Hostelworld.com

The Backpack Cape Town

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
The Backpack Cape Town Located at 74 New Church Street, , Cape Town.
The Backpack Cape Town
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 74 New Church Street
89% 1940
-33.9270348 18.4105753
The Backpack Cape Town
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
8.6

Clean and good atmosphere but slightly overpriced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
6.9

The overall location of the hostel was great, being in close proximity to lions head, long street and table mountain. How ever having read previous reviews and paying above average to stay in this hostel I was slightly disappointed on the lack of atmosphere at night. The woman who ran the hostel was very pleasant however I feel there should be more focus on events within the hostel and a bar that shuts at 10pm says everything. Overall a good hostel but some improvements needed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • seanjcassidy491
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th May 2016
9.1

Lee the owner was very helpful, Probably the best breakfast I've had in a hostel. Itss a top class hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
10.0

Best value hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful for booking trips, arranging transport, and giving general advice about the city. Facilities were clean and well kept, primarily because of the superb cleaning/property mgmt staff. All other hostel guests were respectful and outgoing. A large common area promoted interaction and added to the enjoyable atmosphere. I would definitely recommend The Backpack and will be staying here again next time I venture to CT.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks so much for the awesome review. We are so happy to know that you had the best stay with us and came to like all our staff and our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
5.7

I thought the hostel was clean until I saw all the rats in the kitchen at night. Most of the staff were were friendly and pleasant, but the young, tall, female staff member who checked me in was so rude to me that my friend and I almost left the hostel. She was really sarcastic and instead of addressing me she spoke to my friend about me. There was no reason for her to be so rude, she was clearly on a power trip. For this reason I would not recommend staying at this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.4

The backpack has an excellent location with amazing views! They also provide a diverse selection of amenities including a pool and shop! The place is incredibly clean and tidy. I did have an issue with the openness of the hostel including security and it was always really cold (I was there in April). The bathrooms are also outside and sometimes far from the room, making cleaning yourself unpleasant in the morning and late at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

The hostel is in a great location right near long street. I can't comment for public transport but if you have a rental, most of the tourist places are within around 40 minutes drive. The hostel has a pool table, small pool, kitchen, decent breakfast, communal areas. It's clean and they have large storage cupboards that you can lock your stuff away next to the dorm beds or use the designated luggage area. Only downside was the tent that we wanted for security can be un-velcrowed when locked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wannabeaussie6226
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved it. Will definitely stay there again, friendly staff, breakfast was fresh every day, good location waking up to see table mountain every day was worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We hope that you will be back again soon. Kind regards, The Backpack Team

  • jacklweatherley
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.6

Overall very good, it has a Mediterranean feel to the building and is really quirky and has lots of character. The breakfast was also very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for coming to stay with us. It's great to know that you had a charming stay and we hope this means that you will come to stay again! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

  • jtraxa3459
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Great Stay! I went solo and was pleased to find a very social atmosphere. Also great place from which to organize day trips, the staff are super helpful with helping you set up and find stuff to do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are happy to know that you were able to make some new friendships and have some companions to travel around Cape Town with. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.