Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Babushka Grand Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel was about a 25 minute walk from the City Center. There are many restaurants in the area and along the direct walk down to the center. The hostel is priced a bit expensive for Odessa, considering it's facilities and location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in a private room that was very spacious with a king bed and good security. I recommend this hostel if you have the time to explore the city center, if you only have a day or two, then the hostel is not ideal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.1

This hostel was quite unusual since it really looked like a big livingroom of a grandmother, but it was very cozy and I loved the place on the balcony. Also the staff was unusually friendly and also spoke English. The kitchen was well equipped with free tea and coffee and offered also the facilities to cook your own meat. If I come back to Odessa I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.4

It's all true! The place is a fine old bourgeois flat with a genuine wonderful babushka to meet you and make you feel right at home. The building façade is being renovated and the stairs are a bit unwelcoming (old rundown soviet style) but wait till you're in the hostel and all that is forgotten - you are also pretty much in the centre of town and a few blocks walk away from most attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Lovely staff, really accommodating, beautiful rooms and living room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
8.9

Awesome place to stay, I highly recommend it! Awesome staff+ owner, I felt like I was at home. Only downside was laundry didn't work but not too big of a deal.. ... overall I highly recommend, beautiful super high ceilings, private room was awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Very lovely hostel. Friendly staff. The name is perfect, it's like staying at someone else's grandma's house for a night or two. Good internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
8.0

a family hostel, not a regular type of hostel, so the atmosphere is a bit lacking but the receptionist Daria is a very helpful and gentle person; btw they only have one bathroom so you may need to be prepared to take turns for shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
3.1

Babushka Hostel in Odessa is a top notch hostel with staff very helpful regarding local knowledge and advice of the area. In particular Tanya who is anxious to further her command of the English language was very helpful and catered for every need. We had some conversation exchange and she has learned more english and expanded her vocabulary . All the very helpful with free tea and coffee available every hour. I had also listened to a few renditions of the piano which i thoroughly enjo

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • matyasviktora8996
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Perfect! Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

The staff is super lovely and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.