Hostelworld.com

The Anderson Estates

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
The Anderson Estates Located at 1932 Rochester Cir, , Los Angeles.
The Anderson Estates
USA
Los Angeles CA 90018 1932 Rochester Cir
77% 114
34.0210947 -118.3148681
The Anderson Estates
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2016
8.3

Free breakfast, swimming pool and a large garden area are all bonuses on top of a comfortable hostel close to a metro station. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom areas are clean. However the kitchen area is gross towards the end of the day and there are no lockers or even locks on the bedroom doors. Also the front door is left open 24/7 so theoretically anyone could walk in. Luckily I had no problems with my things while I was there though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
8.9

I made a good choice to stay here. To think I paid $20 to stay in a mansion, where Hollywood stars used to visit, including Bob Hope and Marilyn Monroe according to Mr Anderson. Great breakfast, much better than all the other hostels I have stayed in the US. The staff was excellent. Facilities include a large pool which I hope to use next time if the weather is warmer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.9

The stay here was awesome, although I think people, especially other females, need to know to be a little careful in the area. I had quite a few people around LA tell me to be careful in the area and not keep my phone out while walking around because people have been known to swipe them. Other than that I had no problems. Laid back with a pool, 10 min walk from the train and buses, takes about an hour to get to most places which is common when taking transportation anywhere in LA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2016
3.7

Worst hostel ever. I was coming from out of town for work and knew id have a late check in. Called 2 numbers more than 4 times with no answer or voicemail to leave message. Emailed to ask about the late check in and they said it was fine. I got there and no one was there to check me in. I stayed for three days without checking in. There are no locks on any doors. Communication is absolutely terrible & none of the staff know whats going on and are unable to help even when they try. Complete mess

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.3

I stayed in the private room so security wasn't a problem. But the stay was very nice. Wifi runs decently, the walk to the metro is about 15 minutes though so get ready for that. Overall it was a good stay, I didn't have the free breakfast, but I know they have it so thats also a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Apr 2016
5.4

Very strange place. Didn't feel comfortable at all. Booked for 3 nights but only stayed 2 because I felt unsafe. No locks on the front door. No lockers in the rooms. The second night a really creepy man came into our room around 10.30pm. The staff said it was too late to check him in and just let him into our room without knowing who he was. I didn't want to stay in the same room as he, and luckily the staff did understand and asked him to leave. Breakfast is ok.Wifi ok.Close to public transport

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
7.7

The Anderson Estates is definitely one of the stranger hostels I've stayed at however it certainly has a lot of positives, the staff are really helpful, I met great people there, free breakfast and laundry and you even have a swimming pool and gym equipment. Negatives are I didn't feel security was very tight, it was like anyone could come and go whenever plus the location isn't central at all although near a metro stop. Would still recommend as it is the cheapest place in L.A

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
6.6

Not bad for the price. Has a pool & the people are friendly. BUT people need to learn to knock on your door not just bust in on you. Not the best location for site seeing. Most of the time you'll need to call a cab or use uber/lyft. But overall it was a good experience. I'd stay again. Bostonbyrd

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
5.7

I was doing laundry when i went to check on it someone was in the process of taking it out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

10 plus if you or anyone you know needs a reliable place for what ever reason I highly recommend staying there very trust worthy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.