Hostelworld.com

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.0
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel Located at 169 Ninth Ave, Morningside, AF, 4001, Durban.
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
South Africa
Durban 169 Ninth Ave, Morningside, AF, 4001
66% 195
-29.8336825 31.0159277
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
8.3

The front desk staff was great. The cleaning ladies were rude and mean. They would come into the room unannounced and wake everyone up to ask who was checking out, information that they should be able to get from the front desk. If you are in the bathroom when they are trying to clean the bathroom they will just mop around you and hit you enough times with the mop until you leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice set up in a good vibey area close to amneties.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thx for your great review. Hope to see you back soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2016
3.4

hi,i think place is the worst place in Durban ! Is dirty ,noisy,very hot ,and possibly a place for exchange of substance. So if you want spend a good trip go away from Tekweni ;-)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As I mentioned I see you are together with the review below (see my response). The big group from Belgium. Once again I am really surprised by these reviews. Could you not speak to us about your concerns instead of taking us apart X 2 in the public domain. I was certain your group were enjoying your stay. Well 23 years in the business and I guess I still have stuff to learn. This would have been a lot more productive face to face.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2016
4.3

Do NOT recommend! The place always smell of pot, you find cockroaches in the showers , the mattresses in the dorms are awful, the swimming pool was brownish and disgusting... The double rooms in the other building were a bit better and quieter, but still the bathrooms were often disgusting.The floor would ressemble a swimming pool after two showers. We were a big group so it could have been fun to stay in a partying hostel, but it was definitely a terrible experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I can see you are together with the review above. The large group from Belgium we had recently. Did you both really have to review us as it is a killer? I saw your group on a couple of occasions taking up the big table in our social area next to the pool, having numerous drinks and chatting and laughing; I would have swore you were enjoying yourselves so much so that I didn't feel the need to ask. You both mention something about pot. Yeah it happens occasionally. Lets face it, some of our guests like it but we don't condone it. Im guessing this is where your unhappiness mainly lies. The weather wasn't so great so we were treating the pool while you were there.Surely you were aware of that? We do have a pest control company service our place monthly. Summer in Durbs you will get some cockroaches. I'm really disappointed and surprised by this review. Ouch ouch. If you were trying to cripple us, good job!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Feb 2016
8.3

The staff and locals are really friendly here. I loved my stay here and in a great spot near Florida road where all the bars and restaurants are. Walking distance to the beaches and is close to a local spar (grocery store) A lovely chilled out place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2016
2.3

I would only recommend this hostel if you don't plan on sleeping and just want to party til 5 am. The staff is very unhelpful and you can't tell if they are guests or actually work there. Only shower that worked had only cold water that barely came out. We tried to go to bed but instead were kept up til 5 am due to Miami Club across the street which blasts music til all hrs. Although the dj did have a good set list! Worst hostel we stayed at on the whole trip. Has potential if it was cleaned up

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ouch. Ok we are going to have to take this one on the chin I think. Not happy about the unhelpful staff part in particular. That is not cool as that is the main thing we pride ourselves on. You are welcome to email us with more detail on that if you wish. Worst hostel you stayed at.... Wow. That hurts.

  • me_chrissy5617
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
6th Jan 2016
7.1

If you are looking for sleep this hostel might not be the one for you. Loud Musik from the bar that was well hear able in my room ever night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes we are a festive place but try and get things shut down by a reasonable hour. We also have some quieter rooms away from the bar. Hopefully we will see you back and put you up in one of those rooms.

5th Jan 2016
8.9

The customer service at Tekweni is pretty good and the ambiance is excellent for socializing and integrating with other backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your sparkling review. You really feel us. Hope to see you back!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
4.6

If you're one with the party scene you might actually like this place. There is sure to be intercourse in the dorm rooms and staff that go harder than anyone else staying there. Even the beds are stiff as boards. A certain staff member also didn't have the deposit money for our room keys when we checked out. He went as far as to blame us for checking out at the wrong time. Not my bag. For my next visit to Durban I will surely be looking for a more accommodating place to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I take it from your review that you are not into the party scene. As a point of interest pretty much everything in our marketing promotes the fact that we are the festive place to stay in Durban. The deposit part seems to really have ticked you off it appears. i am told you wanted to check out before reception was open (6:30am is our opening time) and the manager genuinely didn't have access to cash at that point. On the positive side we are glad you managed to get intercourse in the dorm room. Not easy that. Really not a great review. We seem to have gotten on your wrong side and you maybe should have stayed at a quieter place in Durbs.

  • alyssa_jensen3217
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Dec 2015
9.4

We had a large group book for NYE and Tekweni took care of us. Excellent location for going out at night and about a 30 min. walk to the beach. Lockers in the rooms would be an improvemt but as it was there were no issues and we really enjoyed our stay. They even helped us ou when our bus company screwed up our travel plans. Great party hostel vibe! We'll stay again when we're in Durban!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes Yes Yes. We remember your group well. You feel us and love us. Sooo nice to be loved. Look forward to having you back

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.