Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Anderson Estates

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2017
2.6

Bad things: Filthy In a dodgy neighborhood No locks on doors or secure places for passport 2.5km from nearest grocery store Literally four inches between beds and no side tables or benches for laying stuff out which meant people left stuff all over the floor Someone stole my scarf and all my food One room had NO privacy at all and was ground floor with no curtains on French window style doors Good things: Solid wifi Good breakfast Tv with some games consoles Pool

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
6.3

Staff are very nice and helpful. They clean quite a bit, but the facilities themselves are old and falling apart. Showers were disgusting. One leaked constantly and flooded the bath. Great location; 15 min walk from the train. No air conditioning can make sleeping difficult in the summer (it looked like some rooms had window units, but not mine). Breakfast is pretty good. Lots of mosquitoes by the pool. I got bit every night. Overall weird vibe. No close stores/alcohol.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sebz
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
8.9

I had a amazing time /stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sethe95
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
9.7

Great atmosphere, having the pool as the social area, only 10 mins walk from the Expo Metro line. Great value, the neighbourhood has many shops in walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
4.9

Normally staying at an Hostel your expectations for cleanliness aren't that high but if you have to pay a $15 dollar fee per person for it you would hope that you would see where that money goes.To begin with their was LICE in my bed, yes.Every morning I would wake up with bites around my whole body, it wasn' until the my last day that I saw one moving around my sheets, the bathrooms are decent but the showers are DISGUSTING, you can tell that no one has clean those showers with bleach in weeks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
8.9

If you're staying in LA and want to meet all kinds of beautiful people from around the world then this is the only place to stay. Location was great and the mansion itself blew my mind. The pool is amazing and the staff are great. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2017
7.4

Saw the reviews on this and was pleasantly surprised when I saw it. Swimming pool, cool people, super cheap, Breakfast was decent, area was a little dodgy but I walked around at night and lived to tell the tail so it's all good. I left my laptop in my room and didn't get stolen so nothing but good things to say about the place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
3.7

If you are looking for the nastiest, most ghetto hostel in LA, look no further, from sheets with blood, this 3rd world hostel will not disappoint you, come and stay at LA's greatest show. From living rooms and other amenities rooms changed to bunk beds, to bathrooms barely accesible. Prepare yourself for a thrilling experience of getting into a lottery of who's staying at the 'Mansion' and who will be staying at some random unfinished house from a nearby area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
9.1

Loved the security guard at the front of the street. Very kind individual, everyone gave off great vibes. GET SOME LOCKS! was totally blown away that not only did the dorms not have locks, but there was no locker option. Very unnerving to go to outl all day and have to cross fingers your belongings would be there/untampered with when returning at night. Luckily everyone was great and there were no issues, with the amount of traffic coming through it only takes 1 bad seed to spoil it all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.1

It seems lots has been said both positive and negative about this place. Let's start with positive- some staff were very helpful and assisted when an issue arose. Pool was inviting. Cool old house Other guests are good to hang with. Breakfast is free and fills a hole. Washing is free. The area while appears dodgy locals were really friendly, its safe and close to metro. Security on main road too. Neg- some staff not friendly. Too few bathrooms, no locks on rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.