Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The B.I.G

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.1

Great place with a great atmosphere and super friendly staff. Little touches really make travellers feel welcome- organised meals out and in the hostel, trips and a veey good breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.9

Great hostel. Staff is really helpful. Breakfast is great. Internet is good. Dorms are comfortable. Just a bit far from downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
10.0

This has to be the very best hostel I have stayed in! The pictures here do not show how well thought through everything is - the owners have clearly traveled to many hostels and taken the best ideas and built on them. The welcome and help from the boys and girls on the front desk really is very special and helped make our stay so relaxing and fun. Evenings out were simple and well organised (tapas was superb choice but the Ethiopian food was great too) Thanks so much for such a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
10.0

Staying at The B.I.G was the best hostel experience I've ever had. It's no surprise they've been voted one of the top 4 best hostels in the WORLD, as well as just winning #1 hostel in South Africa for 2017. The staff are SO friendly and welcoming, and they make sure you feel at home. It's very easy to meet people; the staff plan weekly dinners (Monday through Friday) either at the hostel or local restaurant. The B.I.G is clean, comfortable, and safe. You will fall in love with it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deboraolsson8144
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jun 2017
7.7

The staff were incredibly friendly and the hostel really made an effort to involve you in hostel events, including dinners, breakfast and outings. However, if you want to have a more relaxed, less social stay, I would probably recommend staying in a different place. The location, while great, is not very accessible and you end up taking Uber's everywhere, especially since it is unsafe to walk at night. Overall, the hostel is cozy and nice but I will choose to stay elsewhere next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Everything was perfect! Is a great hostel, But definitely, what makes the total difference is the people who work there, I've never felt so welcomed all of them are lovely! Thanks for everything guys you make my trip really special. Especially Taylor, is one of the most wonderful person that I know. Maria

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Really beautiful hostel in Greenpoint. The hostel itself is lovely with lots of space and places to relax and cook. The staff really try to get to know you and are really lovely. The breakfast is great and if you are on an budget you can have a big enough breakfast that you won't need lunch. My only complaint is that each bedroom door has a code on it which makes it noisy when people come in as they forget the code and opening/closing the door makes a loud noise. I didn't get good sleep here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
9.7

The B.I.G. is one of my favorite hostels I have ever stayed at. The staff are amazing and always helpful. They genuinely want to help you and make sure that you have an awesome time. The hostel itself is gorgeous and has awesome common areas. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are clean. The breakfast in the morning is one of the absolute best I've seen. The only downside is the location. It's pretty residential, but with Uber that doesn't matter so much. It IS walking distance to V&A.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location. 15 minute walk to the waterfront. Lots of places to eat around the hostel. Very clean. Nice sized bathrooms and comfortable beds. Also good breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing Hostel, i loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.