X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Thapae Gate Lodge Reviews

38/7 Moonmuang Soi 2, Prasing, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
93 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A great place to stay on budget. Not much of a backpacker place, but has a nice, relaxed atmosphere 5 minute walk away from Thapae Gate.


20%

The owner made us pay the full amount without deducing the deposit we paid upfront.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The statement is untrue and a lie. Sorry. Please show me the bill. Thanks

97%

This was a great place to stay and relax, very nice rooms and a cute little area downstairs to eat or read. The motorbike place was across the alley is also awesome, and you're in walking distance of tons of shops, restaurants, bars. Not the most social place, but a relaxing vibe.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was clean but we could hear our neighbours. The staff is always in a hurry, but they all could speak English. It is a bargin.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We stayed for 2 nights. We had the room close to the reception, and that wasn't so good, for me it was way too noisy at night. you could hear the tv, the people passing by, etc. for the price it was alright, and maybe the other rooms are not that noisy.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The bed wasn't good (but not unreasonable the price ). Ensuite was good to have. Some rooms were pretty noisy, and you could hear the breakfast area.


66%

Place was good value for money, nice quiet location in walking distance of everything, great breakfast, keep to yourself kinda place which is fine, had a slight issue with ants in the shower room one night but hey suck it up we just asked front desk for bug spray! End of problem. Could do an overall update and maybe improve water pressure with better shower, but to there credit the hot water worked well! Place was everything we needed it to be for the 4 nights we stayed. Would recommend & return

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Olaf and his staff were so wonderful! Very thankful for the help printing thugs out to get my passport extension! Wishing Olaf the best with all of his new business ventures!

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great value, great location, great food!

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

We enjoyed our stay. The owner gave us a very helpful overview of Chiang Mai and advised us on how to get around. The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. The room was clean and pleasant. There were drinks and snacks available at the front desk. The hotel is off the beaten path, so it was quiet. We had no complaints.


60%

Just an OK place. Good location and prices, but staff barely spoke English. People love their breakfast but I don't go to Thailand to eat German food.


86%

it was not so easy to find this hostel. We were spending too much find to get this one. They said in information of Hostelworld that it situated near Thapae Gate but it's not true - it's far if you go with big bag. It could be easier for us if directions how to find this place were more clear and convenient All another things were good. Quiet, clean and green place to stay.


46%

A military coup takes place in Thailand with a curfew but the owner didn't think to mention it to us when we arrived Nor did he say hello Just threw the keys at us and pointed at the room door-great Got back after curfew which is when he then told us off! They didn't give us a map or help us book any trips The Thai staff were brilliant Not many other backpackers to talk to either-slightly older German crowd (who was happy to talk to and help) Bathroom was filthy- so many better places in ChiangM


80%

Nice place to stay,quiet and near by shops,night markets,etc..everything within walking distance ;)


86%

The staff was very friendly. We chose the cheapest room so there was no air conditioning but the fan worked fine. It was a very nice room for the price and even had it's own bathroom. The location is good, walking distance from pretty much everything. The restaurant in the hostel has amazing breakfast!


89%

The owner is a nice german chap who gave me a discount on arrival. The place is very clean and tidy as you would expect from a german run hotel. The decor was pleasant and relaxing with lots of plants and is well maintained.staff were very nice as well. The only tiny thing was that I ordered some thai food which was quite tasteless. I think this is because they concentrate on breakfasts with emphasis on german food, which certainly looked nice. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros- Great location, central but quiet; wonderful comfy deck and solid wifi connection; Decent breakfast; Cons- German owned and caters to a slightly older European crowd, hot water stopped after a couple of minutes, staff was average

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

We booked our room because of the good reviews, but as we arrived we weren’t happy. It was dirty and musty. The staff didn't care about us. We just took a shower and started visiting Chiang Mai, which is really a lovely city with a lot of gorgeous opportunities. While walking around we decided to move to another hostel without spending a night in our room at the Thapae Gate Lodge. The staff didn’t ask us, why we are leaving so quickly. They didn’t even say goodbye. We paid the room already!


100%

Great hostel! There is a restaurant attached which has amazing food which is extremely convenient. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need.


83%

Well located and reasonably nice facilities. Not the cheapest budget option, but the double room with AC we booked was clean, well furnished and quite comfortable. Pricing was just right for the accommodations. The staff was friendly for the most part, but nothing extraordinary. Very much a come-and-go-and-keep-to-yourself sort of place, but for some that's ideal. The real clincher about this place is the restaurant on the ground floor. Excellent food options! We ate here quite a bit.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Chiang Mai Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback