X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
480 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in so far! It is a quiet new hostel and very clean. The location is perfect, the kitchen is big, the staff is nice and the rooms are really big. It is a smaller hostel which is good for meeting people! If you are in Auckland, go to the Attic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We always love to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us enough to recommend us to fellow travellers! We also like the intimate feel to our small hostel as we get to meet so many awesome travellers like yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

100%

Especially the staff was incredible friendly and helpful!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad our staff made your stay a memorable one! We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

100%

Best hostel I've stayed in in Auckland, completely smashes Base and the YMCA out of the water! Amazing staff, facilities and people, even though I only stayed for a couple of nights. Great atmosphere, would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! We love to hear our guests are enjoying their time with us! We hope to see you at The Attic again! Safe Travels, The Attic Team

71%

Not as good as I thought after having read the hostel World reviews. The sheet on my bed was really dirty and the shower was cold. That was unfortunate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We always welcome feedback so we can improve our facilities and service. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team

94%

great hostel in town centre, easy to get to and from transport to more beautiful places than Auckland :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad to hear our you enjoyed our hostel and found it to be in a great location for exploring Auckland. We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

94%

great stay in auckland and friendly staff (espacially james). clean rooms and comfy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and found our staff to be freindly and helpful. We hope to see you again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

86%

Really nice hostel. In de middle of the centrum:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and its central location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

74%

Cool place to stay for a couple of days. Very clean hostel, spacious kitchen. It would have been nice to have a personal locker in the room but locker room was better than nothing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our facilities to be clean and spacious. We like to keep all the rooms as spacious as possible, which is why we have a seperate room for lockers with 24hour access. We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

66%

No lockers to keep your stuff safe. It would be great if they could something about it. Rooms very hot and poor ventilation (rooms smell like the cave of a tiger) that could be prevented with better ventilation. Lift very old and non reliable (one fellow traveller was trapped for over an hour) and i had struggled with the lift 3 times of the 4 times i used it (i walked another 4 times for safety reasons). Location is great. Big kitchen and communal toilets/showers. Staff very very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our kitchen and common areas and found our staff to be helpful. We are sorry to hear you had a difficult time with our lift, we have now had this issue fixed. Lockers are available for use in the hostel and are also free to use with your own lock. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

86%

An issue I had with the hostel was that the code lock on the outside door to the hostel wasn't working when I was trying to the enter the building at ~11:00PM. I was waiting outside for at least 30 minutes before someone opened from the door inside the building allowing me in. I mentioned this issue to the one of the hostel staff the following day and I was met with a response of 'oh yeah that happens sometimes' implying that they aren't too bothered about the issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for leaving a review. We are very sorry you had a difficult time with our door lock upon arrival and found our staff members to be unconcerned about the issue, however we have made sure this incident was reported to the manager and the lock is now being changed to prevent future issues. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

20%

Poor service terrible hostel plenty other decent ones go to them..... Its just all bad and poor quality and a deathtrap elevator to even get there to finish off the poor experience


94%

Good hostel, great location and staff. Room was a tad hot but not bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

100%

Fantastic. Probably the best hostel I have been to in NZ - and I've been to a lot! Very friendly staff, good atmosphere and perfect location. Quiet too, not a crazy party hostel which is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for an awesome review! We always like to hear our guests found our hostel to be a great place to stay!! Hope to see you again should you return to Auckland! Safe Travels, The Attic Team

91%

A fantastic hostel in central Auckland. Conveniently located for the airport bus and Kiwi Experience bus stops. The hostel is clean, with good facilities. Hair dryer and straighteners in the bathroom are an added bonus too. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Great stay.


86%

I just spent one night. Was okay about security, staff and cleanliness. Very well located. Good bed and shower. It worth the money.


91%

It is a central location which is great. Paid wifi. good kitchen. Nice and relaxed common space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our kitchen and common areas. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

91%

Great place to stay even if you are not a traditional "backpacker".

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

71%

The hostel is nice and quiet, everything you need is at hand and it's right in the city center. Downside is that the kitchen is locked at night. I had to get up early to get my bus but couldn't get to the fridge to take my groceries. Had to leave all of them behind which cost me a lot of money :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and location. We do apologize that you had to leave your food behind, however we do ensure it is made clear to all guests that our kitchen is closed for cleaning from 11pm-7am and encourage guests to remove their food before 11pm if checking out early. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

77%

The facility itself isn't bad, though they charge for internet access. However, when I left property behind they refused to mail it back to me, even though I said I would pay for the shipping. Clearly, customer service is not their priority here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear you left property behind and you found our staff to be unhelpful with this matter. Customer service is very important to us and we do ensure that we do everything we can to help our guests, however there are things that we are unable to assist with at times. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

100%

staff very helpful and polite, good value for money and good place in Auckland to be :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought us to be a stand out Auckland Hostel. We pride ourselves on our customer service so we are happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and polite. We look forward to having you stay with us again. The Attic Team.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback