Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2017
7.1

Cozy place -BUT no individual lockers in room (wood was broken so not possible to lock) and old facilities (don't expect it to be fresh or renovated - although it is clean). I got a room next to the busy road and as windows couldn't completely close, it was sooo difficult to sleep during my 5 nights there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

The perfect place to stay if you are a single traveler and/or if you want to meet locals and discover the real Joburg. Everyone in the hostel and neighborhood were so nice and made trip very unique!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
6.6

Nice hostel, but definitely can get better for the amount you pay. Towels aren't actually free, staff were helpful but definitely could've been more friendly, and safes aren't located inside the rooms. Breakfast was decent. Cute cat. But can definitely get better hostels for the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry to hear that you think we fell short on delivery. We do our best to make guests feel like they have the best service and cater to all their needs.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.7

Absolutely brilliant hostel. Very homely atmosphere with a superb breakfast. Staff really do make you feel at home. Security also very good at The Backpack

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!

  • j_valon1268
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
3.7

Bad experience. They charge you 60 rand for using the ATM. The music is so loud that you cant hear anything else or have a conversation. The staff are not helpful and dont seem to care about the guests. And hope you dont oversleep! Tried it once and never again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we do apologise that you were unhappy with certain aspects of our hostel. Our check out time is 10am and therefore sleeping guests can expect to get a knock on their door.

21st May 2017
9.7

Definitely one of the best-run hostels I've stayed at--across many continents! I wish that I had had more time to get to now the other residents more -- it seemed like a great community and great way find travel friends. The [free] breakfast views of Table Mountain are unforgettable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you so much for the positive review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.1

I had a wonderful time at The Backpack. The staff were really helpful and nice, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and the area was great. The hostel was pretty quiet at night, so not really a place to drink and have fun. The staff were great at helping me plan my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad that we could help you to have an incredible time in Cape Town!

18th May 2017
10.0

Excellent customer service and great breakfast. They can arrange tours as well. Love that they have a kitchen and there is a supermarket close by to buy items and keep in the fridge. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for coming to stay with us and glad you enjoyed your time here! Hope to see you again in the future.

12th May 2017
8.3

Really nice hostel in a good location, close to some bars and restaurants. Very good value. The place has a nice atmosphere with lots of young people, and there are lots of helpful signs everywhere. However, I found the staff to be fairly uncommunicative and not that interested in making the experience that much greater. Nothing rude, just not great. Overall, definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a fun vibe and central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you for the review. We are smiling to know you had a good stay and hope that next time you are around our staff can make a better impression.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place!! The rooms and the entire property is designed very nicely. Great facilities and location. Breakfast was plenty, yummy and for a hostel there was a lot of choices :) the staff was always friendly and helpful. the relatively high prices were ok with me, since they take corporate social responsibilty serious and invest in different social projects. would stay there again any time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, this is great news so we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.