Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • j_valon1268
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
3.7

Bad experience. They charge you 60 rand for using the ATM. The music is so loud that you cant hear anything else or have a conversation. The staff are not helpful and dont seem to care about the guests. And hope you dont oversleep! Tried it once and never again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
9.7

Definitely one of the best-run hostels I've stayed at--across many continents! I wish that I had had more time to get to now the other residents more -- it seemed like a great community and great way find travel friends. The [free] breakfast views of Table Mountain are unforgettable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.1

I had a wonderful time at The Backpack. The staff were really helpful and nice, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and the area was great. The hostel was pretty quiet at night, so not really a place to drink and have fun. The staff were great at helping me plan my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
10.0

Excellent customer service and great breakfast. They can arrange tours as well. Love that they have a kitchen and there is a supermarket close by to buy items and keep in the fridge. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
8.3

Really nice hostel in a good location, close to some bars and restaurants. Very good value. The place has a nice atmosphere with lots of young people, and there are lots of helpful signs everywhere. However, I found the staff to be fairly uncommunicative and not that interested in making the experience that much greater. Nothing rude, just not great. Overall, definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a fun vibe and central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place!! The rooms and the entire property is designed very nicely. Great facilities and location. Breakfast was plenty, yummy and for a hostel there was a lot of choices :) the staff was always friendly and helpful. the relatively high prices were ok with me, since they take corporate social responsibilty serious and invest in different social projects. would stay there again any time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, this is great news so we look forward to seeing you again soon!

11th Apr 2017
6.0

place is ok. breakfast is really good, rooms and bathrooms really messy, michel slould be more receptive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are sorry for these factors and will make them better immediately.

10th Apr 2017
9.7

Wonderful place! Loved the atmosphere and the people - my only minor complaint is that the bar plays fairly low music inside, but on the patio the volume is much higher -- which is a bummer if you're in the room next to the bar/entrance area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the review! Sometimes we just tend to get a little bit carried away with our music and good vibes. But we will make an effort to be more conscious of fellow sleepers.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
8.3

Great hostel for those looking to explore Cape Town and meet chilled, friendly people. Not a huge atmosphere at the hostel if you're looking to party, but there is a bar open until midnight. There is more security however than Once in Cape Town for example as only guests can access the bar, so you have the added security of knowing that the people you're getting to know are also staying at the hostel. The rooms smell pretty damp but are comfortable and clean. Reception staff could be friendlier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry about the impoliteness of the reception staff and we will address this issue immediately.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.