Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Alchemist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 64 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 64 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
The Alchemist Hostel Located at Calle 13 No 3-139, , Taganga.
The Alchemist Hostel
Colombia
Taganga Magdalena 470001 Calle 13 No 3-139
67% 64
11.2688526 -74.1886889
The Alchemist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.0

Well worth the money. It's basic but just a short walk from the main beach area . Breakfast included. Think they had a few new staff who didn't seem to know what they were doing but the language barrier didn't help either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

The place was great. My only criticism was that smoking was permitted indoors. We stayed in the private room which was located in a separate house, and the place reeked of cigarette smoke. It was very unfortunate as overall we were very happy with our stay, but as non smokers this was very unpleasant. Please limit smoking to outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
5.7

Hottest room I have ever been in, Taganga is boiling and we had one fan and couldn't open the window. The receptionist was stoned and incompetent and could not work out our bill and despite our argument would not back down and we ended up being overcharged. Awful service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

We stayed in a private room, loved it. Perfect location a few blocks from the beach, helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

Great place to stay for a few days, I would recommend the stand-alone house outside of the main hostel which has private rooms available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
2.0

Don't go there please,it was super dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2016
8.6

There´s a good vibe in this Hostel, in the morning you´ll get a really nice surprise and the people are very friendly. Also it´s cheap, so you should consider going there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2016
5.7

Nice staff, however when we arrived they had lost our booking and the private room we booked was no longer vacant. We were charged a deposit and it was not refunded. We found places to stay closer to the beach that were nicer and better priced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.