X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
571 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

A nice clean hostel. Room was good but no lockers or anywhere to lock away valuables. Check in by the staff wasn't the best, information provided was limited. Though location and general facilities of the hostel was good. In general, not the friendliest I have stayed in but a good place to recover from jet lag.


80%

The location worked really well for me, close to the sky city bus terminal and easy to walk round central auckland. The dormitory had plenty of light and space, with best of all, windows that open. As the hostel is all on one floor the lounge and kitchen are just down the corridor. Some reviews mentioned the lift - it is antique and a bit of a character experience - but all good. The stairs are quite walkable without luggage too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!! We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hostel! We along with all our guests love the character and unique feel to The Attic and we always like to ensure our guests are getting the most out of their stay in Auckland. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

74%

Make sure to confirm dates with them and confirm upcoming stays. There was a mixup in my booking leading me to believe that I didn't have a night booked . . when I actually did. I ended up getting a place somewhere else and still having to pay for my booking at The Attic.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey David, thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry that this error has occurred. We send confirmation of bookings to people when they have made them, however, as an improvement and response to your review, we will ensure that we are giving the relevant training to our staff. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. Take care, The Attic Team.

100%

Especially the staff was incredible friendly and helpful!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad our staff made your stay a memorable one! We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

86%

Stayed 1 night in a twin room. Very clean and great staff although walls very thin and could hear people talking in room next room and arguing in the night 😟

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostels facilities, and we are sorry to hear that you could here people arguing in the night. We operate a quiet time between the hours of 11pm and 7am, We also have an emergency phone that guests can ring if there are problems during the night, and a staff member will come out and assist them. We will do more to make sure people realize there is a number they can call us on after hours :) Enjoy NZ! The Attic Team :)

100%

Best hostel I've stayed in in Auckland, completely smashes Base and the YMCA out of the water! Amazing staff, facilities and people, even though I only stayed for a couple of nights. Great atmosphere, would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! We love to hear our guests are enjoying their time with us! We hope to see you at The Attic again! Safe Travels, The Attic Team

71%

Not as good as I thought after having read the hostel World reviews. The sheet on my bed was really dirty and the shower was cold. That was unfortunate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We always welcome feedback so we can improve our facilities and service. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team

94%

great hostel in town centre, easy to get to and from transport to more beautiful places than Auckland :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad to hear our you enjoyed our hostel and found it to be in a great location for exploring Auckland. We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

94%

great stay in auckland and friendly staff (espacially james). clean rooms and comfy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and found our staff to be freindly and helpful. We hope to see you again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

86%

Really nice hostel. In de middle of the centrum:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and its central location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

74%

Cool place to stay for a couple of days. Very clean hostel, spacious kitchen. It would have been nice to have a personal locker in the room but locker room was better than nothing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our facilities to be clean and spacious. We like to keep all the rooms as spacious as possible, which is why we have a seperate room for lockers with 24hour access. We hope to see you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

66%

No lockers to keep your stuff safe. It would be great if they could something about it. Rooms very hot and poor ventilation (rooms smell like the cave of a tiger) that could be prevented with better ventilation. Lift very old and non reliable (one fellow traveller was trapped for over an hour) and i had struggled with the lift 3 times of the 4 times i used it (i walked another 4 times for safety reasons). Location is great. Big kitchen and communal toilets/showers. Staff very very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our kitchen and common areas and found our staff to be helpful. We are sorry to hear you had a difficult time with our lift, we have now had this issue fixed. Lockers are available for use in the hostel and are also free to use with your own lock. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

86%

An issue I had with the hostel was that the code lock on the outside door to the hostel wasn't working when I was trying to the enter the building at ~11:00PM. I was waiting outside for at least 30 minutes before someone opened from the door inside the building allowing me in. I mentioned this issue to the one of the hostel staff the following day and I was met with a response of 'oh yeah that happens sometimes' implying that they aren't too bothered about the issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for leaving a review. We are very sorry you had a difficult time with our door lock upon arrival and found our staff members to be unconcerned about the issue, however we have made sure this incident was reported to the manager and the lock is now being changed to prevent future issues. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

20%

Poor service terrible hostel plenty other decent ones go to them..... Its just all bad and poor quality and a deathtrap elevator to even get there to finish off the poor experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you thought our hostel and service were poor. If you had brought this to our attention while you were here, we could have dealt with any issues you had. If you would like to email us with your concerns, we will be happy to address them. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team.

94%

Good hostel, great location and staff. Room was a tad hot but not bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

80%

Nothing wrong with this hostel. Wouldn't stay here long term though.


60%

I really didnt like that they close the kitchen and terrace for eating and smoking at 22.00. you had to go out from the 5th floor out to the street for smoking. Also if you wanted a cup of coffee you would have to go out to get it. The very least i liked about it was the cancellation 48h, coz it didnt work. I cancelled my 6 days stay on day two and was given a 2 days free voucher which i would never use or need instead of money back. So i was told by the reception that i could give it to someone


100%

Fantastic. Probably the best hostel I have been to in NZ - and I've been to a lot! Very friendly staff, good atmosphere and perfect location. Quiet too, not a crazy party hostel which is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for an awesome review! We always like to hear our guests found our hostel to be a great place to stay!! Hope to see you again should you return to Auckland! Safe Travels, The Attic Team

91%

A fantastic hostel in central Auckland. Conveniently located for the airport bus and Kiwi Experience bus stops. The hostel is clean, with good facilities. Hair dryer and straighteners in the bathroom are an added bonus too. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our facilities to exceed expectations. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service so we always love to hear our staff are helpful and friendly. We hope to see you again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team

86%

I just spent one night. Was okay about security, staff and cleanliness. Very well located. Good bed and shower. It worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! We hope to see you again on your travels. Take Care, The Attic Team

(102 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback