Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 1109
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.7

An absolutely wonderful hostel! I spent 11 nights there and would happily do so again! A great location - close to the bars, shops and a 10/15 minute walk from the ferry terminals. Staff were extremely helpful and helped to organise a variety of trips. They were very friendly and always willing to offer a helping hand or a good laugh. Clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen, and hostel has a great atmosphere. I felt very safe staying here. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
4.9

We were so disappointed by this stay. With such high ratings we expected more. We were in a room with very unfriendly Germans who all seemed to know each other and made no effort to be friendly. That's not the hostel's fault, however, there was no protocol in place to encourage interaction and an atmosphere amongst guests like most hostels we have stayed in throughout Asia, Australia, NZ, and London. My friend got a bad flea bite from the stay. You have to get a lift which is just ridiculous.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent. Central location. Clean, secure and welcoming. Would highly recommend this place for travelers on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us such an awesome review, We're stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our central location. Our housekeeping staff work really hard to keep the hostel clean and to a high standard. It's also great to hear that you would recommend us to other travelers. :) If you are every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Thanks The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Good location whether to explore the city or go out at night. Bit noisy and the limited front desk he's not the best but friendly reception and would stay there again,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us such an awesome review, Always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do consider ourselves lucky to be in such a central location in the heart of the city next to all the great bars and restaurants. We are also very lucky to have such amazing, helpful staff here at the Attic. Stoked to hear that you would stay with us again. :) We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. If you are every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Kitchen is closed between 11PM and 7AM, so cannot even make a cup of tea. Except for that it is a good place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review. As like most hostels around New Zealand we do close the kitchen in the night, but awesome to hear that we're a 'good place'. Enjoy the rest of your travel The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.3

In short, the kitchen was great, really well equipped, but the bedroom was f'ing freezing. This was the first place we stayed in NZ, so the "we don't do heating in NZ" excuse was accepted initially, but everywhere else we've stayed has had heating. Everyone in our room complained about the bitter cold. Sort it out! It's a shame that this one factor really over-rides my general perception. I will say though that the staff were chatty and generally helpful which was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Really nice to hear you enjoyed our awesome facilities. Unfortunately during your stay with us we were experiencing an unusually cold few days, however we do provide extra blankets for these days. Always great to hear that the staff were very chatty and helpful. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Very Central location, the space was kept very clean and the staff were friendly. However only issue is the lack of free wifi, you only get 1 code upon checking in that gives you access to 3hrs of wifi, no matter the length of stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.4

the hostel's staff are really nice, the place is clean, the kitchen is big and the location is great. I have no complaints except for the fact that I think there was an open mic night down the street and I was woken up to some guy singing "Wonderwall". classic. there's always ONE guy singing that. totally not the hostels fault I just thought it was hilarious. anyways- thnx for the short stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Super stoked that you liked your stay with us at The Attic. The staff here are always trying their best to ensure every guest is having a good time, and if they are not, why not. The classic wonderwall karaoke, ay. The hostel is up on the 5th floor so away from all the noise but if some drunk guy was screaming through a microphone, what can you do. We hope you come back if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

9th Aug 2016
8.0

Really convenient location next to the Sky Tower and Queen Street. Fun vibe and nice facilities. Be warned... you are only allotted 1.5 hours of wifi per day and need to time it wisely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a great stay. We do have an ideal location where you can get to all the accessible things you would want to see and do. On arrival you get 3 hours of free WiFi which is a log in/ log out system that you can purchase more of for a small fee. We do hope you come back :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Great location. Such helpful staffs! They are as nice as they could be. Make great recommendations for traveling as well. The atmosphere was great, too. A nice TV lounge helped me enjoyed my time even more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. The staff here are brilliant as we are always full of energy and like to have fun in the work place which then makes guests feel comfortable and creates an awesome atmosphere. We do hope you come back if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.