X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
327 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

There were a couple of exceptional staff members, but for the most part the reception staff weren't overly friendly or helpful. Overall the hostel had all amenities and it was clean and well kept, and it's easy to walk or catch a bus to all sites in the Auckland area from where the hostel is located.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased that you found our hostel to be well located and clean. Sorry to hear that you found some of our staff less helpful than others, we do pride ourselves on having friendly,helpful and informative staff, sorry this was not reflected during your stay. We do hope that you will consider a stay with us again next time you are in Auckland. Cheers-The Attic Team

66%

My only complaint would be that whilst staying at the hostel for just over a week not once was our room cleaned or bin emptied but I think this was due to being in a private room rather than a shared dorm...otherwise I'd recommend the hostel if you fancied somewhere close to the city centre and nice to stay whilst in Auckland.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I have emailed you regarding your comments about your room not being refreshed. We do have procedures in place to ensure that this does not happen and on this occasion it seems to have been overlooked, for that we are sorry. We do hope that this did not affect your stay too much. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location. Do visit us again next time you are in Auckland, Cheers-The Attic Team

89%

The place was very clean. Excellent staff. A bit noisey due to traffic at night but I enjoyed my overall stay at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased that you found the hostel to be clean and liked our helpful and friendly staff! Generally, we do not suffer to much with noise, though being in the city centre it can happen from time to time. We do hope that you will visit us again next time you are in Auckland. Thanks-The Attic Team.

77%

Staff did not really know much about the city, not much help with planning day trips or activities. atmosphere was pretty average, there is a good kitchen and balcony area, but no bar. toliets were pretty ordinary but they did the job. location is great and made walking around town a breeze. would probably not stay again in the future.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and awesome kitchen and balcony. We are not a party type hostel, so a bar is out of the question here I'm afraid, if you want to stay at a hostel with a bar, you'd be more suited to Nomads or Base backpackers. We do have a separate travel desk where guests can make activity and travel bookings with no booking fees. Thanks for your feedback, it has been noted. Cheers-The Attic Team

91%

Amazing location! Good sized kitchen with nice areas for eating and relaxing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome feedback! Please do come back and visit us again next time, Cheers-The Attic Team

86%

showers need to be fixed up, some damage to walls, drainage to improve as pools of water appear after showers

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you had this experience and will be looking into this. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are i Auckland. Cheers-The Attic Team

83%

Great location, clean, very helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your awesome feedback! We are pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and liked our great location and clean facilities. We hope you will visit us again next time. Cheers-The Attic Team

94%

This is the best hostel I ve ever seen. Brand new, very clean, fashion designed, Well managed. Some minutes free wi fi every day. Plenty lounge room indoor and outdoor.. Beautiful large kitchen. A place to stay. 5 minutes walking distance from the tower.. 10,to the transport center and ferry building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our cleanliness, free wifi, kitchen and outdoor area. We are also lucky to be located in a great part of Auckland. Please do come back and see us next time, Cheers- The Attic Team

97%

Fantastic hostel, great kitchen facilities, clean, comfortable and had a great atmosphere. Definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It's great to hear the you enjoyed your stay with is and found the hostel to be clean and comfortable. Please visit us again should you return to Auckland, Cheers-The Attic

77%

Nice place, nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our staff :-) Please visit us again next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

100%

Great location. Good and clean kitchen. Loved the rooftop garden/patio.


94%

They actually have non-bunk beds! Ive been traveling for a year and can't remember the last time i slept in something besides a bunk bed. Considering the medium size of the hostel, they have A LOT of common area space. Quite nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the benefit of having a single bed in one of our dorms. Some of our dorms do have a mixture of bunks and single beds :-) We are glad that you found the hostel to be comfortable and spacious! Please do visit us again next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-the Attic Team

97%

Great location at the top of Queen Street, close to everything downtown. Nice big private room with big restrooms nearby. Good size kitchen with nice outdoor area on top floor of the building with good internet connections too. Wish we would have stayed here for all our other visits to Auckland. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are pleased you really enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We are lucky to be in a fantastic location, accessible to everything in Auckland city! It's great you enjoyed our large kitchen and awesome outdoor deck. We wish you would have stayed with us on your other visits too ;-) Make sure you come and see us again next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

89%

An awesome hostel! Clean, well designed, great location. Good for a quiet nights sleep also! Nice design with the double doors (less noise). Very secure with the lock codes, cool old school lift! Lovely outdoor rooftop area (great for summer!). Overall a great hostel! Thanks for having me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your awesome review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our cleanliness, fantastic location and security. We do love our quirky lift and cool outdoor deck too ;-) We really do hope that you will stay with us again next time you come to Auckland! Safe Travels- The Attic Team

80%

The problem with location in the heart of the city is noise throughout the night, even during weekdays. Also, the bunks are very sqeaky, so it is hard to get a good night's sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Being on the top floor of a city building, we generally are lucky not to experience too much noise, though being so central, sometimes noise can be expected. In regards to your bunk bed being squeaky, this is not a usual thing and we apologise for the disturb this may have had to your stay. We will make sure to tighten up all the bunks in that room so this isn't an issue. Hope to see you next time! Cheers-The Attic Team

83%

Just a bit loud, definitelybring earplugs.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Generally our hostel is rather quiet compared to other city hostels, though being so well located, in the heart of the city, minimal noise is expected at times. We do sell earplugs at reception for light sleepers, just in case ;-) Thanks agin, hope to see you next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

80%

There are some smell in the room. Could open the window will be better.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that, we hope this didn't affect your stay too much. With dorm rooms, from time to time, others in the room can create various odors. This is something we can not really control, unfortunately. We do hope we will stay with us again next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

71%

hostel could offer sale prices for people staying 3 nights and more.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Year round we do not offer sale prices for longer stays, as we don't need to. We are the top rated hostel in Auckland, so we do not feel that we need to discount our already reasonable prices. As it is peak season in Auckland/NZ, you will find that you won't find any hostels offering discounts for longer stay I'm afraid. We hope you will still consider a stay with us again next time you are in Auckland. Many Thanks-The Attic Team

91%

Good hostel with clean and new facilities. Centrally located

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed our central location and clean and new facilities! We do hope you will come back and see us again next time! Cheers-The Attic Team

89%

Very clean and centrally located hostel with a good vibe. A tad on the expensive side compared to other hostels in Auckland but the beds are really comfy and warm. Really good pillows and blankets here compared to any hostel i've been to. The only thing that sucked as not being able to use the kitchen before 6am or after 11pm which is pretty normal I guess, but just a minor irritation. The wifi situation isn't that great, but where in NZ isn't?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our great location as well as the cleanliness and vibe of the hostel. A prices are in line with other Auckland city hostels, though we feel that we offer much more value for money. We do close the kitchen at night as a cleaning company comes in and gives the kitchen a deep clean, we hope this didn;t affect your stay too much. We do offer a 3 hour free wifi voucher on checkin, which we feel is a great bonus. Do come and see us next time!

(94 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback