Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The B.I.G

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
The B.I.G Located at 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point, Cape Town.
The B.I.G
South Africa
Cape Town Cape Town 8001 18 Thornhill rd, Green Point
98% 267
-33.9104928 18.4100174
The B.I.G
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Nov 2016
9.7

Love love loved this hostel. Right when I walked in everyone was amazing and welcoming. It was clean, breakfasts were great, activities planned at night for whoever wanted to go. Very clean as well and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend this hostel and would definitely book again. Thanks!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love love loved having you stay with us :) Thank you kindly for the lovely review!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Had an excellent stay, the staff were extremely helpful always managing to help us book the craziest last minute adventures! Would definitely go back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us Sara!

18th Nov 2016
10.0

My stay at the BIG was good. Location good, staff great, I would like to give a special shout out to one of the staff member( Ms Millicent) very nice and helpful lady. Keep up the good work!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dearest Ruby! Thank you for the nice review, our very own Millie is a super star and it brought a smile on her face when I read her your review!

30th Oct 2016
10.0

- Lemony fresh clean - Delicious included breakfast - Lockers for each person - Homey comfortable feel, but very fun vibe I could keep listing things for a while, but what stood out the most to me was the staff. They were so incredibly friendly and helpful! They were happy to hang out and talk about anything, gave awesome recommendations for things to do and places to eat, and they joined us for the various things we did out in town at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nic! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It was so nice to meet you :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff are amazing - always got suggestions of things to do, even if you don't want to join their organised tours. Was a wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hanna, we are so glad you enjoyed our staff and that your CPT stay was wonderful!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff were so friendly, I truly felt like I was at home while I stayed there. I was travelling alone but I never did any touring by myself. The hostel staff were great at arranging groups of single travellers to do touring and expeditions together. Highly recommended! Lots of safety precautions taken too, I felt very safe as solo female traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Ilijana, high five coming your way :) . Thanks so much for the lovely words!

  • asubramony8844
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Greatest hostel I've been to. It's my second visit and it's really impressive. The facilities, staff, breakfast and guests are great! One of the best places to stay in CT.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dearest Aaron! How excited are we that you moving to CPT, please do come visit us, specially for the weekly BIG night' Braiis :)

13th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved this place. Nice people, great atmosphere, comfy beds (yes, really) and a nice breakfast. 15 minute walk to the water front.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Julie for the review, you are simply the best!

31st Jul 2016
10.0

I have been to countless hostels around the world, and I don't usually do reviews - only when a place is super good or bad. This is one of the best hostels (Top 5) that I have ever stayed at. If you choose another hostel over this place in Cape Town, you are making a mistake. It is in a great location (close to restaurants, grocery store, waterfront), is safe & secure, and the atmosphere is very friendly. What really sets this place apart is the staff. Somehow, they are all awesome & helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

oh Dev :) it really brings a big smile on our faces when we read your words, thank you so much for your feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

The BIG is amazing! Staff I fell in love with all them they helped me book trips and go out and party ticked all the boxes, made beds everyday and your stuff is safe in the lockers. I can honestly say I had the best time here and when I come back I wouldn't stay anywhere else ... That's if they will have me! Love to the BIG crew

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Katy you superstar! We miss your energy and your big blue dreamy eyes around the BIG. Please come visit us again you awesome girl! Thanks for the review!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.