Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
The Backpack Cape Town Located at 74 New Church Street, , Cape Town.
The Backpack Cape Town
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 74 New Church Street
90% 2049
-33.9270348 18.4105753
The Backpack Cape Town
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • samtesfalidet7765
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic place. Central location. Hospitable staff. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Great great breakfast. Consider booking longer instead of jumping around to different hostels like I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Best hostel I ever been at!!! Amazing staff, they helped me a lot with recommendations and booking tours. Good atmosphere in the hostel, the bar is great and very fun to sit with travelers there. Very clean. very rich breakfast, worth every moment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Only stayed for one night: good location, facilities, staff, breakfast included but it wasn't amazing and I would have preferred to eat out. Astronomically expensive for a hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
5.1

Very average backpackers, not very safe as anyone is able to walk through the building. A friend got his computer stolen because of this. Definitely overpriced for what you get. Staff is at best complacent about the guests and at worst condescending. I don't understand why they are rated so highly on here since there are hostels with much better facilities, staff, and general atmosphere for a fraction of the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

great stay for 2 nights. good location and a lovely breakfast. staff we brilliant, helpful. Especially Cora and Charlie. would def recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.6

It was really gorgeous here and breakfast was awesome! The location is very convenient and staff was super helpful. They put a cap on your wifi though and it doesn't reset for 24 hours so we couldn't upload our photos. Also the bathrooms aren't very convenient to the rooms if you don't have an ensuite. You have to find a room with a toilet and then go find another room with a basin to wash your hands which is tricky as it's a bit of a maze.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel with great facilities that are always clean. the breakfast is wonderful and the communal area has a great atmosphere. Only things i would mention is that the cupboards in the bedrooms don't really work - we could open them even with locks on - so definitely use the safe's they have available. in addition some of the staff were a bit stand offish and not that helpful. overall though, i would still recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
21st Dec 2016
9.4

Friendly colourful place. Servicelevels are high, staff is friendly and the breakfast is varied and fresh. Single room was clean and had an excellent bed. Sufficient and clean facilities, nice terrace/bar/hangout area for a drink and to meet other travellers. Good advice on areas, safety and activities. I appreciate the effort put in development/education for staff and familiy members of staff, social projects and the environment. Would stay again if I would return to Capetown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay and great mission to accomplish, bringing together backpacking and traveling with social responsibility!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks! We love it when guests understand where we find our passion and drive; always with our community :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Very good all round.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.