Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 1149
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jocrisfield2060
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Great central place to stay and very helpful and friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.9

Stayed our first two nights in New Zealand at the attic all the staff was very helpful. Helped us find a car and get us on a way out of Auckland. Super friendly. Very clean. We will be back for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed this hostel! The staff were great, giving us free towels and supplying extra wifi cards when we couldn't find ours. Also gave us some shampoo! The hostel was very clean and overall just a chill place to hangout. would def recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leave us such an awesome review, We love that you 'really enjoyed' your stay with us and that you found the staff to be 'great'. It's also great to hear that the staff helped you out with the small things that matter during your stay with us. :) We are really lucky to have such an amazing team here at the Attic that will always go the extra mile for our awesome guests. :) Awesome that you also found us clean and that you would recommend us to others travelers. We would love for you to come back and stay with us if you are ever back in Auckland. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.3

The Attic is great because of the staff. They are so helpful and friendly. The location is also great. Kitchen is super big and there are lots of rooms to chill and hangout in. Showers are also great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time out to leave us a review, Amazing to hear that you found us 'great due to our awesome staff and that you loved our awesome central location in the heart of the city. Always great to hear that you enjoyed our awesome facilities, including our awesome kitchen and hot showers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.0

Great place to stay in the city centre. Cheap however you have to pay for Wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.4

It was great but the front desk employees we're awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are happy to hear that you had a 'great' time during your stay and that you found our staff awesome :) We would love to have you stay with us if you are ever back in Auckland. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights and probably 1 of the better hostels I have stayed in during my time travelling. Decent sized rooms, great big kitchen and terrace, plenty of showers and toilets and a good atmosphere. Only problem was the lift didn't seem to work and they are based on fifth floor. Would stay again if in Auckland but no always keen to pay 30 bucks for a 12 bed dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for making time to leave us a review, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be one of the 'better' hostels you have stayed in during your travels. Always great to hear that you enjoyed our awesome facilities and that you liked the great atmosphere we have around the place. :) Sorry that the lift was broken during your stay, we have no had the issue fixed. We would love to have you stay again if you're ever back in Auckland. Enjoy your travels The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my stay and would come back for sure! The staff were so helpful and friendly.... the only problem is that it is sooooo cold in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us review, Stoked to hear that you would come back and stay with us and that you found our staff to be 'helpful and friendly' :) It was a wee bit cold at the time of your stay but we do have blankets and hot water bottles for a small deposit which you get back when you return them. I hope you come back if you're ever back in Auckland Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.1

This was my first experience of a hostel. Rooms were fine, bathroom was a bit chilly and I had two minutes of hot water for my shower. The hostel was cold. I had to ask for a blanket. Lots of rooms that you could relax in, either the kitchen, TV lounge, reception or outside under canopy. You couldn't get a better location in the city. Staff were chatty, friendly and helpful. All in all a good hostel. I would stay here again. I'd just bring warmer clothes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you chose us for your first time staying in a hostel. We do love our hostel and look after it well by doing regular maintenance and daily/hourly cleaning throughout. The location is ideal for guests wanting to see all of Auckland. We hope that you come back again if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

2nd Sep 2016
9.7

Don't be fooled by the free wi-fi; you only get 3 hours of free wi-fi during your stay, no matter how many days you're booked. From then on, you have to pay up for more. Besides the lack of free unlimited wi-fi, the rooms are very spacious and clean, as well as the facilities! The showers are quite nice and warm with good water pressure. Very informative employees with great recommendations. If possible, hire a car and go see more than just Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you loved your stay. We do give 3 Hours of free WiFi upon arrival after that you do have to pay but this is a common factor throughout NZ and especially Auckland. We are happy that you liked everything else. We do hope you come back again :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.