Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff are really nice. Worth staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are stoked that you enjoyed your stay here. We do have a wicked team here that always do everything to make sure everyone feels at home and answer any possible questions you may have. We do hope you get a chance to stay here again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Rooms and bathrooms were just a bit cold, otherwise great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you chose us to stay with during your time in Auckland. We are experiencing a cold winter that we cannot control, but we do offer blankets and hot water bottles for a small deposit. We do hope you come back some day :) The Attic team :)

  • tobyfuxiaozhe4412
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.1

Best location. Close to everywhere. 1 min to Auckland central. Staff is super helpful. ALways reply me email quickly. I arrived after the reception closed. But they arrange everything well, so i don't have trouble at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay. We do have a very central location which ideal for seeing everything. We always very responsive on the emails. We do have a full proof late check in system which is great for backpackers getting those cheap flights. We do hope you come back one day :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.7

Ok but uninviting entrance and lift is a ball ache

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you chose us to stay with during your time in Auckland. We are a little hidden but we do have signs up so you find your way. We like to think of ourselves as a hidden gem. The lift is old school but it is just as easy to operate as a modern one. We do hope you stay again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.3

This was a pretty nice hostel and the staff were great. A little more expensive than other hostels but Auckland hostels are more expensive in general. Nice kitchen but facilities were not as clean as it could have been. People pretty much keep to themselves and it is generally a quiet hostel which is very nice for sleeping. Can't beat the location. It is right downtown close to stores, restaurants, and a few blocks away from a grocery store.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you chose us to stay with during your time in Auckland. We do have the dream team here which are always happy to help. We are a premium hostel as we consider ourselves the best in the CBD. We do hourly checks throughout the hostel to ensure cleanliness throughout. I can see that you did come during the "Lions tour" which meant a lot of the hostel was empty and was always out watching the games. We hope this doesn't deter you from coming back :) The Attic team :)

6th Jul 2017
10.0

After being on a plane for 26 hours in total (Barcelona - Auckland) I got here earlier than the allowed check in. The guy (with glasses), in reception showed empathy and gave me my bed right away. He saved my life as I hadn't slept properly for the last 3 days. Thanks dude!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super stoked that you loved your stay with us. We completely understand how draining the long flights can be so we do everything we can to accommodate people. We are happy that James could help you on this occasion. We do hope that you come back some time :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Perfect place to start our trip. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and warm. I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are stoked that you decided to stay here. We have a team here that are dedicated to ensuring every guest enjoys their stay here. We do daily checks to make sure the rooms are at the highest standard. Hope you come back again some time :) The Attic team :)

3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Great central location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you decided to stay with us during your time in Auckland. We do have a very central location which is ideal for guests wanting to see everything Auckland has to offer. We do hope you stay again if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

2nd Jul 2017
9.4

The Attic was the best hostel i have stayed in in Auckland. It was clean, not too loud, and in a good location. Is on the fifth floor and the rooftop deck/porch is really cool. Plus you get 3 free hours of really good wifi. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super stoked that you loved your stay here at The Attic. We do take a lot of pride in making sure we keep all the facilities on top form by doing hourly checks throughout the hostel. Our WiFi is fiber optic which is the best in NZ and you can also purchase more if needed. We do hope you come back another time :) The Attic team :)

30th Jun 2017
8.6

Easy to find, directions are accurate. Good locations, very near skybus stops and downtown. Elevator didn't work, luckily only on the way down. Otherwise pretty decent stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you chose us to stay with during your time in Auckland. We are very central which is great for for guests that are going to and from the airport. Sorry to hear you had to experience the complications from the lift. I can assure you it's working great now. We do hope you come back and stay another time :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.