Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Australian Hostel

  • 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat, Downtown, Cairo, Egypt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
The Australian Hostel Located at 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat, Downtown, Cairo.
The Australian Hostel
Egypt
Cairo Cairo 11111 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat, Downtown
91% 452
30.0503179 31.2419843
The Australian Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.3

All you need and right where you need to be. Staff were great. Had a few issues but the that's the joy of travel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
8.3

A wonderful hostel. The staff was absolutely amazing and beyond helpful. It's a great location. There wasn't a key to the dorm door which wasn't ideal but everything still felt relatively safe. Also a taxi from the airport (at night) was closer to 150 Egyptian Pounds instead of the 60 that it says on the directions. Overall though, I had a wonderful time and I'd stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
6.3

The building was creepy and dirty, wash room was dirty with no water. Mattress was horrible and the staff was sleeping in the dorm rooms and receiving calls early morning. It wasn't like a typical hostel any backpacker would like to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Dec 2016
10.0

This place is awesome! They are re-modeling the hostel so the rooms are very new and clean. The staff is also super helpful. We really enjoyed our time here despite only spending two nights in Cairo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.1

Stayed at the Australian hostel for four nights. The best part of the hostel was the staff. They were incredibly accommodating and helped us book everything. The hostel was located within walking distance of the Egyptian museum and the Nile. I'd stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
10.0

I went for the private room with a bath. Perfect for the price. The Staff was always helpful. Met some cool people there as well. Short walk to Museum, the only place you really want to walk to anyway since taxis are so cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

Fantastic staff made all the difference. Very keen to assist with travel around Egypt and tours. Made the trip more easy and enjoyable. Recommend using their drivers. Thanks Mido for your help!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
10.0

Thank you all staffs of Australian Hostel , I had a wonderful trip in Egypt . Thank you very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
8.6

Supportive staff. Good small breakfast (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent stay. Clean, comfortable rooms and the staff was fantastic at helping me to get around all of Egypt, not just Cairo. Would highly digest to anyone staying in Cairo. Ten minute walk from Egyptian museum and markets. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.