Hostelworld.com

The Attic Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 997
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2016
10.0

By far be nicest hostel I've stayed at in my time abroad. Fantastic location to bus/food/stores/nightlife. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you come to Auckland/NZ with no other plans in mind, this is the place to stay. Their travel desk will book/give you ideas for everything. Great kitchen/deck to hang out in. Facilities were very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.4

Sweet hostel, everything you need for a stay in Auckland. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
10.0

Great location! You are able to walk to a good portion of what Auckland has to offer. The staff is friendly and will answer any questions you have.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super happy that you loved your stay here at The Attic. We have a wicked team here that are always happy and wanting to help any one and everyone with what ever they need. We do have a central location which is brilliant for people wanting to explore or get to on going transport. We do hope you come back at a later date :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

Location is good. Walking distance to all the major attractions in Auckland. The hostel is at level 5 of a building and the lift takes some getting used to. The cheapest single bed private room I've stayed during my trip. An okay experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. We do have a very central location which is perfect for people wanting to see more of Auckland. The lift is a bit older but we like it and think its a nice touch and kind of vintage. We do hope that you come back again another time :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.6

Definitely one of the nicest hostels in Auckland (most of them are gross) - rooms were very clean & bedding nice. The only thing I'd say is that the bathrooms could do with being a bit cleaner - they're not dirty the floor just needed a bit of a clean (wouldn't walk around bare foot). Kitchen well equipped & staff really lovely - good selection of activities on offer. If I was going back to Auckland I'd come here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. So happy that you loved your stay here at The Attic. Glad to hear that the facilities were good for you. Sorry to hear that the floor wasn't clean enough and will be looking into why this is the case. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and spread the word of our awesome hostel. The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.9

Really great hostel. Friendly staff, hot showers and great facilities. The only thing that lets this place down is the wifi. They advertise "free wifi" but it is not. You are given a complimentary 3-hour coupon on arrival but once that has been used you have to pay for any additional wifi you need. What's ridiculous is that this coupon is not replenished with each additional night you stay here, so it doesn't matter if you're here for a night or a week... you only get 3 hours of "fre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Glad you liked your stay here at The Attic. Our facilities are very spacious and well equipped down to the kitchen having everything you need to cook a feast to the TV having sky movies + Sports to have a chilled one. We are sorry that the WiFi let your judgement of the hostel phase you as this is a very common aspect all around New Zealand. We do hope you come back if you ever in Auckland again :) The Attic team :)

  • jenvoss_2067
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th May 2016
9.4

Good rooms, not all the beds were bunks, spacious, good bathroom and kitchens, friendly staff. I've stayed at a few hostels on previous trips, this is a whole other class from the likes of Base.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super stoked that you enjoyed your stay in out hostel. We have some wicked facilities that a large and very clean and it enough to meet anyone's needs. We are glad that we are in another class compared to your previous experiences. We do hope you come back again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

Cool place. Basic as you would expect but with a good vibe and an awesome roof terrace.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Super stoked that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. Glad that you though we have a "cool" hostel as we love our place. The roof terrace is awesome and its a fantastic area to chill and have some beers and a smoke. Hope that you enjoyed your night and come back another time :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
7.7

Stayed one night on a stopover. Friendly staff. Clean room. and bathrooms. Did not use communal facilities as was gone within 12 hours so can't comment, but looked ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. What a shame that you was only here for 12 hours. Glad that you like the facilities and was acceptable for you. We do hope that you came back and stay longer next time :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2016
9.1

Hostel was very clean. Location is fantastic, between the main street and Skycity. Incredibly well-equipped kitchen, the best I've ever seen in a hostel. Only the vibe there was a bit strange, it was hard to get in contact with other travellers. Staff was very friendly and always tried to be as helpful as possible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Glad that you loved our hostel. We do keep it as clean as possible ensuring guest satisfaction throughout the day. The kitchen is brilliant and has everything you would need to cook a feast. Sorry that you felt there was a weird vibe. We do everything we can to try and make it as relaxed as possible and we are a very social hostel in general because of that. The staff are brilliant here with always wanting to help and we even hang out with the guests in our free time. We do hope you come back again :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.