Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
The Backpack Cape Town Located at 74 New Church Street, , Cape Town.
The Backpack Cape Town
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 74 New Church Street
91% 2024
-33.9270348 18.4105753
The Backpack Cape Town
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
7.7

The Backpack is based on Conscious Capitalism values, awareness and fairness. It is nicely decorated, has a warm and friendly atmosphere. The reason for giving a minor rate for facilities, is the status of the mattress: over the years, it had lost all signs of life.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you for the review. We are always in the process of updating our hostel and we will add the mattresses to our list! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

19th Nov 2016
10.0

The Backpack was fantastic! Checks all the boxes in terms of location, staff, room standards, but what really made the place special was the people. The grounds are great to meet other travelers with a bar/kitchen front and center. The staff were great and very helpful...always with generous smiles. The hostel attracts people from all over and proved to be great for those traveling solo. And you can't beat a pool with a view of Table Mountain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.9

A lovely hostel with a wide range of different room types. Located very close to the long street, tablemountain cable car station and lions head. A big plus is the free breakfast, which is better than most basic free breakfasts in other hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, and thank you for the positive remarks about your stay with us! We hope you will be back in the future. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • debauchedmysloth71
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
26th Oct 2016
9.1

I thought this place was very good, good location, staff helpful, good facilities. Very loud trance music was played in the bar constantly during the time I was there, to the point of making it uncomfortable, to be fair other people in the bar appeared to be enjoying this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are up for any song requests in our bar!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.4

Really nice stay, awesome breakfast, good beds. We felt comfortable and secure all the time. Good parking situation. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
4.0

I didn't think the location was very good, it was quite far from the main part of cape town and I didn't feel comfortable walking at night. The staff weren't overly helpful and seemed to be in a bad mood. The worst part was my room and the area outside of my room smelt like a toilet/sewer. It was almost unbearable and I actually ended up changing hostels because of it. The hostel was also very noisy at night and in the morning when I was trying to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. It is odd to hear that you did not think we were close, as the city with restaurants and clubs is only two roads away from us. Apologies about the bad staff attitude; we have addressed this immediately. As well as the smell, we have looked into this. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

19th Sep 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay here. VERY centrally located, as best as it comes for any hostels. In my opinion, you do not want to stay at hostels over on Long Street. As it is busy, loud and touristy. The Backpack is walking distance to everything. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and safe atmosphere. Even a pool area to chill out at. Would stay at again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for the positive review! We hope to see you again soon!

9th Sep 2016
9.1

The backpack is a great hostel in the perfect location. The staff are super helpful, the breakfast in the morning is basic but still really good, the views of table mountain are incredible. It's definitely not a party type hostel like some of the ones in Europe. A lot more mature people are staying here currently from all different age ranges.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the review and we are glad that you had a good stay with us. We leave the noisy partying for Long Street!

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

The Backpack offers some of the best budget accommodation I have experienced. The location is great, the atmosphere a genuine taste of Cape Town, the hostel is in a beautiful old house, with garden and pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, the beds comfortable, kitchen facilities excellent. There are personal safes for your valuables and there is security at the gate. The best part for me was the 5 star breakfast (included) with a view of Table Mountain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh yes, it is our favourite time of the day for us too - breakfast with a view of Table Mountain... you just can't beat that anywhere!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome place to stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! :D

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.