Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jun 2017
9.1

I love the staff here! Had such an amazing time spent about a month. Great location too, recommend staying here !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

When you start a review with you love our staff we have achieved the main thing we set out to do. Great review all round. Thanks so much. Something tells me you will be back. Until then...

21st Apr 2017
5.4

I was very disappointed with this hostel. I got mugged on my way to the hostel, as it is not in the best part of town. There is a strip club right directly across the street and the police were rading it the night I was staying here. The place smells like weed, and just feels dirty. It is inexpensive which is good, there also is very little privacy in the shared dorm, which is find considering the cheap price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There is something very strange about this review. When one is mugged on the way to ones accommodation normally the first thing they do is tell them. I have spoke to everyone on duty and there were no reports of anything like that. Plus we are most certainly not in the wrong part of town. The Florida Road UIP is very strong and proactive in the area controlling everything from crime to cleanliness to the general aesthetic look of the area and much much more... all the business in the area are onboard as well. We are definitely one of the best parts of town. We just feel dirty. You go online and say that to the world. No way bud. Yes there is a strip place across the road. Very upmarket and you remind me that I must add that to my marketing. Im not sure who you are but please don't come back.

16th Apr 2017
7.7

The hostel was ok. We only spend a night there... the room was clean, the bathrooms were also clean, showers ok too. The internet like in all the other places in SA is not so good. The hostel is really close to the going out aerea.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for rating us. A lot of stuff we love to hear. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel, enough said!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well you possibly could have said more but we will take that and run.Thanks for the amazing review and for taking the time to tell the world what you thought of us. Hope to see you back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
6.9

Tired hostel. Has seen better days. Could do with some TLC to spruce up rooms and bathrooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Not so bad rating but comments focusing only on the negative. No mention of the fun time you probably had, how well we looked after you etc... We are constantly sprucing but it can be difficult to keep up. Fair enough comment but your rating says there was stuff you liked. It would be nice if you had mentioned that also. It is not easy being open to public criticism for the world to see. Thanks for taking the time to rate us though.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Beware! One night at Tekweni gives you a two night hangover. No kidding, its a great hostel with cool people and a good atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ha ha. Fair warning. Definitely a compliment. Thanks for the cool review. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely place, lovely people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes yes yes. You feel us. Fantastic review. Thanks so much. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Brilliant time here, good location and has braai night twice a week. Staff are the best bit about this hostel, always friendly and happy to help - particularly Wati, Tino and Debbie. Thanks guys, see you next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fantabulous review. Exactly what we love to hear especially the staff part. Thanks so much! Yes we will definitely see you next time.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.