Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Babushka Grand Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
The Babushka Grand Hostel Located at 60 Malaya Arnautskaya, 85 Ekaterinenskaya, Odessa.
The Babushka Grand Hostel
Ukraine
Odessa 65012 60 Malaya Arnautskaya, 85 Ekaterinenskaya
87% 433
46.4715320 30.7377290
The Babushka Grand Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

I found this hostel had a relaxed, homely atmosphere. The staff were most helpful and hospitable. They were knowledgeable about the city of Odessa. I found that they would facilitate one with learning Russian.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my stay here. The lockers are very secure. The wifi worked well. There is only one shower and two bathrooms for the entire hostel. The staff was very helpful. The location isn't fantastic but the bus stop is close and the fare is cheap. I would stay here again. Oh, good luck finding the entrance. The sign is about half the size of a post card and very faded.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Not a bad place to stay. Felt like being in grandma's house. But that being said, it was very quiet and very little conversation among travelers. And the old man sleeps on the sofa and so you have to tip toe quietly around him. The woman owner is as friendly as can be and does everything to make u feel at home. So not bad, but not great either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Some of best Staff ever. The owner is just the most lovely lady I have ever met. She's always smiling and jolly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
9.4

The babushka was grand. Nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
7.4

Hostel is close to main train & bus station, but a bit of a walk to town central. Only one shower is a problem in the morning. Hats off to the reception girl, she is so helpful and friendly and really keeps the hostel going. The older guy there who seems to manage the hostel is blatantly rude and is an unfortunate negative for the hostel. Also atmosphere lacks, but that may just be luck of the draw.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
7.1

Beware of moody grandpa!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.3

Almost died on my first night there it was so bloody hot. There is an aircon unit in the big dorm, just didn't seem to get used much. The day staff woman (forget her name, sorry!) was a legend, really knowledgable and great for a chat. The night staff are really nice but don't speak much English. The building is beautiful inside, but the place almost seems like a mix between a hotel and a hostel. Lots of older folk. Not great as a backpacker for meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
6.3

After arriving following a long day of travelling, the older guy told me there was no reservation, and was shouting at me in Russian and bits of English for a while. All of a sudden my reservation turned up. Lady that worked there was considerably nicer. Not your average hostel, in terms of socialising / meeting other BACKPACKERS. 1 shower / 2 toilets between everyone also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel and Baushka and her husband are the best hosts. We had a wonderful time in Odessa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.