X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
398 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It was really easy to find. Bathroom facilities were clean. Free wifi was really helpful. The room was a bit warm.


89%

Really sociable hostel with a great big clean kitchen and a toasty machine! 3 common areas in addition to an outside deck area never makes this hostel feel cramped. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable and willing to help you with all your queries even if off duty. There is also 3 hours worth of free wifi. The only improvements would be to invest in some non-stick frying pans and have hot chocolate as an option with free tea and coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you for your suggestions, we will look into it. The Attic Team

94%

Really good hostel. Great kitchen and social area. During our stay everyone was respectful of one another in the dorm, nice and quiet (perfect as we were very jet lagged). Location is great, only stopped here three nights but could have stopped for a week....so much to do in Auckland!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again if you are back in Auckland. The Attic Team.

80%

You don't get a bed number. So you can choose your bed but the employees and the cleaning staff haven't an idea who is staying where and which bed to change etc. So in the morning around ten the cleaners get into the room and ask questions like: did this person leave,is this bed taken etc. And you don't have a clue because you don't know all the people in the room!The organisation is poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the housekeepers asking which beds needed to be made. We do have a system for this. We ask all guests upon check out to bring us their pillowcases so we know which beds to make. However this doesn't always happen if a guest leaves before reception opens. We hope you consider staying with us again should you return to Auckland. The Attic Team

97%

Clean, friendly, great location, knowledgeable staff. Overall a nice place to spend a few nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again should you be in Auckland! The Attic Team.

86%

Really great hostel. Great location, very close to supermarket, bus stops and main shopping area. Staff were really helpful and friendly, especially Becca. Rooms are a great size with comfortable beds. The whole hostel is clean, spacious and modern with great facilities. Would recommend to anyone staying in Auckland and I would stay again.


94%

Amazing place - spotlessly clean, great kitchen. There are a couple of indoor TV rooms and people also hang out in the cosy reception with beanbags, but best is an outdoor deck where it is easy to meet other travellers. Only gripe is that they close the deck at 11pm, but the indoor TV area is open 24 hours. You can drink your own booze in the hostel which is a plus. There are lockers provided for and separate male/female bathrooms. Unfortunately only 3 hours of (bad) free WiFi is provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the reply. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately a few have ruined it for all, as we have decided to close the deck at 11pm after several noise complaints. However, we are one of the few hostels in NZ that allow alcohol, although we are dry after 11pm .There are plenty of places in the city nearby if you want to carry on after that. We are sorry to hear the wifi didn't work well for you. If you had made us aware we would have looked into it. Attic Team

80%

Very clean hostel located in a great area. The staff weren't overly friendly or helpful. They didn't seem interested in helping when I asked for suggestions of what to do. Showers were a bit ridiculous going hot from cold all the time, but that's standard in most hostels. Beds are super comfy! There wasn't any atmosphere, but all up it's was a pretty good hostel. I would stay here again if I came back to Auckland.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the response. We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds and central location. We are sorry to hear our staff weren't overly friendly or helpful, as we pride ourselves on our customer service. We have had our showers looked at and they are now holding pressure and heat longer. We hope to see you again should you be back through Auckland. The Attic Team

91%

Nice central hostel and very comfy duvets!


97%

Amazing place, great staff and the cleanliness was by far the best I've seen. Whole place had a great vibe to it as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come stay again if you are in Auckland. The Attic Team

83%

A good run hostel!


100%

Really awesome place, great vibe and staff. Just a perfect size and you can't beat the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the amazing review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Auckland. We hope to see you again if you pass back through this way. The Attic Team

97%

Central location good facilities great shower with hair dryer and straightners. Big kitchen. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the guy on the travel desk! Would definatly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. Its also nice to hear how helpful and friendly our staff is. We hope to see you again if you find yourself in Auckland. We would love to hear all about your travels. The Attic Team

63%

Hostel was in central location. Showers were good, didn't seem to have much atmosphere when I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location and our facilities. The hostel can be a bit quiet during the week, but you can usually find a group of people who want to go out and do something. The Attic Team

100%

This was my third hostel I stayed at in Auckland and was by far the best and would definately stay here again. I stayed at Base and Frienz and would not stay at either again for various reasons. The facilities are excellent. Rooms get cleaned daily. Lovely clean kitchen and bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Attic. We would love to see you again if you are in Auckland. Safe travels! The Attic Team

100%

tell the hotel below you to be more accomodating to the drunken backpackers above them and not try to shut them down every night....

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the review. We do have a noise agreement that goes into effect at 10pm. We find this works very well for ourselves and the hotel as it allows all guests to get a quiet nights sleep. And there are plenty of places in the city that are open late if someone wants to drink and party. We hope to see you again in the future if you are in Auckland. The Attic Team.

77%

Nice hostel and everything. But the reception is closed between 11pm and 8 am. Be careful if you arrive by a night flight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed our hostel, though we are sorry to hear you had trouble accessing the hostel after hours. Our website and all the booking engines have our reception open hours and ask you to contact us if you are arriving outside of those hours for additional instructions. However you booking had an arrival time of 2pm. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. The Attic Team.

97%

Good hostel, nearby the main street in Auckland CBD and SkyCity. The lift was a little bit odd, it was old, that kind of man-handle grip, but it worked fine. The staff were very attencious and nice, and they have a travel desk that really helps. As a bad thing, the sockets were in the corners of the room, behind the bunks wich was difficult to acess. It would be a good ideia provide bedside lights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear our staff were friendly and helpful. Our lift is a bit old-school but like you said it works just fine and we find it a nice quirky feature. The travel desk is something new we are trying out and are happy you found it helpful. We are looking into ways to provide bedside lights, but unfortunately the electrical in the old building is a bit complicated. Hope to see you again. The Attic Team.

77%

Great size rooms, kitchen, and bathroom.


86%

A good hostel with a great location. The kitchen has good facilities and is kept clean. The dorms are basic and clean. The staff are really helpful and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a response. We are happy to hear you found our staff helpful and friendly and our facilities to be good and clean. We hope to see you again if are back in Auckland. The Attic Team.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback