Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Babushka Grand Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Aug 2017
9.4

Staff was great. A little hard to find because of construction.. but besides that it was a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joshlawrence933
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Had an awesome time here. One of the best hostels I have stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karinvahar
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.6

Friendly staff. Cool rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
7.1

Although located right in the middle of town, my experience at the hostel was disappointing. Unfortunately there are about 100 rules and there are signs around the hostel pointing out fines that they can fine you for. This along with the rather rude person working at the front desk left me with a sour experience with what could of been a good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.3

This is a great apartment style hostel. It's clean and cozy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
8.3

Great location. Friendly staff. Nice apartment feel to the hostel. But...There is one shower for whole hostel so expect to queue. And when you do get in it was usually just a drizzle of barely lukewarm water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel was about a 25 minute walk from the City Center. There are many restaurants in the area and along the direct walk down to the center. The hostel is priced a bit expensive for Odessa, considering it's facilities and location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in a private room that was very spacious with a king bed and good security. I recommend this hostel if you have the time to explore the city center, if you only have a day or two, then the hostel is not ideal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.9

Internet was fine. I had some bad luck to be with a group of guys from India who left their phone alarm on all morning from 4:45 am until I lost my mind at them for the 4th 10 minute wake up snooze pushing and woke up the whole hostel around 5:30am. That wasn't the babushka's fault though. What I didn't like was being asked to leave the main room around 1am. Apparently the main couch area is where she sleeps so she can buzz everyone in who is out late. She's an adorable woman, didn't like setup

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.1

This hostel was quite unusual since it really looked like a big livingroom of a grandmother, but it was very cozy and I loved the place on the balcony. Also the staff was unusually friendly and also spoke English. The kitchen was well equipped with free tea and coffee and offered also the facilities to cook your own meat. If I come back to Odessa I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.4

It's all true! The place is a fine old bourgeois flat with a genuine wonderful babushka to meet you and make you feel right at home. The building façade is being renovated and the stairs are a bit unwelcoming (old rundown soviet style) but wait till you're in the hostel and all that is forgotten - you are also pretty much in the centre of town and a few blocks walk away from most attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×