X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tavern 47 Reviews

47 Cuo Lang Street, Shangri la Old Town, Shangri-la, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
310 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Thank u oppa from Thai guest. C u in thailand

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

the owners are friendly when aprproached for directions and info. due to nonpeak season, not many ppl. find food a bit pricey tho. as the weatther is still cold, the room is without heater . it is impossible to shower after 7pm, just too cold! the water pressure is low hence is a challenge to shower with low pressure water. Good location is very nearby to giant prayers wheel and chicken temple, walking distance. however after the fire zongdian town is dead. room comes with electric hot blanket

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely location in the old city of Shangri-là. It .is the place to be to get a real flavor of what Tibet can be. Big room with a welcome additional electric blanket. Night are quite chilly in March.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I enjoyed my stay. clean,comfortable,friendly I love the traditional house with relax space.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

good food, friendly staff and warm bed


94%

Great Tavern, led by a incredible Korean traveller ! Excellent atmosphere, very friendly, perfect location, a really must-go ! Yack burgers are delicious !


100%

Good location, Unique atomosphere, Delicious yak meat burger!


97%

The hostel is in an old style building, so a little cold I the winter but the electric blankets work well! The staff are all very helpful and staying additional days due to no buses (snow) was not a problem and they looked after me well. This is definitely the place to stay in Shangri-La!


80%

Staffs are very kind and helpful. Although located in good area, the place is quite difficult to find. Mobile call and ask for pick up when arrived ole town is easiest way to reach this place.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I wish the beds could have been a little thicker and firmer, There should be at least two cups in the room, Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay there, The staff is very warm, friendly and helpful, There is also a variety of good food at the restaurant,

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Fabulous hostel with very accommodating, fun and knowledgeable hosts. Thanks for a great few days in Shangri-la.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

value for budget money

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best place I have stayed for the whole trip. The place is not hard to find. The city itself is charming and peaceful. The room is very comfortable, the bathroom is always clean. The food is really really delicious. ฺีBut most of all, the two sisters who own the guesthouse is very cute, friendly and chatty. They can communicate in English fluently. If I have a chance going back to Shangri'la, Tavern 47 is the place to stay.


100%

Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful old building lovingly turned into a wonderful hostel. A bit chilly in November but the warm fire and electric blankets kept us warm. Fantastic 5 days in Shangri-la. Try the Yak burger!!


77%

The lady owner & her assistant there are very helpfull & generous.


100%

Best place to stay in Shangri la. Owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to book you won't regret!


86%

Very nice hostel with great staff in the heart of the old town.


100%

A nice hostel, well located in Shangri-La old town (near Sifang jie) and very helpful staff, I recommend it!


100%

You made us feel very welcome, and helped us very much, Thank you


100%

Good breakfasts, and dinners. Very helpful for sightseeing arrangements, and travel bookings.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Shangri-la Hostels

Please give us your feedback