X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Terra Brasilis Hostel Reviews

Rua Murtinho Nobre 156 Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
134 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Thank you Marcelo and the whole staff that made a solo traveller feel right at home. I booked one of the private rooms for my last night in Rio and the view from the balcony is just as impressive as everyone says it is! The water didn't work for a few hours but it was addressed with urgency and I was updated once it worked. Wifi was spotty. Only two buses have a stop near here and it is quiet at night. Don't come here expecting a party...but a place to chill to an amazing view of Rio.


66%

Needed to be kept a bit cleaner, and the bathrooms are very very small! You couldnt fit a large person in there!


91%

We stayed just one night at this hostel but would have happily stayed longer. It is in a good location, 10 minute walk from Lapa. It is a bit difficult to find on your own so you are better off getting a taxi the first time. Its located in Santa Teresa, which IMHO is one of the safest neighborhoods in Rio. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. The room (private quad) was spacious, bright, clean and had an awesome view over Centro. Shared Bathroom was clean and modern


80%

Amazing view, very cool common areas (in private rooms you have your own balcony with great view on the city)

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The view is wonderful and the staff is super friendly. There are lockere and a kitchen as well as a shared fridge. In 15/20 minutes walk You are in the Center and lots of Bars and Restaurants are close.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel! Calm, relaxing place, with a beautiful balcony and a great view of Rio from Santa Tereza highs. I've had better breakfasts in hostels and the rooms aren't the cleanest on earth, BUT the staff is absolutely great and there are many facilities options. Excellent value for money, and an awesome view. Totally worth it.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

We stayed for Carnaval. All staff were really helpful with getting around Rio and what to visit. Neighborhood is nice and short walk to metro. Awesome views over the city


86%

The Terra Brasilis is situated in an amazing part of Rio, the view of the city is amazing from the hostel's terrace. Most of the staff was adorable and very eager to help us and give us advice on what to do and how to do it for the carnival (especially the guy from argentina who was our favorite!). You are likely to meet nice people there. We were in Rio in the summertime and it was amazingly hot, so air conditioned would have been nice, but overall, it was a great hostel to stay in.


100%

I really love that hostel! I all the time use it for my stay in Rio


74%

Beautiful view! But there were not enough bathrooms which was a bit annoying.


77%

Nice location with a great view and good breakfast. The rooms were nice and the staff was very helpful But don`t trust that you will get a cab to the airport, when you ordered it the night before leaving in the early morning, because ours did not came. But this is more a problem of Santa Teresa and less of the hostel. The bathroom was not always clean


80%

Amazing view! You have a great view on Rio´s centre from the balconies. The Santa Teresa quarter is a nice place to take a walk and there are some real good restaurants in the near of the hostel.


71%

No water for four days!!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel has an amazing view! Its very clean and the breakfast is honest for a hostel!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was an awesome hostel! The views were incredible, the staff was super friendly and helpful, and there is nothing better than waking up to have a fresh open air breakfast with a view out over the city! It was easy to catch a bus or metro, and if you didn't feel like walking up/ down the hill the front desk would call for a taxi. Great value for the money and I would definitely stay again!

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Terra Brasilis is a beautiful place to stay in a old house which has been great decorated with great colours ! And the view there is totally amazing ! I enjoyed a lot my stay there !

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very relaxing hostel with probably one of the best views of the city. Does not have much of an environment but i stayed here for a night and would stay here again. But the location is not bad from Lapa but climbing up the street is ROUGH after a few drinks.


80%

This hostel is on top of a big hill. Do not make the mistake as we did of trying to haul your luggage all the way up by yourself. It will cost R$10 to get up to the hostel by taxi from Lapa but it is worth the hour effort climbing stone streets. Location is close to Lapa and centro, and has a great view from up high. The staff is very hippie so no soap, and you have to wash your own plates at breakfast. No American outlets. Best for a single night stay


97%

Great place with a great view. The staff here is amazing, was always very helpful and friendly.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a great place to stay, really lovely and welcoming hostel in a great location with views over the city, I will be recommending it to people as I go... In fact I already have! The staff, especially Guara, were kind and helpful and interesting to talk to. The other travellers there at the time were my kind of people, laid back and open to getting to know new people and being really sociable, but also respectful of the other guests.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback