X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1760 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I ended up staying only two nights as I was in hospital the rest of the time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or sympathetic. I was only charged the two nights rather than the whole week! I was even visited by a staff member in the hospital. The room was very nice with four twin beds,large lockers, safes, and plenty of room to move around. The attached ensuite was very welcome. I found the room very clean as was the kitchen. Security was very tight. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that your time in Cape Town, wasn't entirely what you had expected, but we are delighted that you still were able to enjoy the two days you did stay with us. Our staff always strive to ensure that our guests feel welcomed and at home and we are glad that you found our staff to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The place was clean, convenient, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful! Really enjoyed my stay here.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are extremely glad to hear that you loved your stay with us and found the location of the hostel to be in a convenient spot within the City. It is awesome that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

Awesome people, lovely staff and just great fun. Definitely will come back. Cheers. Also good opportunities to book different tours and trips.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are very happy to hear that you were able to use the travel desk facilities provided by the hostel and you enjoyed all the tours you were booked on. We are happy to hear that you had an awesome time at the hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Everything from the staff to the atmosphere at this place is just fantastic! The staff will help you with everything you need while youre in Cape Town and also make you feel like your home! Lisa is just the funniest person you will ever meet! I dont have any negative things to say about this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so happy to hear that you found our hostel to be the best hostel you have ever stayed in. It is awesome to hear that you found Lisa to be helpful during your stay with us and we will be sure to let her know. Our staff always strive to ensure the guests are happy at the hostel and feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

Lovely place, helpful staff, clean and beautiful bedrooms. Internet doesn't work well anywhere, but with patience you can work ir out. All the recomended tours were amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cape Town and you found our rooms to be clean and tidy. It is awesome that you were happy with the services provided by our travel desk and you enjoyed all the tours you were booked on. Sorry, that the internet didn't work too well! It is something that we are always working on to improve. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

1 2 3 Next » last »
(45 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback