Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
6.0

Changed to Mojo - would highly recommend it over backpack Cape Town. At backpack Cape Town they have a great marketing story, but in reality it's pretty soulless. Granted the place is nice, but I was robbed and got nasty bites. Sounds unfortunate, but the same guy had robbed this place before, and they had a picture of him up in the security room. As the cops said "I can't be coming here for the same guy man. This has to stop." Rooms were hot. Not worth the $30 / night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Probably one of the best hostel breakfast spreads ever - so much choice! Set in a good spot too, close to Kloof and Long Street but nestled in a quieter spot. Amazing views of Table Mountain. Hostel is geared towards socialising and has a party vibe, if that's your thing. Facilities are a bit tired and worn down and squeaky shaky beds in the dorm rooms. All in all though, a good enough place to Base yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great meeting area and environment! Very helpful staff and super breakfast included. I would have remained there had it not been booked full.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Cape Town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Superfriendly and helpful staff, nice pool, bar and breakfast, fast internet even in the rooms - was really impressed overall. The female 3 pp dorm was spacious. You cant go wrong here! They also support community development projects. Minor comment is that most of the personal safes don't work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for coming to stay with us and giving us such positive feedback! We do apologise about the broken safes; we do have communal safes in the dining room. Also, we are in the process of replacing all the broken safes. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Very good hostel. Definetely recommend it although it is quite expensive. Location is perfect, near the city center but not inside, and near Lion's Head, Table Mountain and Camps Bay. Beds and rooms are nice. BUT in my 6 day stay the ceiling lights never worked! And we informed about it. Decent breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samtesfalidet7765
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic place. Central location. Hospitable staff. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Great great breakfast. Consider booking longer instead of jumping around to different hostels like I did.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us :)

15th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome bar area with a good atmosphere. Clean and staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive review!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Best hostel I ever been at!!! Amazing staff, they helped me a lot with recommendations and booking tours. Good atmosphere in the hostel, the bar is great and very fun to sit with travelers there. Very clean. very rich breakfast, worth every moment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! THANKS! We are so chuffed to know that we are your favourite hostel and we hope this means that you will come back and visit us again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Only stayed for one night: good location, facilities, staff, breakfast included but it wasn't amazing and I would have preferred to eat out. Astronomically expensive for a hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Please note that we support many community projects and we also fund our staff and their children's school and study fees. When you stay with us, you are making a difference in the lives of others. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.