Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Thaksin Grand Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Mar 2017
8.0

Very much a bare bones hostel. Beds are mattresses on the floor. It is also located a bit outside of the main part of town, but you can still walk to the main area. The dorm has access to two large balconies, which is nice. Not the most social hostel, but you can chat with other travelers out on the balconies. Also, the lady who runs it is very nice. Helped me book a bus to Koh Lanta and gave me a fair price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.7

We stayed here for one night on our way to Koh Tao, it is a good base and about a 15 minute walk to the waterfront where there are plenty of restaurants. The beds in the dorm are mattresses on the floor but there are fans in the room. It is good for a one night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.6

The lady was nice and helpful but wasn't always at the desk. It's a really old building and also the furniture is and the rooms are a little outdated. But it was fine for only one night. The night market is in walking distance so the location was good. If you are looking to stay somewhere where the beaches are, go to AoNang! That's where all the longtailboats leave to Railay Beach and all the islands around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
7.7

Great value. Rooms are spacious and clean, the AC worked a treat. The location isn't great, about a 10 minute walk from the main area of town. There was never anyone at reception so it was hard to get help with questions or booking things. We went to a different agency and it was cheaper to book through them anyway. There is zero atmosphere, not good for solo travellers. I'd stay here again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Thaksin Hostel was very nice! The lady who runs the place was very helpful answering our questions. The place is very clean and the beds are very nice! I recommend this place to anyone! Will be coming back to stay here for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Nice staff ! Facilities not the best but I was totally happy with my stay. The two bed room is very big and beautiful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Perfect! We really enjoyed staying there :) The Lady was so nice and helpful. The rooms are big and clean. Of course it's a bit away from the beaches but you can enjoy marvellous sunsets at the rooftop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.3

Our room was spacious, facilities clean and everything worked perfectly. Although it is located some 10 minutes by walk from Krabi town centre there are some shops around and songthaews heading for Ao Nang beach also pass nearby. It is not easy to catch Jik (the person who runs the propriety) sometimes but otherwise she's easygoing and very helpful. In total, Thaksin Grand Home was a nice place to stay for our 2-night stop in Krabi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
8.3

Great bang for your buck. Place was clean and the room was massive. The hot water was to the point you had to turn it down, loved it. I'd recommend this place for any couple looking a a relaxing night away from the party life for a night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

We rented a private room with own bathroom. The owner was lovely and very helpful. For the price it did the job. Not the cleanest with stained bed sheets/mouldy pillows. TV didn't work in the room. Aircon also didn't work but they had provided a very large fan instead which was sufficient. We rented scooters from here too which was convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.