X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
287 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

My sister and I stayed in three different hostels within a week. The Attic Backpackers was by far our favorite. The staff members were so incredibly helpful! The room was clean and the bathroom had tons of space. We were very pleased with our stay at The Attic :) Oh and Roll Tide!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, very nice central location and communal kitchen is great, Perhaps arrange more hostel activities? Would I stay here again? Yes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great locality and well equipped kitchen. We do actively promote various activities and events throughout the week and host our own events for guests to partake. During your stay would've been when we were promoting the weekly bar crawl which happens every Thursday ;-) Hopefully you will join us next time! :-) Cheers The Attic Team

83%

Very helpful and friendly staff, great central location. Probably one of the best hostels in Auckland currently.


80%

Slightly confusing to find at first but nice and clean hostel, on top the floor of the building which is a bit unusual for a hostel. Good for staying a few nights with easy access to everything and transportation across Auckland. Was very cold in the rooms but find the same across nz.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your valued feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hostel to be clean and enjoyed our convenient location. We find being on the top floor to be advantageous as we don't get too much city noise as other buildings with multiple floors might :-) Unfortunately NZ does not have central heating (hopefully one day ;-) ) however we do offer guests extra blankets and have panel heaters in the communal areas. Hope to see you again next time, safe travels! The Attic Team

83%

free wifi please, the library manages it, also needs to be warmer in winter!!!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Room had a broken window which couldnt be closed and it got pretty cold during the night but the blankets were warm enough to make it ok


91%

Nice hostel, excellent facilities. Rooms can be a little cold, but that seems to be a common issue everywhere in New Zealand.


94%

Greta hostel! Staff is really knowlegdeable and are nice als welll! Loved the place, facilities were good and clean.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for leaving us your fantastic feedback! It's great to hear that you found the facilities to be clean and the staff to be knowledgeable! Please visit us again should you return to Auckland. Safe travels. Cheers-The Attic Team

77%

Good location for both security


91%

Very pleasant stay -staff are friendly and helpful and it is easy to meet people due to the size of the hostel. Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We're pleased you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff. Hope to see you again next time, Cheers-The Attic Team

94%

The Attic is a fantastic hostel, right in the center of downtown. I stayed here when I first arrived in the country on a working holiday visa. The staff were very helpful ad knowledgeable about getting an IRD number, ID card, bank account, etc. I definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, it was so nice to read! We are pleased that you enjoyed our awesome location, helpful staff and aid in getting everything set up, we were more than happy to help! Hopefully we will see you again soon, don't hesitate to pop in and say hello next time you are passing! Cheers- The Attic Team

100%

Probably the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at! Super clean, friendly staff, HUGE kitchen, awesome location close to Queen St, Ferry Building, etc. Elliot Stables is in the same building and a fun place to grab a bite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your amazing feedback! We are so pleased that we are "the nicest hostel you've stayed at!" You're right, the Elliot Stables is a great place to grab some yummy food! We hope you'll visit us again should you return to Auckland! Safe Travels- The Attic Team

91%

great hostel in a centrel location, lots of people to talk to and have a drink with in the kitchen and outdoor area. you did have to pay a $20 deposit for extra blankets, i understand why they do it, but i had no cash only just arrived in the country, had to pay by card and had to incur bank charges..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ciara, Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, social atmosphere and kitchen and outdoor deck :-) In regards to the blankets, we do have to cover ourselves with the deposit unfortunately, though we don't charge any fee for rental, just a refundable deposit :-) We hope you will come back and visit us again next time! Cheers, The Attic Team

100%

Couldn't fault it. Had everything you would need and was super clean with a great atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome feedback, please do come back again! Cheers-The Attic Team

74%

A descent hostel in a perfect location, right in the city centre. A bit "hidden away", truly up in the attic, reached by riding an old elevator, this place has all the facilities you need, but lacks a bit in character and coziness.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of The Attic, though are sorry to hear you felt it lacks character and coziness. The Attic is a place that we created, we put a lot of ourselves into making what we deem to be a fantastic hostel, bursting with character, right down to the quirky old lift ;-) We have several "chill out" areas in the hostel which make it quite cozy :-) Hopefully you will consider us again next time! Safe Travels-The Attic Team

83%

I stayed 4 nights in a 10 persons dorm, and I like it. Good things: It is very well situated in Auckland, it´s quite spacious (Rooms, kitchen, bathrooms...etc). Beds are quite good. I found good ambience (and I have been lucky that anyone staying at my room snored ;) ). I think it´s good value for money. The only thing, the tourist information I got didn´t match with the reality sometimes...But definitely I would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the review, We do try hard with customer service so find it unusual with the tours information. Saying that we are just in the process of changing the way our travel desk works, so please check us out next time your in Auckland to see the improvements :) Cheers The Attic Team

91%

I only stayed here one night, but I will recommend to a lot of people. Staff were very friendly from the get go with showing myself and another gent through the hostel...very friendly staff, the whole atmosphere was fantastic.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our awesome team here! We do hope that you will come and visit us again, Cheers The Attic Team

97%

Much bigger rooms than I expected, lots of extra space! I never had an issue not getting immediate access to toilets, showers, etc. They even had a blow dryer and straightener! Very open and friendly environment, great location in town in walking distance to great restaurants and bars! Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and made use of the hairdryer and straighteners ;-) Hope to see you again in the not too distant future! Cheers, The Attic Team

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(78 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback