X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1786 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel itself was great, however, it was disappointing that the booking that we had made in April was not available. The reception staff, Lisa and Melanie, handled this very well, however they assumed that management had informed us of this error. They continued to try to resolve this the next day. The room we were placed in was satisfactory, however was not what we had booked. I was disappointed that management had not informed us of this problem before we arrived.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us! We do apologise about the booking confusion. We had updated our reservation system and some bookings may have been lost in the process. We are so glad that Lisa and Melanie could help you with a room and that you were still able to still stay with us in the end. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

94%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff but it is expensive in terms of backpackers options. However, I did enjoy my stay, comfortable, clean beds, secure location, great vibe and great location. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the review of The Backpack! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; that you were able to join in on the good vibes and explorations of Cape Town. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in the area and this is due to us paying out staff fair wages as well as being involved in community projects. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

Great place, great location, great staff, great fellow hosteliers. All around epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, thanks for taking time to review us! We are so stoked about this awesome review and we really hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

Nice hostel in great location! Only stayed for one night but would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the great review of our hostel. We do hope that you will come back in the future to stay with us for more than just one night! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Great hostel. Nice staf. Wifi could be better (you have to login all the time and at some places bad reception). Also we missed a toilet in the last wing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for reviewing us. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do apologise about the poor wifi connection; at certain times of the day guests are all skyping home to their families and the system can slow down. We will take a look into this right away, thanks for bringing it to our attention. The last house has a single toilet outside, but just around the corner there are 4 more toilets. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

74%

We didn't get the room we had booked but the staff were very friendly and helped us as good as they could so it was ok. We really got along with the staff and had a great time at the hostel.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you found our staff to be of good service! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

This place is AMZING!!! I just had come of a 45 day camping trip and i really wanted something chilled and nice. I've stay all around the world but this is up there as the best!! The Pool is the BOMB!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the fantastic review of our hostel! We are so happy that your stay with us was charming after that long 45 day camping trip! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

The Backpack is a phenomenal hostel!! I've stayed in many hostels throughout the world and this is one of the best. The place fosters a real social atmosphere that attracts lots of awesome and interesting people. One night they even hosted a braai (South African BBQ) with a live band. Last but not least, the facilities are clean, organized, and well designed. I wish I could have stayed longer!


94%

I really enjoyed the backpack! The staff goes above and beyond and the atmosphere is very inviting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Backpack. It is lovely that you found the atmosphere of the hostel to be friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The hostel is the best I've ever stayed in. The staff are really hospitable and friendly and everyone as realy friendly. The view of table mountain is amazing and location is excellent -I would definately recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com. We are beyond delighted to hear that you felt this was the best hostel you have stayed in and that the staff were great towards you while you were here. We too love our view of Table Mountain! It really is beauty to see from the swimming pool or cafe area of the hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

1 2 3 Next » last »
(50 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback