Hostelworld.com

The B.I.G

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
The B.I.G Located at 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town.
The B.I.G
South Africa
Cape Town Cape Town 8001 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point
99% 228
-33.9104928 18.4100174
The B.I.G
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

This is probably the best hostel you will ever stay in, and for a very reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and will help you plan out your days, or just chill out and have a conversation with you. The facilities are beautiful and spotless. Great environment if you're looking to meet new people or be a bit social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
10.0

The B.I.G. is some weird alternate universe in which everyone is brilliant and helpful, all facilities are clean and hip and well-thought-out, and there's always fun to be had and adventure activities to do. They've got it all: SIM cards on arrival, cheap adaptors for sale, group braais once a week, a sexy kitchen for the rest of the week, A+ dorm beds, a blackboard full of stuff to do, and the best staff on the planet. For sure the coolest hostel I've ever been to. High fives for everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

The staff at the B.I.G. are AMAZING! They are so helpful with booking tours and every tour I went on through them was spectacular. The location is perfect as it so close to the Waterfront and really anything else you want to do in Cape Town. The atmosphere is so friendly and the guests that stay are awesome too. I recommend highly to anyone needing a place to stay in Cape Town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.4

A great atmosphere. Fantastic motivated staff. Excellent breakfast. A really good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stated in. Staff is incredible and make sure your stay is amazing . They are very knowledgable about excursions you can do and the best tours. Many of the tours you can book at the hostel the day before (except for Robbin island maybe). Very clean , social, but not a party hostel, excellent breakfast in the morning, friendly staff. My only complaint is that the rooms are kind of small for the 4-bed rooms but the bathrooms are large and very clean (in-suite, not community)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel with friendly staff, extremely close to all kinds of food and not too far of a walk from the Waterfront

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
9.7

What can I say, the most friendly and attentive staff ive ever encountered, brilliant facilities and beautifully furnished, I could live in this place. Like some sort of hostel utopia. Just wish I'd spent longer there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ismenebroad147
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed in. It is in a quiet residential area which is still easy to walk to most of the central tourist sites. The rooms are spacious & have individual lockers. But what makes the BIG is the staff, without doubt the best I've experianced, not only do they know what to do in Cape Town but listen & suggest things to suit you. They even took the time to learn everyones name & ask about your days experiances. Are social but not over bearing. Thank you guys/girls!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
9.7

This is an excellent hostel. The owners and management have really given a great deal of thought as to what you need in a hostel. They ticked all the boxes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2016
10.0

The B.I.G. is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. It's clean, the staff is very helpful and the facilities are great. What really sets the B.I.G. apart from its competitors is the way the staff promotes interaction between the guests. You will definitely feel at home when staying at the B.I.G. The fact that the hostel is not located near Long street is not a deal breaker; taxis are super cheap and the greenpoint/waterfront area offers a laid-back environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.