Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
8.0

Located in an old building but a great location. The pictures online look better than in person. Kitchen and hang out area is clean. It was summertime so the whole building was stuffy and hot and only one fan was spinning in each room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Laraz
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
7.4

Overall a good hostel in a fantastic location. No lockers in the room for security though and hostel is very warm in temperature.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.3

Enjoyed our stay here, good location quite central to Auckland cbd. Nice large kitchen and roof terrace area. Staff nice and friendly and helpful. Felt safe and would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

They run a tight ship. Everybody cleaned up after themselves in the well-stocked kitchen. The staff was very helpful and provides lots of information about tours and the area in general. Great central location. The elevator brought back childhood memories. All in all a great experience. Thank you. Norm and Gillian

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Great staff, very nice place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Such a nice place to be. In a really good spot in a cool building, kitchen is amazing and outside area is awesome. Bathrooms are huge and super clean, room had tonnes of space/sockets. Only downside is the lockers weren't in the room they are in a separate locker room. But all the staff are lovely and really helpful, one of my favourite hostels in NZ.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed our stay at Attic, staff were friendly, the place was keen (except for a few dirty forks in the kitchen!) toilets and showers were great and spacious, bed were comfy and everything matched the pictures online. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Clean and centrally located in downtown Auckland. The hostel is on the fifth floor of a building with an old-fashioned elevator. I had a dorm with 12 people in it, and the sleeping area was dark and quiet from 10pm. All the guests were very polite and the kitchen was pleasant to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you found us to be clean and that you enjoyed our awesome central location. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everyone in the room was respectful of each other late on in the evenings, as we do know that this is not always the case in hostel life. :) We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and if you're every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.0

Great central backpacking accommodation. Quite a young crowd (average age is 20) and although we had our own private room, we are in our 30s and felt too old for this place. Venue itself is several floors up in an old building. The facilities were modern and clean and the shared kitchen was large and had everything you needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome central location in the heart of the city. Sorry that you felt to old in our hostel as we try our best to cater for everyone and their needs. :( We are stoked that you you enjoyed our awesome facilities including our awesome big kitchen that has everything you need to cook up a feast and it's always nice to hear that you found us to be clean. :) We hope you enjoy the rest of the your travels. Thanks The Attic Team :)

  • johnnyhillgrove
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.9

A pleasant stay. I'd call it a quiet place which is nice when you want to sleep. Mixed crowd of all ages which I think is a good thing. Great location. The only bad things there are no lockers in the rooms but they are instead all in a separate locker room - so it's cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be quiet, this helping you sleep well. :) We are pretty lucky to have such a great location in the heart of the city. Yes no lockers in the room but we do have a locker room to keep all your valuables safe. We do hope that you try come back and stay with us. The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.