Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Sep 2017
8.9

The kitchen needs a measuring cup. Also, the heating isn't great so the hostel is pretty chilly when it's cold outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shazkaz71003
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Sep 2017
10.0

Great place, thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2017
8.3

The Attic Backpackers is a great place to stay in Auckland. Modern facilities and ammenities are on offer, plus they have have fast complimentary wifi. The kitchen area is adequate in size, as are the multiple chill out areas. My only criticism is that it lacks any charm or charisma and feels 'cold' due to the decor. Notwithstanding I would return at a later date if needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Annabelle-Bodmann
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
9.4

Really cool hostel, near to the city centre and everything one needs to start their adventure in New Zealand. Only thing I could decry is, that it is really cold. Windows are open all the time and you need to crawl under your blanket to be warm. Without this little negative aspect the Attic is a really nice and welcoming hostel with a lot of sweet people to meet. Really enjoyed my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Brilliant hostel right in the heart of Auckland. 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Sep 2017
2.0

Rudest manager we have ever known. Manager will quite literally chase you out after check out time 9.45am, demanding that 'you shouldn't even be here'. This is despite the fact that you are only waiting in the TV room for a few hours before an afternoon flight. Friends around were absolutely shocked by the racist tone of the staff. A truly horrifying experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you didn't have the same experience as most. Unfortunately I think you got the wrong end of the stick on this one. We have sofas in the lounge which are for watching TV, not for sleeping. It is unfair to have paying customers having to tip toe around someone sleeping that has already checked out. If you wished to carry on sleeping then an extra night would have been ideal for you. We have high standards of our facilities and we like to keep it that way. We are also certainly NOT racist here and to bring it down to that is frankly quite shocking. We do hope that you take all this into consideration in your next hostel experience. Enjoy your travels :) The Attic team :)

31st Aug 2017
8.6

Great location. Friendly staff. Rooms were waaay to cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Auckland, no doubts. Superb views, nice rooms and a huge kitchen. Facilities are astounding.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hansolojun561
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Aug 2017
10.0

Just Great! Very clean, welcoming and friendly staff. Every room has a window and is nice bright during the day. Free Wifi! Just new. Would stay her again on my future trips to Auckland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Loved this place like a Karate master loves his dojo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×