Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
86% 1285
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel, very clean. Right in the middle of downtown, easy to walk to almost everywhere. They can set you up with activities in Auckland and in other cities. Large kitchen and outdoor hangout/ smoking area (closes at 11p). Comfy, sturdy bunk beds in the dorms. Would not hesitate to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Nice hostel right in the CBD, about a 10 minute walk to the ferry terminal and a block away from one of the bus stations. There are a lot of people there who are staying long term we noticed. We were only there a few days, so we didn't really get to know anyone well but it was a very relaxed vibe in the hostel. The room was clean, bathrooms were clean. The staff was amazing. They went out of their way to help us track down a missing phone and we really appreciated it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. So accommodating and so nice!! The water pressure in the showers is amazing! All of the relaxing places were great and I nice atmosphere. Really loved this place and great value!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
8.9

Second time staying at this hostel. Both time have been impressed. The hostel has everything you need, and has a friendly feel around the place. With good common areas and a good tv room. Would recommend this hostel to anyone who is staying in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
3.1

falsely advertised, not as nice looking as it shows on the website... good luck if you get into the city after 10pm because of a late flight, you'll need a keycode and have to call the emergency line. We didn't have a great experience, not going to stay there again. Very basic, they don't really provide sheets, bathroom wasn't very clean, and it's right next to a casino.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sadafmalik27202
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Cool hostel, great central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karinasurgut
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

It was great staying here, room layout is perfect for noise reduction so your sleep won't be disturbed. Staff and other travellers are friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us at The Attic. We do have very spacious rooms which is sometimes hard to come across. The staff here are brilliant and always very welcoming to everyone and also we are very lucky to have awesome people stay here. We do hope you come back if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
9.7

Amazing staff! Had a bit of an issue during my travels and they fell over backwards to be helpful. They were able to help me resolve my problem and were concerned throughout. Locker room, kitchen, and location were all great as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • masloa
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.7

I didn't have a single issue in the 10 days there. Everything was above and beyond all other hostels around. I've been to 6 hostels in the CBD area before Attic. It is worth the cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Nice! Great location, good facilities, clean etc. :) would maybe recommend a fan or something in the room for when it gets warmer and also getting a barrier on the outside of the top bunk bed kept thinking I'd roll off the bed hahahaha. Otherwise all good. Thanks :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.