Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Aquarium Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.7
The Aquarium Hostel Located at Bethlen Gabor utca 8, 3rd floor, , Budapest.
The Aquarium Hostel
Hungary
Budapest Pest 1075 Bethlen Gabor utca 8, 3rd floor
70% 178
47.5015906 19.0809773
The Aquarium Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Schulte_rvs1727
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.6

We stayed for one night, to get a train the next morning. The hostel is next to the train station which was convenient. The hostel itself was a kind of old and there is random furniture everywhere. I would recommend staying in a different hostel closer to the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • GalipYumus
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2016
2.0

They sent us another hostel with an explanation "owner decide to it". Other hostel was also awful. After a long waiting time they offered 8 beds rooms although we had booked for 4. Nevertheless we persisted to claim our rights and finally "the owner" arranged a room in Aquarium. Then why did he decided to it first? Great amount of hostel demand because of the sziget festival? Notice the theft! Never get in here!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
4.0

Wish I'd read the reviews on trip advisor (as well as those on here) before booking because we would have avoided it at all costs. When we arrived the owner told us he had no space for us even though (as he accepted) we'd booked and paid a deposit on hostelworld. His excuse was that there was a festival on and they were busy, but surely this is the point of booking? He also hadn't contacted us beforehand about the problem. Eventually he found us somewhere else but this place was far from ideal

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2016
6.9

Photos need to be updated on this website as the bathrooms are no longer in that condition. Originally when we booked we thought we were staying in a yoga hostel, but that information has since been removed. Main issue was cleanliness. We stayed for 3 nights and bin in our dorm room hadn't been changed upon arrival and wasn't changed during our stay. Showers also in poor condition. Not nicest area of town, think we would have enjoyed Budapest much more in centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Clean and great staff . Perfect hostel for 2 or 3 nights .come back soon:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Nice and well prepared place for party and summer:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place and all shops and metro are reachabe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Friedly staff and perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
10.0

Clean and nice hosel. Good location and party place as well:) Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jul 2016
4.9

This hostel/apartment is one of the dirtiest I've stayed in. The showers and toilets were not cleaned at all during our four night stay and neither was the bin in our room. The location is close to the metro, however there was people drinking outside the hostel all day and night. There's no atmosphere as you're in an apartment. The free washing machine was a bonus!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.