Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Attic Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 1068
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

I've never encountered a hostel without free wifi :/ they gave us 3 hours free which was good I suppose but in 2016 i was surprised to find somewhere without wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.1

Great location, just in the middle of the city centre. Friendly staff, huge kitchen with everything you possibly need, chill room, lounge. Hot water in the shower yay! I really liked the hairdryer and straightener for girls. Very comfy mattress and pillow. Only downside that the wifi is not complimentary after 3hrs of usage (it was more than enough for my short stay) and would be nice to have power points at each bed. Highly recommended anyway! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
6.6

Big and not very personal. Felt like a good place to make a reality show. You got the colorful staff, the regulars who all knew each other and were working in the city, the talkative older guy who were giving out life lessons and then you had the people just passing through (like me). Wasn't a big fan of the dorms. It was like corridor with beds. Other than that, good facilities..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Really nice homely feeling hostel. Dorms could be warmer but the beds are comfy and extra blankets available. Couldn't have more praise for the staff who went out of their way to help out. Will be coming back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is located in the centre of town which was convenient. The rooms were clean but it gets very cold at night so make sure you get a free hot water bottle from reception. Wi-Fi lasts for 3 hours so make sure you log out. On some nights it would get very loud at night so maybe bring ear plugs too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.3

The Attic is in a great location in central Auckland. The rooms themselves seem like they could have been a little more finished, but it had a great kitchen area. A heater for the room in winter would be a nice add.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Great news to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. We are so lucky to have such a central location here which is ideal for guests wanting to explore and get around. We like to keep the room minimalist as the common areas are a lot more fun. We do offer blankets and hot water bottles to stay warm during our cold winter. We do hope that you come back if your ever back here :) The Attic team :)

5th Jul 2016
5.4

Cold in the winter. No internet and only get one free coupon when you arrive, no matter how many days you have booked. No breakfast. Overall expensive for what it is. Would not go back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

The absolute best hostel we have stayed in during our time in New Zealand. Steph really knew her stuff and helped to sort our NZ tour out, and Luke is THEEE man. Super staff and the atmosphere is great. Right in the middle of the city to so really easy to get to everything to. Loved it so much we decided to go back to see everyone for an evening. Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that we were, in your eyes, the best hostel in New Zealand. The staff here are absolutely brilliant at helping people out, Helping book tours, or even just having a couple beers with you. The location is ideal for guests wanting to explore and prepare for their on going travels. We hope that you spread the word and if your ever back then to come chill with us again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.3

The hostel is really nice and clean. Even you do not expect, if you are entering. The staff was also really friendly and helped you out with everything. Just the door was not ever locked and lockers are only available on the floor. So this is the only disappointed thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. So glad that you enjoyed you stay with us. We do keep the hostel by doing daily checks on the rooms and hourly checks to ensure cleanliness throughout the day. Glad you found the staff helpful as we have a travel desk here to help everyone with their travel plans. Also staff behind reception that have explored Auckland themselves to give you the best tips. We try to get people to lock doors but that is just up to the other guys in the room. We hope that you stay with again another time :) The Attic team :)

26th Jun 2016
4.3

All of the beds are old. I slept on multiple mattresses over the course of 3 days because you can feel the springs punching through. There are no lockers so your things are not safe. They also do not have heat and the windows cannot be closed - you will FREEZE if you stay here in the winter. The only plus is the convenient location, but then again you might as well sleep on the street downtown and save some money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Than ks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you didn't have the same experience that the majority have during their stay with us at The Attic. We do encourage people to let us know if there is any problems throughout your stay. We did replace the mattress and upgrade you. There is lockers in corridor 11 that you would have been shown on the tour that we give everyone on arrival. We are having a cold winter but we do have hot water bottles and blankets for a small deposit to use as we are in these conditions. The location is perfect for people wanting to explore and see Auckland and everything it has to offer. I would never advise anyone to sleep on the street as it would be highly uncomfortable and cold, also not very social or safe. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.