Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Best hostel in Cape Town! Parking has a guard so your car is safe. Decent location. GREAT staff and all great guests. Loved everything about this hostel. I made good friends and thoroughly enjoyed this place. Best breakfast of aNY hostel Do not walk around in this area at night.Two guys followed me and another visitor nearby ordering us to give money. We refused and they threatened us, and we had a bit of a confrontation. The great guard at the hostel came and helped though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. Very quiet hostel. Good choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adnan_pisces
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.1

Backpack is a great place to stay if you are traveling to Cape Town. It's safe, close to downtown and great people to meet. The breakfast is great each morning. The facilities at the hostel are clean. I thought it expensive when comparing it to hostels around the world, however it is the best hostel you will find in Cape Town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.9

We loved it at the backpack Cape Town! Great staff and laid back atmosphere makes this a great place to stay and meet a lot of like minded people! The breakfast is great and the location is perfect for the party 🍺 only downside is the lockers weren't very effective (mine didn't shut) and security wasn't great as a break in happened whilst we were there. Overall tho a great hostel and would go back for sure - Big shout out to Juliette 'ze french intern' completed it mate 😜

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and we are so glad you had a good time. And yes, Juliette rocks! We are in the process of upgrading all safes and fixing lockers and with our security on high alert now, there shouldn't be any issues in the future :)

19th Feb 2017
9.7

I loved the Backpack! The location is awesome, the building itself is very nice, and there are so many opportunities to easily take part in just talking to reception. My favorite part though was just the friendly atmosphere - everyone, staff and guests, would say hello to anyone else and I feel like I have developed solid friendships with people that I hope to stay in contact with.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, it is great to know that you stayed with us and made some friends for life! We hope you all will be back here soon again. Kind regards, The Backpack Team.

18th Feb 2017
6.0

Changed to Mojo - would highly recommend it over backpack Cape Town. At backpack Cape Town they have a great marketing story, but in reality it's pretty soulless. Granted the place is nice, but I was robbed and got nasty bites. Sounds unfortunate, but the same guy had robbed this place before, and they had a picture of him up in the security room. As the cops said "I can't be coming here for the same guy man. This has to stop." Rooms were hot. Not worth the $30 / night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are so terribly sorry for this event. The thief tailgates into the hostel and acts as if he has lost his room key so that a guest will let him into the dorm room and he can then go through some personal items. We are on high alert for him now and hope to be able to correct this situation as soon as possible.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Some serious characters working there ... Mickster and Leon being the cheeky highlights ... Absolutely loved this place ... green hostel concept with the perfect communal spaces to hang out with all sorts ... Beer pong sessions at night were particularly fun ... Made our stay one to cherish ... xoxo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for coming to stay with us and it is great that you interacted with our awesome staff and hosted some competitive beer pong events! Hope to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Probably one of the best hostel breakfast spreads ever - so much choice! Set in a good spot too, close to Kloof and Long Street but nestled in a quieter spot. Amazing views of Table Mountain. Hostel is geared towards socialising and has a party vibe, if that's your thing. Facilities are a bit tired and worn down and squeaky shaky beds in the dorm rooms. All in all though, a good enough place to Base yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, and thank you for the compliments. We should let you know that we are doing upgrades now and making sure the hostel is looking fresh and vibrant again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel. Nothing to improve on, just fabulous.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much :D

2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great meeting area and environment! Very helpful staff and super breakfast included. I would have remained there had it not been booked full.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for coming to stay :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.