Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 1388
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • elliotmoore
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Jan 2017
6.9

The facilities here are great, and is certainly above standard. However The atmosphere was just a little stale. Staff could have made an effort here to inject some enthusiasm, instead of getting drunk and providing little to no information on the area As my first stop in the country, I had kind of hoped for a better experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your time in Auckland. We have some awesome facilities that we feel meets everyone's needs. I'm extremely sorry that you felt this way but I can assure you that we have a strict policy of no drinking while working so, unfortunately, this cannot be true. We having glowing reviews on how awesome our staff are so sorry that you "No enthusiasm" on arrival. We hope you stay again if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

  • ann-marie86
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
7.1

Great central location, and lots of areas to chill out in the hostel. Also great to have straightness in the bathroom! Only issue was that the room was very hot and stuffy and unfortunately couldn't open the window due to the noise outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.4

Location is amazing right in the heart of Auckland but there was a few things that let it down compared to other hostels such as no lockers in the bedrooms (there was a separate room for this though), plugs sockets not near each bed, only 3 hours of free WiFi per stay, etc. On plus side as well as location the showers/toilets were never too busy, decent kitchen and lounge areas. If location is what you are looking for though then definitely book this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Good hostel! Nice little common area, one outside and one inside, and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Fab place, fab staff 😊 the bathrooms n kitchens could do with being freshened up 😊 location is spot on 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Great location, good sized dorm rooms. No lockers to put valuables though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.1

perfect location, I especially appreciated the very large kitchen and the wonderful terrace/dining area. My room was clean and the shared bathroom was clean as well. There is also a cosy living area with a little library etc. I really liked my stay here, thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location in auckland. Helpful, friendly staff. Amazing kitchen! Nice patio to eat and mingle. Super spacious bathroom (atleast for the girls) with vanities and in house flat iron, Which was awesome since I arrived on new years eve and wanted to get a little dolled up! If I ever go back to Auckland I'll definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel. We shared a twin room and it was bliss to have a quiet space at a good rate in central Auckland. Kitchen is great - a bit hard to find, but when you do, it's large and easy to use. Staff were friendly (and busy). One tip - if you have a car I would say try to arrive after 5pm. That way you can park at Atrium next door and pay only $10 for overnight parking (if you move car out before 6am). Arriving around 4pm we paid $22 for parking before moving the car to get the overnight rate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Really clean hostel and helpful staff. For my first hostel to stay in it was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.