Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2017
8.9

We stayed two nights. Hostel was really quiet at night which was great not sure if it's because it wasn't peak season. Toilet in room was an issue and tv seemed to be there only for appearances and never worked. But very clean and comfortable and fanatastic location. Also good heating in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank your for coming to stay with us. We do apologise that you had issues with the toilet and with the tv and we will make sure this is corrected. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Aug 2017
8.9

Great hostel, clean, well equipped and staff were very friendly. Free breakfast was good and justified the extra money for the room. Although, there was literally no atmosphere at night in the bar area and no attempt made from staff to create any.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for staying with us and glad our yummy breakfast got you going for the day! We are a little bit quieter in winter but we will seriously up our game to get our guests more involved - right now we do a weekly BBQ night and a weekly Movie night! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

cant really fault this place. its not a party hostel but it is sociable...the party hostels are on Long st but then you can come back here to rest! location is great, walkable to long street and other places of interest. nice and quiet in my room but some rooms wouldn't get the same peace due to location. staff were really friendly. security at the main door made me feel safe. the breakfast was amazing - choice and plentyfull! comfy beds, loads of space in dorm rooms. clean bathrooms and kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the fabulous view! We hope that you will be back in the future :)

21st Jul 2017
10.0

A rare 10 rating from me! Loved this place! GREAT breakfast buffet, upgraded us from the dorms to a private room, great location walkable to all the bars and restaurants. Wifi wasn't always the strongest with so many people using it but that's hostels for you. Can't speak to the dorms but we had a great experience. Don't have anything negative to say!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for all your positive remarks and we hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.0

A friendly hostel, great breakfasts and a chilled out bar in the evenings. Stayed in a single which was fine, although very cold in Cape Town winter. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Looking forward to your next stay :)

7th Jul 2017
7.1

Cozy place -BUT no individual lockers in room (wood was broken so not possible to lock) and old facilities (don't expect it to be fresh or renovated - although it is clean). I got a room next to the busy road and as windows couldn't completely close, it was sooo difficult to sleep during my 5 nights there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are sorry that your ocker did not work. However, we will always provide a safe space for guests' belongings should they need it. Cape Town traffic can be noisy in the mornings, so we always suggest a good pair of ear plugs while traveling! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

6th Jul 2017
7.4

I felt safe enough, but there aren't lockers in the rooms and it isn't preferable to walk around the area after dark. The intern was very helpful to me, but the permanent staff at the desk really need to learn about friendliness if they're choosing to go into the hospitality industry. Also, please notify when someone's luggage is delivered instead of letting it sit there! The breakfast is ok, and there are multiple places to sit and chill. Moderately social.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

The breakfast here was fantastic. VERY clean hostel. The atmosphere was a bit lacking though. I just thought the hostel would be much more lively however I came to enjoy this hostel because I could count on coming back to a quiet hostel. I could walk down to Long street in 3 min and get crazy if I wanted. True party hostels can get a little exhausting especially on the nights where you want just chill. Over all, I would not hesitate to book here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the relaxing vibe that we offer here.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

The perfect place to stay if you are a single traveler and/or if you want to meet locals and discover the real Joburg. Everyone in the hostel and neighborhood were so nice and made trip very unique!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for coming to stay with us.. However, we are in Cape Town, no Joburg :)

17th Jun 2017
6.6

Nice hostel, but definitely can get better for the amount you pay. Towels aren't actually free, staff were helpful but definitely could've been more friendly, and safes aren't located inside the rooms. Breakfast was decent. Cute cat. But can definitely get better hostels for the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry to hear that you think we fell short on delivery. We do our best to make guests feel like they have the best service and cater to all their needs.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×