X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Attic Backpackers Reviews

15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
590 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

An issue I had with the hostel was that the code lock on the outside door to the hostel wasn't working when I was trying to the enter the building at ~11:00PM. I was waiting outside for at least 30 minutes before someone opened from the door inside the building allowing me in. I mentioned this issue to the one of the hostel staff the following day and I was met with a response of 'oh yeah that happens sometimes' implying that they aren't too bothered about the issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for leaving a review. We are very sorry you had a difficult time with our door lock upon arrival and found our staff members to be unconcerned about the issue, however we have made sure this incident was reported to the manager and the lock is now being changed to prevent future issues. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

20%

Poor service terrible hostel plenty other decent ones go to them..... Its just all bad and poor quality and a deathtrap elevator to even get there to finish off the poor experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you thought our hostel and service were poor. If you had brought this to our attention while you were here, we could have dealt with any issues you had. If you would like to email us with your concerns, we will be happy to address them. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team.

94%

Good hostel, great location and staff. Room was a tad hot but not bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

80%

Nothing wrong with this hostel. Wouldn't stay here long term though.


60%

I really didnt like that they close the kitchen and terrace for eating and smoking at 22.00. you had to go out from the 5th floor out to the street for smoking. Also if you wanted a cup of coffee you would have to go out to get it. The very least i liked about it was the cancellation 48h, coz it didnt work. I cancelled my 6 days stay on day two and was given a 2 days free voucher which i would never use or need instead of money back. So i was told by the reception that i could give it to someone


100%

Fantastic. Probably the best hostel I have been to in NZ - and I've been to a lot! Very friendly staff, good atmosphere and perfect location. Quiet too, not a crazy party hostel which is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for an awesome review! We always like to hear our guests found our hostel to be a great place to stay!! Hope to see you again should you return to Auckland! Safe Travels, The Attic Team

91%

A fantastic hostel in central Auckland. Conveniently located for the airport bus and Kiwi Experience bus stops. The hostel is clean, with good facilities. Hair dryer and straighteners in the bathroom are an added bonus too. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our facilities to exceed expectations. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service so we always love to hear our staff are helpful and friendly. We hope to see you again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The Attic Team

86%

I just spent one night. Was okay about security, staff and cleanliness. Very well located. Good bed and shower. It worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! We hope to see you again on your travels. Take Care, The Attic Team

91%

It is a central location which is great. Paid wifi. good kitchen. Nice and relaxed common space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our kitchen and common areas. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

83%

The location is perfect, right in Auckland CBD but the entrance is a bit difficult to find. The kitchen, rooms and bathrooms are clean. They have an outdoor deck where you can enjoy your meals or just relax. Only negative is that there where alot of longtermers.


80%

great hostel very helpful when it comes to travel plans good location


89%

I was only there for a night and flew out the next morning. Good central location. Airport bus is nearby. Decent size room. A bit noisy (from outside) but got quiet around eleven or so.


91%

Great place to stay even if you are not a traditional "backpacker".

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

71%

The hostel is nice and quiet, everything you need is at hand and it's right in the city center. Downside is that the kitchen is locked at night. I had to get up early to get my bus but couldn't get to the fridge to take my groceries. Had to leave all of them behind which cost me a lot of money :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and location. We do apologize that you had to leave your food behind, however we do ensure it is made clear to all guests that our kitchen is closed for cleaning from 11pm-7am and encourage guests to remove their food before 11pm if checking out early. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

77%

The facility itself isn't bad, though they charge for internet access. However, when I left property behind they refused to mail it back to me, even though I said I would pay for the shipping. Clearly, customer service is not their priority here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear you left property behind and you found our staff to be unhelpful with this matter. Customer service is very important to us and we do ensure that we do everything we can to help our guests, however there are things that we are unable to assist with at times. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in future. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

100%

staff very helpful and polite, good value for money and good place in Auckland to be :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought us to be a stand out Auckland Hostel. We pride ourselves on our customer service so we are happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and polite. We look forward to having you stay with us again. The Attic Team.

74%

They close the public outside area by 11 which is pretty annoying as you cannot go anywhere else exepct your room after 11pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review. Unfortunately we cannot keep the outdoor area open 24 hours as we need to be considerate to fellow travelers and the hotel downstairs with the noise levels. However we can definitely recommend things do outside the hostel after these hours if you are wanting to get out and about. We hope you choose to stay with us again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team.

74%

Really well presented hostel with good facilities but it witnessed staff being quite rude on a regular basis, which diminished from my stay. I would return though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and facilities. With regards to our staff, We do apologize if you thought any of our staff were rude and if you would like to email us with more information, we can look into it further. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Auckland. The Attic Team.

89%

Good hostel! Great location and kitchen area! Worth the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect for your needs. We hope to see you again. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

97%

If there were lockers, I would have given 100% This is a great hostel, I was pleasantly surprised! The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, great kitchen and bathrooms, there's a really nice terrace and some sweet lounges to just hang out in. And it's right in the center of the town! Awesome hostel, would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review! We are glad to have made your stay in Auckland comfortable and memorable. We are also happy that you loved our chill out areas as much as we do! Look forward to seeing you again should you return to Auckland. Safe Travels, The Attic Team

(81 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback