Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Australian Hostel

  • 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat, Downtown, Cairo, Egypt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

The common area is the best thing at the hostel where you can meet new people from all over the world. Room is clean, staff is amazing and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.7

Very good value for money, nice clean and comfortable beds and the staff are amazingly friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Great option for backpackers wanting to see Egypt on a budget

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
7.7

super nice staff, very helpful and knowledgeable about all things egypt (mido especially), booked and organised everything for a week long tour including pick up and drop off at every bus/train/tour so you're never lost. big hostel, didn't really know who was staff and who wasn't but that's what you want most the time. No lockers but they watch bags by the front desk. Tiny kitchen, but everyone's helping and cooking for all. overall good hostel. 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th May 2017
9.1

Pretty decent hostel. I had a private room, there is nothing to complain. I booked a pyramid trip over the hostel, perfect! The location is direct in the modern center of Cairo, so a lot of shopping opportunities close by. Only drawback is, that I did not experience any big common room. I would stay there again if I come back to Cairo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
10.0

This my first time in Egypt and I really loved this place . the hostel is so clean,rooms are big and the beds are so comfortable. The staff is so helpful to describe for you any place. The hostel is so near from all the sightseeing , just five minutes from the Egyptian museum and the Bazar . they helped me to visit the pyramids and many sights around Egypt with so nice service and cheap prices. Thank you guys for making my holiday .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
7.4

Generally good, small common room though at least there is one. 10-15 mins walk from the Egyptian Museum. Small dorms don't have lockers but it's pretty secure anyway. Staff are friendly. Wifi is pretty good. No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
5.1

Reception very interested in booking tours. Not so much in your room and accommodation. Wifi was very spotty in lobby and didn't work in rooms. Wifi went down all over the hostel and it seemed normal to them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.6

Okay spot

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Anton and the team were awesome. It's a perfect late arrival place where the team welcomes you and you can get an en suite warm shower and good nights sleep. Thanks team Lee, Shrewsbury, UK

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Happy to recommend the team at the Australian in downtown Cairo. Such a friendly and cheerful place, where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are pleasant and clean and the location is excellent. I enjoyed the conversations in the central area and my thanks for a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.