Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Anderson Estates

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.5
The Anderson Estates Located at 1932 Rochester Cir, , Los Angeles.
The Anderson Estates
USA
Los Angeles CA 90018 1932 Rochester Cir
73% 258
34.0210947 -118.3148681
The Anderson Estates
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
4.0

The images shown here were't even close to reality. We were made to stay in a cottage outside the main mansion. We were assigned an 8 bed room although we had booked a 4 bed room. The reason given to us was that the hostel was overbooked since they do not have any way to limit the number of bookings.place is old, not well maintained, and shady. Hostel staff was inefficient and breakfast never started on time. Someone was sleeping on the couch in our lounge on one night. No lockers. Roms dnt lock

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.7

Great place to stay, made a lot of new friends from all over the world. Free breakfast and wifi, and water too whenever you want. Also you get to live in a piece of history, and they have really friendly dogs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
4.0

We booked to stay for two weeks, however ended up leaving after three hours. We arrived and were taken to an office where no one seemed to be working, and they didn't seem too interested in checking us in. Once we had paid we were told we wouldn't be staying in the mansion in a four bed room, but were taken to the 'overflow' house in an eight bed room. It felt dirty and the atmosphere was very uncomfortable. They said we will get a refund, I have chased them up after two weeks and nothing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
4.9

This hostel has the potential to be beautiful, but our experience was definitely far from this. The room smelt unpleasant and was not clean. There was mould on the bathroom floor and it was never cleaned during the day. The rooms smelt of weed and had no security, lockers or anything of the sort. The security was the worst part and we felt uncomfortable leaving our possessions there during the day. The inside of the manor is quite nice. The staff were not very professional or helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
2.3

The pictures from this place are very deceiving. When we pulled up to the location, the mansion looked very sketchy and torn-down. The facility was not kept in maintenance. We had to go through the mansion (when I say mansion, just picture a huge house with paint chipping off and creepy people staring at your from their window), to get to the office space. The staff in the office also seemed very sketchy & super weird. We had to go through another room to get to our room which seemed really off.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Felt my belongings were safe, but there are no lockers in the rooms. Metro stop is close-by. Staff is cool and keen to help. Bad points: - Difference between Hostelworld booking system and on site room allocation (never happened before) - One of the rooms is kind of a preferred passage by guests of other rooms, and some of the guests used to leave the room door open while smoking next to it Likely to come back - a few improvements (see above) would make this place a "must go".

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
8.6

Great atmosphere, I like the location and i have extended my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Great place to stay,good facilities and lovely people! Although still not sure about broccoli for breakfast!!! But great time had and would definitely stay again!! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
7.7

the Anderson estates was great! it made my first hostel experience the best!! I made so many new friends in my house complex. And they serve breakfast in the morning if you get up early enough to get some;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
7.1

Very accommodating during a busy weekend in the area. Polite staff, youthful atmosphere, always something going on. Wouldn't recommend staying extended periods longer than 2 weeks.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.