X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Adventure Brew Hostel Reviews

Av. Montes 503, La Paz, Bolivia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1234 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Was interested about how this place would turn out given the up and down reviews! But AB is a great hostel. Not sure where the negative staff reviews are from, desk staff are lovely and have a good sense of humour, volunteers at the bar do a great job. Was in the 20 bed dorm, was very quiet, bottom bunks each had a plug and every bed has a light, impressive. Large lockers for backpacks. Nice pancakes for breakfast - awesome peanut butter. Wifi generally slow, faster at Wild Rover hostel.


89%

The lady on reception at the B&B was amazing. Always smiling, great English and went out of her way every time. Bar was a bit crazy, loads of staff but very inefficient and ran out of beer?!


94%

Great hostel to explore La Paz from. Clean, friendly, with laundry and great pancakes!! Wifi not great, but hey I think that's quite typical. Highly recommended


80%

The hostel is a 10-15 minute walk from town, front-door security is very good. The staff could be better, and although the hot showers and bathrooms are clean, they could be cleaned more regularly. The pancake breakfast was good (a pleasant change from bread and jam) and the bar does a great variety of food. I ate there most evenings. Would recommend this hostel, the beds are comfy and it has a good atmosphere. The wifi is patchy, but then that´s pretty normal for Bolivia.


54%

The place has good food n terrace...the staff was really not interested at all in guiding or helping. The rooms were cold n stinky bathroom with a very dull light n no windows in the room..the agency also cant b bothered in providing information on excursions etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Great to knw you liked our terrace. Staff maybe busy these days, we are sorry about that. Did you ask for additional coat ?. Same for the Agency, we will work on that too. Cheers

89%

We had room 1-5. It was a little noisy the the mattress was uncomfortable and needs replacing.


66%

Wifi rarely worked at all, washer-dryers didn't dry our clothes at all after two 2-hour drying cycles

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. About the Wifi, we are getting a third fast account, we hope to offer all our wifi users a better service !

54%

Loud and bad atmosphere. The agency Kanoo Travels were good though

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, nice staff, good location, helpful, good relation price-value, I jus had a problem... the girl in the bar gave me a beer which cost was of 15 bolivianos instead of the free beer, so I had to pay even when it had to be free. Breakfast was good! all pancakes you can eat. The view of the city is amazing by the nite.


51%

Didn't like this hostel one bit. We stayed in the 'B n B' part of it, we didn't even know that was an option when booking so maybe the other side was better but our room faced the highway so was extremely loud all night, the power outlets didn't work in the room, the wifi was absolutely terrible, the breakfast was pathetic, the double bed room barely fit 2 people in the bed and the room was old and musty. We booked for 4 nights and left after 1. So many better places. The location is bad too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank Yo for your review. We are suprice you didnt like our all you can eat pancakes , additional Bread plus Coffe and extra Organic Juice. Did you complain ? We are working in the wifi downloading control, to avoid those problems you mention, Bolivia after that has the worst internet service. Safe travels !

71%

All good except - No kitchen facilities to prepare own food... :(


20%

Staff are impossible, unfriendly and have no grasp of the concept hospitality. I am terrified to see what other hostels in La Paz are like if adventure brew is the best place to stay! staff are in desperate need of training so if someone out there is feeling charitable this is the place for you. For bar staff WHITE RUSSIAN (does not consist of red bull) 1 part vodka 2 parts coffee liqueur And 1 part cream or milk There is nothing pink about a white russian.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, about the white russian that got to be a language problem, but life is not that bad isn it ? second request we are sure they would have made you the correct drink. Sorry about that, our bar manager works 5 out 7 days, that day he must be taken a rest. Our staff is usually polite, sometimes shy, bolivians are shy and maybe these days they are busy. we will workon that issue at our next meeting. Thank you again !

57%

Te He wifi didn't work and the staff didn't care about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Internet in Bolivia is very bad and there is not much we can do besides complaining to our providers, they keep saying is the best in the world ( State owned company). We keep working on getting a faster line.

91%

The hostel is very animated with a young atmosphere. Ideal for travelers who want to enjoy, but we could rest a lot anyway. The staff were very attentive and friendly!


66%

Male toilets had no toilet paper from morning till at least after 1pm, cleaners were mopping the floors on the bottom level. Priories please! Smoking rules unclear, some no smoking signs were up in the back room of the bar yet ash trays were present. I can appreciate people enjoy smoking at the bar but with very limited ventilation of the area it was not the most enjoyable environment. Night time staff entered the room on two diff nights, were loud and left door open both times! Beds were good.


49%

Customer service was poor across the board, only ever 1 receptionist on duty resulting in waiting time to see anyone which never ended up useful anyway. Same with the bar staff always had a long wait for a drink and food took far to long to arrive. Wifi was very poor which was fustrating, should be bread and butter to supply good wifi in a city hostel. The rooms had no air ventilation resulting in them smelling along with uncomfortable beds and pillows

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our Breakfast offer is our famous all you can eat pancakes instead of the the standard bread. We do offer butter for the pancakes.We are sorry your impatience for waiting, our staff tries to serve our clients according to their arrival, high season si sometimes that way.

40%

Overall, I had a bad stay at this hostel. The WiFi doesn't work, there isn't really a common area to relax, and the staff are unhelpful. For some reason the general atmosphere wasn't very social. I would not recommend this hostel.


66%

Ok for a single night in La Paz, but this hostel is most suitable for younger crowds looking for a frat house experience.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

You get a free beer (around half a can) every night which is cool, then they try and sell you brewery tours which I did not check out. I was hoping there would be more people hanging out at their bars, but I think all the partiers try to stay at Loki. Overall it was a very quiet environment with everyone keeping to themselves. Some of the staff was nice, some were jerks (or have no social intelligence) and would come off very brash and rude.


83%

Nice hostel, close to city and terminal.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all La Paz Hostels

Please give us your feedback