Hostelworld.com

The Backpack Cape Town

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
The Backpack Cape Town Located at 74 New Church Street, , Cape Town.
The Backpack Cape Town
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 74 New Church Street
90% 1921
-33.9270348 18.4105753
The Backpack Cape Town
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

The hostel is in a great location right near long street. I can't comment for public transport but if you have a rental, most of the tourist places are within around 40 minutes drive. The hostel has a pool table, small pool, kitchen, decent breakfast, communal areas. It's clean and they have large storage cupboards that you can lock your stuff away next to the dorm beds or use the designated luggage area. Only downside was the tent that we wanted for security can be un-velcrowed when locked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wannabeaussie6226
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved it. Will definitely stay there again, friendly staff, breakfast was fresh every day, good location waking up to see table mountain every day was worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We hope that you will be back again soon. Kind regards, The Backpack Team

  • jacklweatherley
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.6

Overall very good, it has a Mediterranean feel to the building and is really quirky and has lots of character. The breakfast was also very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for coming to stay with us. It's great to know that you had a charming stay and we hope this means that you will come to stay again! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

  • jtraxa3459
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Great Stay! I went solo and was pleased to find a very social atmosphere. Also great place from which to organize day trips, the staff are super helpful with helping you set up and find stuff to do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are happy to know that you were able to make some new friendships and have some companions to travel around Cape Town with. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

4th Apr 2016
8.3

Overall good. More visible information about the transport possibilities within the city and some services (point of interests, tours etc.) can make the stay even better. Pavol

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We do have a tours board and many boards scattered around the hostel with ideas of what to do / where to eat around Cape Town but we do always appreciate more suggestions; so thank you! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
10.0

This is an amazing place to stay! Close to cbd, great cause, great atmosphere, very clean and safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will come back again in the near future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.1

This is the second time that I've stayed at this hostel. It is conveniently located. The staff are warm and welcoming. The free, extensive breakfast is yummy. And most of all, I've always found it easy to meet other travellers here. It's like my home from home when I'm in Cape Town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so proud to know that we feel like a home away from home for you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

22nd Mar 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us :)

15th Mar 2016
8.9

Everything was fantastic despite the loudness of the area we were next to. Other than that it was amazing! Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us! Apologies about the noise though. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Mar 2016
8.9

This is a secure hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. They booked our shark diving trip and were able to give advice on things do to and how to do them. Breakfast was good, plenty of it! It has a nice bar area where you can buy drinks and has a nice atmosphere. It is close to lots of restaurants and bars. A very nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for the compliments. We are glad you had a fantastic stay with us - especially that you got the chance to shark dive! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.