X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1760 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel itself was great, however, it was disappointing that the booking that we had made in April was not available. The reception staff, Lisa and Melanie, handled this very well, however they assumed that management had informed us of this error. They continued to try to resolve this the next day. The room we were placed in was satisfactory, however was not what we had booked. I was disappointed that management had not informed us of this problem before we arrived.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us! We do apologise about the booking confusion. We had updated our reservation system and some bookings may have been lost in the process. We are so glad that Lisa and Melanie could help you with a room and that you were still able to still stay with us in the end. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

94%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff but it is expensive in terms of backpackers options. However, I did enjoy my stay, comfortable, clean beds, secure location, great vibe and great location. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the review of The Backpack! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; that you were able to join in on the good vibes and explorations of Cape Town. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in the area and this is due to us paying out staff fair wages as well as being involved in community projects. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

Great place, great location, great staff, great fellow hosteliers. All around epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, thanks for taking time to review us! We are so stoked about this awesome review and we really hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

Nice hostel in great location! Only stayed for one night but would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the great review of our hostel. We do hope that you will come back in the future to stay with us for more than just one night! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Great hostel. Nice staf. Wifi could be better (you have to login all the time and at some places bad reception). Also we missed a toilet in the last wing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for reviewing us. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do apologise about the poor wifi connection; at certain times of the day guests are all skyping home to their families and the system can slow down. We will take a look into this right away, thanks for bringing it to our attention. The last house has a single toilet outside, but just around the corner there are 4 more toilets. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

74%

We didn't get the room we had booked but the staff were very friendly and helped us as good as they could so it was ok. We really got along with the staff and had a great time at the hostel.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you found our staff to be of good service! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

This place is AMZING!!! I just had come of a 45 day camping trip and i really wanted something chilled and nice. I've stay all around the world but this is up there as the best!! The Pool is the BOMB!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the fantastic review of our hostel! We are so happy that your stay with us was charming after that long 45 day camping trip! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

The Backpack is a phenomenal hostel!! I've stayed in many hostels throughout the world and this is one of the best. The place fosters a real social atmosphere that attracts lots of awesome and interesting people. One night they even hosted a braai (South African BBQ) with a live band. Last but not least, the facilities are clean, organized, and well designed. I wish I could have stayed longer!


94%

I really enjoyed the backpack! The staff goes above and beyond and the atmosphere is very inviting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Backpack. It is lovely that you found the atmosphere of the hostel to be friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The hostel is the best I've ever stayed in. The staff are really hospitable and friendly and everyone as realy friendly. The view of table mountain is amazing and location is excellent -I would definately recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com. We are beyond delighted to hear that you felt this was the best hostel you have stayed in and that the staff were great towards you while you were here. We too love our view of Table Mountain! It really is beauty to see from the swimming pool or cafe area of the hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

Very nice hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. We were staying in a double bedroom. The room was very clean and has a comfortable bed in it. The room is not big and could be a bit noisy in the evening, but hé, your staying in a hostel. The're a lot of nice places to eat near the hostel, but also the hostels own breakfast and snacks are quite good. You won't regeer a stay here.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com. We are delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us. It is lovely to hear that you were happy with the cleaning standard of the hostel. Our housekeepers work extremely hard to keep the hostel clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

This was my 7th time in Cape Town and of course I stayed in The Backpack again. Best hostel in the Town! The only downside of the hostel is, their lovely receptionist Lisa supports Arsenal. What a pity!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us and have returned numerous to stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you aren't entirely happy with the teams our staff support! We will be sure to let Lisa know how you feel! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

83%

Staff great, congratulations. I loved the stay, hope I can back. Will recomend to all my friends!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay wiht us and hope to return in the future. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with services provided by the staff. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

66%

Nice place, cold but good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your overall stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the security provided at the hostel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

This is the second time I have stayed in this hostel and once again it doesn't disappoint. The recommendations for things to do are helpful,the staff is helpful, everything is very clean and neat, the showers are fantastic and the breakfast is great. I like the location because it is not right on Long St., so it feels safer, yet an easy walk to Long St. or tons of other great restaurants around.


91%

A little bit overpriced, especially when you're travelling with 3 other persons, but location is great (nearby longstreet) and staff is very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the location of the hostel. It is unfortunate that you found the hostel to be slightly overpriced, as you can be assured that the money you spend at the hostel on accommodation, is given back to the community projects we support and providing our staff with fair wages. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

83%

Good view and nice vibe / staff. Would be nice to add some lockers in the rooms.


97%

Really helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful during your stay at The Backpack. We look forward to welcoming us in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

Backpack was our First accommodation in capetown. We Travelled with our 14 Month Old Baby. Honestly, we have been very satisfied with everything. The staff was very friendly, always helpfully and very Kind to our daughter!! We stayed at room "Madiba". We can really recommend this room if you stay with a Child Or you just want a Little Bit luxury. To emphasize is also the Location!!near by famous Sights like table Mountain, waterfront etc. Thank you very much to the Wohle team of The Backpack!

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us and that you found our facilities to be able to have a small child with you. It is awesome to hear that you loved your room and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly towards We look forward to welcoming back your entire family soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

I've only been here for 2 nights but I can't imagine a better hostel in Cape Town. Very nice and helpfull staff. Good location of the hostel and a very nice looking one too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are beyond delighted to hear that your stay has been an awesome one with us at The Backpack. It is cool that you found the location of the hostel to be a good spot. We always love the fact that we have such a stunning view of Table Mountain from our cafe area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

(45 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback