X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
266 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great place. Only comment is that most people there are long-term. Thus, a different mind set. Great place though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for spending the time to leave us a review, we are pleased you enjoyed yourself! We do have a few people in long term at the moment, mainly due to winter! They are a great bunch and add to the atmosphere! Come and see us again when you are back in Auckland! Cheers The Attic Team

89%

Best location ever and really clean facilities. The staff was helpful, but not especially friendly... so not a complaint from my side really. Would not consider other hostels if I needed to stay in Auckland again!


91%

I love the Attic! It's in the centre of Auckland only minutes away from all the important spots. The staff was is lovely and always very helpful. The facilities are in good shape and everything was clean and tidy. Great stuff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's awesome to hear that you loved our hostel! We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and liked the facilities! We hope to see you at The Attic again! Cheers- The Attic Team

100%

Little cold in July but could ask for extra blankets. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great facilities. Nice atmosphere. Modern warm decorating. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our facilities and atmosphere! We hope to see you again next time! Cheers- The Attic Team

86%

Very helpful staff. No heaters in room so it is cold in the winter.


89%

Probably the best hostel in Auckland. A lot of long stayers at the hostel who take over the kitchen but they're nice if you make an effort with them


100%

The hostel is in a convenient location just off Queen Street, so close to Auckland's main attractions. We stayed in a twin room which was pretty simple but had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely come here again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Attic and found our location to be convenient and the staff to be friendly. Please do come back and visit us again next time you are in Auckland! Cheers-The Attic Team

94%

Excellent But little cold in winter


94%

My sister and I stayed in three different hostels within a week. The Attic Backpackers was by far our favorite. The staff members were so incredibly helpful! The room was clean and the bathroom had tons of space. We were very pleased with our stay at The Attic :) Oh and Roll Tide!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, very nice central location and communal kitchen is great, Perhaps arrange more hostel activities? Would I stay here again? Yes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great locality and well equipped kitchen. We do actively promote various activities and events throughout the week and host our own events for guests to partake. During your stay would've been when we were promoting the weekly bar crawl which happens every Thursday ;-) Hopefully you will join us next time! :-) Cheers The Attic Team

83%

Very helpful and friendly staff, great central location. Probably one of the best hostels in Auckland currently.


80%

Slightly confusing to find at first but nice and clean hostel, on top the floor of the building which is a bit unusual for a hostel. Good for staying a few nights with easy access to everything and transportation across Auckland. Was very cold in the rooms but find the same across nz.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your valued feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hostel to be clean and enjoyed our convenient location. We find being on the top floor to be advantageous as we don't get too much city noise as other buildings with multiple floors might :-) Unfortunately NZ does not have central heating (hopefully one day ;-) ) however we do offer guests extra blankets and have panel heaters in the communal areas. Hope to see you again next time, safe travels! The Attic Team

83%

free wifi please, the library manages it, also needs to be warmer in winter!!!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Room had a broken window which couldnt be closed and it got pretty cold during the night but the blankets were warm enough to make it ok


91%

Nice hostel, excellent facilities. Rooms can be a little cold, but that seems to be a common issue everywhere in New Zealand.


94%

Greta hostel! Staff is really knowlegdeable and are nice als welll! Loved the place, facilities were good and clean.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for leaving us your fantastic feedback! It's great to hear that you found the facilities to be clean and the staff to be knowledgeable! Please visit us again should you return to Auckland. Safe travels. Cheers-The Attic Team

77%

Good location for both security


91%

Very pleasant stay -staff are friendly and helpful and it is easy to meet people due to the size of the hostel. Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We're pleased you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff. Hope to see you again next time, Cheers-The Attic Team

94%

The Attic is a fantastic hostel, right in the center of downtown. I stayed here when I first arrived in the country on a working holiday visa. The staff were very helpful ad knowledgeable about getting an IRD number, ID card, bank account, etc. I definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, it was so nice to read! We are pleased that you enjoyed our awesome location, helpful staff and aid in getting everything set up, we were more than happy to help! Hopefully we will see you again soon, don't hesitate to pop in and say hello next time you are passing! Cheers- The Attic Team

100%

Probably the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at! Super clean, friendly staff, HUGE kitchen, awesome location close to Queen St, Ferry Building, etc. Elliot Stables is in the same building and a fun place to grab a bite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your amazing feedback! We are so pleased that we are "the nicest hostel you've stayed at!" You're right, the Elliot Stables is a great place to grab some yummy food! We hope you'll visit us again should you return to Auckland! Safe Travels- The Attic Team

(77 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback