Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


672 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


all good expect kitchen really messy overflowing rubbish & chaos. Toilets & shower good, rooms good, but need to actually provide extra blankets in room, was cold & when you go to bed after 11.00pm & need a blanket you can't go downstairs & ask for an extra one. PROVDE IT IN THE ROOM IN WINTER. TV lounge nothing to get excited about, flattened bean bags & no nice couches. Staff okay but when I didn't have my glasses & couldn't read the code to get in , they didn't need to make me feel stupid

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the review.I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us. The kitchen should be regularly checked to prevent situations like this from arising; I will talk to my staff who were on duty that day about it. The reason we ask for a deposit for the blankets is because we have had a few situations where they have been stolen; so we now have to be really cautious. I am sorry that you felt the staff belittled you, I shall talk to them all. Take Care. The Attic Team.


I may be biased because I have stayed in a lot of hostels in New Zealand and around the world that were great. This was just good, nothing special. Great location and mellow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review! We are happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us here at The Attic! We are a really chilled out hostel with a really relaxed vibe :) We have really clean facilities; which are regularly checked to insure all is up to standards :) Thanks again for leaving us a review! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Take care! The Attic Team :)


Really liked it here! Very clean, lovely comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen!! Thought it was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are super happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us! :) We regularly carry out checks of our facilities, which means they are really clean :) Our beds are said to be some of the comfiest people have slept in! :) We hope to welcome you here at The Attic again soon! Happy Travels! The Attic Team :)


Please, just free wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review! Upon check in, all guests receive a free 3 hour log in/log off WiFi. We do charge for WiFi after that expires, but our prices are low in comparison to other hostel throughout New Zealand. Enjoy the rest of your travels! The Attic Team :)


Probably the best hostel in downtown Auckland. Only real complaint is the staff can be super chummy with long term guests, making short term guests feel a bit out of place. Also, the cleaning staff starts cleaning dorm rooms before check out time, annoyingly opening window curtains when guests are still sleeping. It appears they've gotten new cleaners so this is hopefully no longer an issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a lovely review! :) We are super happy that you believe we are the best downtown hostel in Auckland. We are sorry that you feel the staff here are a little closed with our long term guests; we will have a discussion about this and make sure that everyone is aware of this. We are sorry that the staff made you feel this way :( We have indeed got new cleaners, and we only let them access the room once everyone has checked out :) Happy travels! The Attic Team :)


Stayed for just over 3 months Good points: Good kitchen and bathroom facilities Dorm rooms clean Good location and very secure (you need 2 codes to get in at night) Very friendly staff that go the extra mile. Shout out to James! Bad points: Noisy housekeeping staff that will stand on your bed to change the bunk above you and also remove your homemade curtain. Will hoover next to you if you're sleeping. Kitchen and laundry room closes too early. Wifi very slow. Long termers hog the TV room


Great location in the middle of lots of stuff. Pros: The staff is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. The kitchen is large and clean. The travel desk was really helpful in figuring out what to do in Auckland and other areas of New Zealand. Cons: The rooms can get quite chilly at night during the winter months. If you get too cold, the front desk has thicker blankets (deposit required). Some showers lacked hooks for hanging things, which really isn't that big of a deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here, and that you found our staff to be the friendliest you have every encountered!! What an honor! :) We are really happy to hear that our travel desk agents were able to help you with your New Zealand plans, and that you are having a good time in New Zealand! :) We are currently in the process of getting more hooks for the bathroom :) Thanks for the awesome review! The Attic Team :)


A nice hostel, quite cold though! Beds are comfotable and the kitchen is great. Wifi was pretty poor while we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review! :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are sorry to hear you found the rooms a little on the chilly side and that the WiFi connection was poor when you came to use it. You can hire a blanket for a small deposit at Reception, and also the internet can become really busy during the evening, as people tend to contact home at this time. We are sorry for this! :( Hope to see you back again at The Attic! Happy Travels! The Attic Team :)


We stayed at The Attic Backpackers for three nights. The first night we stayed in a six person dorm and then the next night we had to upgrade to a two person dorm because there was no other rooms available. Our overall experience was great! The location was perfect for traveling and seeing downtown Auckland. The Attic has a great kitchen area and TV room. Very clean hostel. The only drawback is that there are no heaters making it cold in winter & some of the front staff are not overly friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Attic! Our facilities are very clean and spacious, giving you the ultimate comfort possible :) We are sorry that you thought it was cold in the hostel; It's been the coldest winter for 10 years here in Auckland; we do have blankets that guests can hire for a refundable deposit. Take care and enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand! The Attic Team :)


I have literally no bad things to say about this hostel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They helped me and my sister plan our trip in New Zealand even though we had limited time and were on a budget. The facilities are great and very inexpensive. I definitely recommend this place for anyone staying in Auckland, the location is impeccable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for the awesome review you have left us here! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and that you have NOTHING bad to say about us! :D Our staff work hard around the clock to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible! :) Our Travel Desk is great for our guests, allowing you to book heaps of activities and accommodation! :) Our facilities are checked regularly, which means they are super clean :) Thank you again for the review! The Attic Teams :)

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(70 results)

View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback