X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1665 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I treated myself to the most expensive hostel in Cape Town, but I was not disappointed. The beds in the 8 bed dorm were gloriously soft and the atmosphere of the whole hostel is great, with everybody talking to everyone else. With many social areas and a bar there is always somewhere to chill out. Just a street away from Kloof and Long Street where all the action is as well. I've already booked my next weekend's stay here.


100%

Fantastic Hostel in a brilliant location. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The bar was cosy and laid back and the food on offer was delicious and good value. We stayed as a family of 4 and it was perfect for us but the atmosphere and facilities were also ideal for travellers in small groups or on their own. It's close to lots of bars and restaurants. There really can't be a better place to stay in Cape Town in this price bracket.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a really wonderful stay. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good atmosphere, very close to long street - 10 min walk, also close to green market for souvenir shopping at bargain prices. Well organised arrangement for tours. Foreign currency enchasing facilty. They changed US$ at 9.4 which is same as what I got at airport form travellex after commission and better that water front who change at 8.4. But I found out the best is to use the credit card. Airport pick up & Breakfast not included. Pick-up fee was reasonable. Staff & guests were friendly.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They very very knowledgable about tours and the city. The bar is a great place to have a drink and meet other travelers.


97%

Extremely helpful and knowledgeable tours desk, great bar/cafe, fun atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel! We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and knowledgeable during your stay with us. We are glad to that you enjoyed your time in our bar/cafe area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

89%

The staff does not take the time to speak options through.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you felt we did not offer you more options during you stay. We always strive to ensure that our guests are given the best service possible. We hope that you will visit us in the near future. It is lovely to hear that you love the location of the hostel. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

83%

LOVELY staff, from the reception, to the restaurant and the the cleaning ladies. Melanie can help you to book for tours and Joseph (the security guard) is always there to help around. Delicious (but quite expensive) breakfast. Nex to restaurants and a grocery store. I wish there could be WIFI everywhere, but it is only limited to the bar/restaurant. Since there are many open air areas, it can be quite cold at night or in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you loved the services provided by our staff, especially Melanie and Joseph. It is unfortunate you found the cafe pricey. We use only Fairtrade Coffee, Organic Eggs and Bacon in our meals as well. We do have WiFi available throughout the entire hostel, it is only the free WiFi available in the cafe area. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

I come to Cape Town almost every year, and I always stay at the Backpack. Now that I bring students to South Africa, I am very pleased that there is a vibrant, well-located place like the Backpack for them to stay.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. It is awesome to hear you have loved your stay with us so much that you continue to visit us on a yearly basis, and that you get to bring students with you too. We are glad to hear that you love the location too. It is an awesome spot within the City! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

86%

I definitly want to go back one more time in this hostel. It was clean, safe and the staff was friendly! The situation is excellent (you can easly go to table Mountain and lion Mountain ) and there is a lot of restaurants around. You can also have service of laundry if you pay.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad that you felt safe within our hostel walls and that you were happy with our staff and how friendly they were to you too. Our housekeepers work extremely hard in keeping our hostel clean for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

It was a really cosy place with great rooms (at least the female 4-beds room I slept in) with big saftey boxes and nice beds.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

So much fun, fantastic resources

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are delighted that you loved your stay with us. We are happy that you found all the facilities to be helpful and useful during your stay at The Backpack. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Amazing hostel! One of a kind. I felt at home in this hostel. Facilities were amazing. It is also a fair-trade hostel. I don't think they advertise that here. Anyway, book this without hesitation! Best for solo travellers. You meet a lot of people here. It is about 15-20 minute walk to V&A Waterfront (which is probably the most touristic area in Cape Town) but you can take a $5 cab ride from the hostel - which is recommended especially at night. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly.


100%

Realy nice staff and a awsome location!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are absolutely delighted that you loved the location of the hostel. We too think it is in a great spot within the City too! We hope that you will be able to visit us again. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

Best backpacker I stayed at in six weeks of travel in South Africa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and felt this was the best backpack that you stayed in during your travels. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

In a prime location with easy and quick access to long street and everything it has to offer. The staff is friendly and very helpful and will assist in making trips to table mountain or the old biscuit mill. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it for anyone else.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our location to be exactly what you were looking for it to be. It is awesome to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and assist you in booking trips while in Cape Town. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

I am an older woman who travels on my own. Because I wanted a double room with an ensuite, I had to pay to two people - I thought this was a bit unfair and it cost me more than I expected. To be fair, when I mentioned this to staff at reception, they gave me a discount of one night. The reason for asking for this room is that I don't sleep very well and snore through the night, so in wanting to not disturb others, I chose the above room.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. With regards to your room, it is unfortunate that we didn't have a single room available, but we are glad that we could give you a discount on your total stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The loft room my friends and I booked was spacious, clean and inviting. The food was great, the atmosphere comfortable, and it was just a short walk to a number of fun restaurants and bars. Overall great experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved your room that you stay in. We too love our location within the City as its close to amazing places, but far away enough that you can have a good rest at night. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The Backpack is the best hostel that Ive ever been. Great staff! Alwyas helpfull and in a Good mood. Excelent location and very secure. A lot of room options. Very clean and neet. Great place to make new friends. For sure, Ill be back and recomend to my friends.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hostel to be in a good location and you felt secure while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

77%

Don't understand how this is different from all of the other hostels we stayed at.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your overall stay with us. We believe that not only our guests make our hostel different, but our awesome location within in the City or that we are a Fairtrade in Tourism Accredited hostel, so we have certain values that we follow. We hope that should you visit us again, you will have a more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback