Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Anderson Estates

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
The Anderson Estates Located at 1932 Rochester Cir, , Los Angeles.
The Anderson Estates
USA
Los Angeles CA 90018 1932 Rochester Cir
75% 147
34.0210947 -118.3148681
The Anderson Estates
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

The cottage is the main property with the pool, free breakfast, big screen, and DJ. The ensuite is three blocks away, consisting of four buildings, but was unfortunately under construction during my stay, which started at 8am. There was also an ant infestation, mainly in the kitchen, and only 1/4 stove tops worked. And parking was competitive/limited. Everything else was great! Two miles from shopping strips, grocery, and clothing stores. Can see the Hollywood Sign from the ensuite!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Best accommodation I've visited lately :) great staff, wicked pad, pretty much unreal. I will recommend to friends. Thanks !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • coertbotha8573
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

A wonderful, old, historic, very nice place to stay. MR EDDIE ANDERSON is a wonderful man. Just one small thing bothered me ...... rooms cannot lock. Although it is very safe. Otherwise, I will SURE stay there again. And I give them 100%.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jul 2016
4.9

There is NO security at this hostel AT ALL! Neither the house, nor the room, nor the bath room could be locked and there were no lockers available to rent. That the hostel is in fact a mansion with a pool does not compensate this. Location is ok for LA with a Metro stop nearby but staying in that neighbourhood with no security was uncomfortable. Everything usually looked clean, but it would be great if shelves and cupboards were dusted regularly, so that they could actually be used for storage.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
4.9

Anderson Estates is not a hostel in the typical sense. There is the main mansion where the pool/yard is located. As well, Mr. Anderson owns several houses in the area where bunk beds have been set up. Some of the beds are set up in bedrooms, but bunk beds are also set up in open areas with zero privacy. There is absolutely zero security! The house and bedroom could not be locked, and there were no storage lockers for your items. Considering the sketchy neighborhood, this is very worrying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.6

The free breakfast was great always left full. Location is a good as you're going to get in LA, close to the metro line and close to a big supermarket. The staff didn't really help or hinder it seemed like it was run by a group of mates rather than a actual staff. Best price you're going to get in LA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Everyone is so friendly! Great place to meet other travellers. Nicely prepared free breakfast! The location is convenient for tourist attractions in different directions. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2016
5.1

One of the strangest hostels I've ever stayed at. Part hostel - part construction site where the mansion owner provides free accomodation for those working on his house. These individuals drink most nights and can be very loud and abusive. Wouldn't reccomend staying here, but it is fairly close to the Expo/Western Metro station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
7.7

It was good overall but the first day they put me to sleep at the living room on a horrible air mattress and the wi-fi doesn't work very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

I have chosen it because it was quite cheap, but when I came I felt like a king :) you have pool, great breakfast, kitchen, wifi, showers, nice staff and 2 cute dogs. what do you need more?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.