town. Very friendly and helpful owner couple. Charming wooden Tibetan house. Rooms were nice and clean. Good cooking throughout the day, including Yak burger (although the one at N's Kitchen was slightly better). Short walk up hill to an excellent view point over the city. Can absolutely recommend the place.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Shangri-la Hostels

Please give us your feedback