Hostelworld.com

The Attic Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,040 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
The Attic Backpackers Located at 15-31 Wellesley Street, , Auckland.
The Attic Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Auckland City 1010 15-31 Wellesley Street
87% 1040
-36.8502989 174.7631907
The Attic Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
4.3

All of the beds are old. I slept on multiple mattresses over the course of 3 days because you can feel the springs punching through. There are no lockers so your things are not safe. They also do not have heat and the windows cannot be closed - you will FREEZE if you stay here in the winter. The only plus is the convenient location, but then again you might as well sleep on the street downtown and save some money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

Met some wonderful people, female only room was private and convenient, staff was super nice and friendly. Kitchen facilities were great and offered a perfect community space. Plus the location is perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you loved your stay with us here at The Attic. The female dorms work really well for girls that dont want to be around smelly boys ;) The staff here genuinely love their job and do everything they can to get the guest to enjoy their stay here. The location is ideal for guests wanting to explore the city or be near the place for their on going travel. We hope that you come back to The Attic if your ever back in Auckland :) The Attic team :) The Attic team :)

23rd Jun 2016
3.4

Disappointing and not worth the extra money. I picked the hostel because I thought paying a bit more would equal a really nice hostel - not really the case. It's ok, very basic compared to my experience at other hostels. The showers and kitchen are ok but again basic and nothing special. Factor in the additional cost of having to pay for wifi - $5 a day after the free 3hrs that you get on arrival for the 1st day. In future I'd pay less and get the same (or more) at another cheaper hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are sad that you didn't have the same experience as most people have in our hostel. We take great care in insuring that everyone gets an amazing time within their stay at The Attic. The WiFi you have to pay for in most hostels in Auckland. As you can see in most reviews that everyone really enjoys staying here so sorry you didn't have the same experience! We hope that you change your mind and stay here again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

Best Hostel in Auckland. Great location to Auckland City Centre. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable also very warm considering there's no heater and it's winter. The staff are welcoming and really make the effort to assist you with anything you need. Great at informing you about regional tours, activities, must see attractions and general information of New Zealand. The atmosphere is friendly and social. I have stayed at many hostels in Auckland and attic is far by the best. Stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We super stoked to hear you think we are the Best hostel in Auckland. We take great pride in insuring great comfort and cleanliness throughout the hostel. The staff here are brilliant and are fully trained on advising the best things to do during your time in NZ and help you book it and even sometimes getting backpacker discounts. We hope that you come back again if your every back in Auckland :) The Attic team :) The Attic team :

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

Besides friendly & helpful team that almost everyone will write about, I love the spatial design which is well thought through, good spatial flow means comfort for user. The generous toilet & shower space is amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Love that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. The staff here are amazing and do a brilliant job in making everyone feel welcome and helping with whatever is needed. We do take great pride in the hostel and the facilities throughout the hostel. The bathrooms are what every traveler wants as it has all the space, Heat, and facilities that you would need. We hope you chose us if your ever back in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.6

Awesome location! Great staff. Good stay in Auckland. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are super stoked that you had a wicked time here. We have an awesome team that strive on customer service as we think it's key for guests enjoying there stay. We hope that you choose to stay with us when your next in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.9

I liked the atmosphere and variety of facilities on offer at the Attick Backpackers. It was low key, very safe and secure. The staff are attentive and very approachable. The staff were very informative and cheerful. I would say that this contributed to the overall atmosphere and friendliness of everyone including the clientele. The facilities offered some great services such as wifi and computer access as well as many self service options like the laundry, pantry, kitchen lounge and varandah.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Glad you enjoyed your time here at The Attic. We are very lucky to have the staff we have as they are always happy and genuinely love their jobs. The facilities are everything that a guest would need from a hot shower to a cigarette on the outside deck area. We do hope you come back if your ever in Auckland :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Staff were great. Good place to meet people if travelling solo. Comfy and clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you had an awesome stay here at The Attic. We a super glad that you thought the staff were great as we have a very close team that are always wanting to help guests and just help them have a good time here. We do take great pride in keeping our hostel clean by doing daily cleaning in rooms and hourly checks throughout the hostel. We hope you come back again another time :) The Attic team :)

2nd Jun 2016
8.3

Knowledgeable staff, large space, nice kitchen and outside area. Need to pay for WiFi after 3 hours of use and no breakfast which was a bit of a bummer given the price. Great location and I love old style lifts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Attic. Our staff genuinely love their jobs and take huge pride in ensuring everyone has a great time here and get all the information they need. You will find most places in the CBD will not offer breakfast and free WiFi. If you ever back in Auckland would love to have you stay again :) The Attic team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
7.7

I enjoyed my stay at the attic backpackers, it was clean with good facilities and the staff were really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. So glad that you enjoyed you stay with us. We do keep the hostel by doing daily checks on the rooms and hourly checks to ensure cleanliness throughout the day. Glad you found the staff helpful as we have a travel desk here to help everyone with their travel plans. Also staff behind reception that have explored Auckland themselves to give you the best tips. We hope that you stay with again another time :) The Attic team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.