Hostelworld.com

The Backpack Cape Town

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2072 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2072 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great meeting area and environment! Very helpful staff and super breakfast included. I would have remained there had it not been booked full.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Cape Town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Superfriendly and helpful staff, nice pool, bar and breakfast, fast internet even in the rooms - was really impressed overall. The female 3 pp dorm was spacious. You cant go wrong here! They also support community development projects. Minor comment is that most of the personal safes don't work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for coming to stay with us and giving us such positive feedback! We do apologise about the broken safes; we do have communal safes in the dining room. Also, we are in the process of replacing all the broken safes. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Very good hostel. Definetely recommend it although it is quite expensive. Location is perfect, near the city center but not inside, and near Lion's Head, Table Mountain and Camps Bay. Beds and rooms are nice. BUT in my 6 day stay the ceiling lights never worked! And we informed about it. Decent breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samtesfalidet7765
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic place. Central location. Hospitable staff. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Great great breakfast. Consider booking longer instead of jumping around to different hostels like I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us :)

15th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome bar area with a good atmosphere. Clean and staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive review!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Best hostel I ever been at!!! Amazing staff, they helped me a lot with recommendations and booking tours. Good atmosphere in the hostel, the bar is great and very fun to sit with travelers there. Very clean. very rich breakfast, worth every moment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! THANKS! We are so chuffed to know that we are your favourite hostel and we hope this means that you will come back and visit us again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Only stayed for one night: good location, facilities, staff, breakfast included but it wasn't amazing and I would have preferred to eat out. Astronomically expensive for a hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Please note that we support many community projects and we also fund our staff and their children's school and study fees. When you stay with us, you are making a difference in the lives of others. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

6th Jan 2017
5.1

Very average backpackers, not very safe as anyone is able to walk through the building. A friend got his computer stolen because of this. Definitely overpriced for what you get. Staff is at best complacent about the guests and at worst condescending. I don't understand why they are rated so highly on here since there are hostels with much better facilities, staff, and general atmosphere for a fraction of the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we do apologise for your below average stay with us. Unfortunately, someone who was not a guest got let into the hostel rooms by a guest and we therefore had little control over the consequences. We have since filed a police report and have made steps to prevent this from happening again. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

great stay for 2 nights. good location and a lovely breakfast. staff we brilliant, helpful. Especially Cora and Charlie. would def recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and glad that you got to know our two awesome interns - Cora and Charlie :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.