X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
288 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The facilities were not thought through, no lamps / outlets at the bunk beds, wifi not included etc. The staff wasn't to helpful / friendly, more just did exactly what was needed rather than providing excellent service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt our hostel was not thought through. The Attic is only 1 year old and we like to think we did a good job in creating clean, spacious, bright and comfortable rooms and spaces. We are sorry you did not get a good impression of our staff. We do try to be as helpful, friendly and informative as possible and this didn't come across to you. We do hope that you will give us another chance next time. Cheers-The Attic

86%

Very good hostel with awesome staff...would allways recomend it to other backpackers.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great staff! Cheers for recommending us! Please come and see us again next time! :-) Thanks-The Attic Team

86%

Overall the hostel was really nice. I stayed there two different nights; the first night the man who checked me in was really nice, helpful, and friendly, the second time when I checked in the woman was rude, condescending, and unfriendly. I would say it is a hit or miss for the staff who attend to the people who check in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are pleased that overall you really enjoyed our hostel. I am however unhappy to hear that you had an unpleasent experience with our staff on your second stay. We were having our 1st birthday celebration on that evening (as I am sure you remember when you arrived :-) which meant some of our staff were a little flustered from all of the set up. This is no excuse of course, though I hope it is some explanation. We hope to see you again! Cheers-The Attic Team

89%

This hostel is modern, clean, with big dorm rooms and bathrooms. It has a huge kitchen and outdoor area, and separated hangout areas. The staff is helpful for booking things like cars, buses and ferry tickets between islands. The location is great, easy to walk around Auckland. They also let me use the facilities and store my bag when I arrived hours before check in. The only negative was the vibe, but that's probably unlikely timing. The other people just weren't very friendly.


83%

The Attic Hostel is conveniently located in downtown Auckland, close to Queen Street. There is a really nice rooftop patio. Rooms are alright, but there is not a lot of room for luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you liked our awesome location and cool rooftop area! As we keep our lockers in a separate locker room, we feel our dorms/rooms are actually rather spacious. We do hope you will come back next time you are in Auckland! Thanks-The Attic Team

80%

The hostel has all you need, is rather clean and location is excellent. It is lacking a bit of atmosphere in my opinion but I would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and awesome location of our hostel. Sorry to hear you thought the hostel lacked atmosphere, we are always looking for ways to improve and will ensure to take this into consideration. :-) Hope to see you again! Thanks-The Attic Team

83%

Evrrything was really good. The bed was amazing and the staff were really helpful considering I had to check out before the front desk opened. The only thing that I can criticize, and this is just what very small thing is that it took a couple of minutes for the shower to earn up in the morning.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our comfy beds and helpful staff! Due to the size of the building we are situated in, it can take a few short minutes for the shower to warm up nicely, but rest assure it always will! :-) Hope to see you again next time! Cheers-The Attic Team

97%

The moment I arrived, I felt at home. The staff was extremely helpful. I can't stand when I go to a hostel and ask for recommendations and they hand me brochures. It was the exact opposite at Attic Backpackers. They even offered to show me a map of New Zealand and tell me places to go throughout the country! The space is very clean and the it is a really easy place to meet people, which was top priority for me as I was traveling alone. I would definitely go back if I stay in Auckland.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback! We are so pleased to hear that we made a lasting impression on you! Customer service is our main priority and it's always lovely to hear that our staff have shined through! Look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland and enjoy your travels! Thanks-The Attic Team

97%

This hostel is set up more like a college dorm than any other place I've been too, but it works very well. There are lots of showers and toilets, so waiting is at a minimum. The kitchen is huge and there are both indoor and outdoor eating areas. Rental towels available for cheap, as well as a few other necessities at the front desk. Super close to a lot of neat bars, restaurants, and shops, as well as a short walk to the pier. And he staff were excellent! I'd stay here again any day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback! We are glad you liked the setup of our hostel as well as our great staff and location! We hope that you will visit us again should you come back to Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

83%

Great place to crash the first night in town. I was really impressed by the staff.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear that our staff impressed you and you enjoyed your stay! Please do come and visit us again! Cheers- The Attic Team

100%

Thanks for the extended stay :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come and see us again! Thanks-The Attic Team

86%

If you do not need to park a car the place is good and friendly and clean. Staff is really nice.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Unfortunately as we are in the centre of the city, parking is a premium! We do hope to see you again next time! Thanks-The Attic Team

100%

Loved my stay I extended it for 2 more nights :D One problem I can only pick at is the showers..... I slipped. A bath mat might be handy, unfort I didn't have a spare towel to put on wet floor. Free to use hairdryers and straighteners, now you cannot get that anyway else :-). And free 3hr WiFi = Epic! I am deffo making another last stay next year. I be back :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your valued review! We are so sorry you slipped in the shower. We are currently looking into flooring options that are none slip so that this doesn't happen again, thanks for your feedback on this, we appreciate it! We are glad you made use of our free straighteners and hairdryer and made use of your free wifi! :-D See you again soon! Cheers-The Attic Team

66%

Pretty standard, but apparently better than most in Auckland. Didn't have "luxuries" like shampoo dispensers, bedside lamps, etc. but fairly clean, comfy and accomodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are the top rated hostel in Auckland, so it's fair to say we are at the best ;-) As a budget backpackers, we do feel that we offer good value for money providing free lockers for guests use and offering all guests 3 hours free wifi on check in (which many hostels do not). That being said, we are pleased to hear that you found the hostel to be clean, comfy and accommodating as this is paramount to us. Hope to see you next time! Thanks-The Attic Team

83%

Nice, clean Hostel in the middle of town. Especially appreciat the fact, that you can store any bags here for free for a while, that makes traveling a lot easier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valued feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our awesome central location and use of our free bag storage for guests! Please do come back and visit us again next time. Cheers- The Attic Team

89%

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great location for the money, in the centre and close to the airport bus route.


83%

We made a 2 separate bookings for a mixed dorm room for 8 people. After doing the booking we sent them a email asking if we can all stay in the same room and they tripled saying it was fine. When we checked in they moved us all into separate dorms and said that don't do group bookings. I asked several times for a toilet paper to be replaced in the ladies bathroom. Great location, hang out areas were really nice. Some staff were ok.


91%

By far the best hostel (of 4)I've stayed in in the auckland CBD in terms of cleanliness, facilities, noise and location. The place is well thought out, has friendly helpful staff, and although is so central, was relatively quiet at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are stoked to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We are glad you liked our cleanliness, facilities, staff and location. We are lucky to be in such a great location and also benefit quiet evenings! We hope you will visit us next time! Thanks Holly

89%

I loved the atmosphere here and made a lot of friends - meeting people in the Attic was one of the highlights of being in Auckland.


97%

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand! It's very chilled so if you're looking for a party atmosphere this isn't the right hostel for you but if you want to relax and keep things low key then this is a great choice.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(80 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback