Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1799 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


On a scale of 0-10 My stay would be an 8. I have to mention that the bathroom had a terrible smell could have been from the drain. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for the review of our hostel. We are sorry to hear about the bathroom smell, we do have old drainage systems, so we will take a look into this problem immediately. Other than that, we are pleased to hear you had a great time and that the staff could help out as much as possible. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team


Very nice hostel, good location - 5 mins to Long St. Nice pool area. But it doesn't have aircon and is quite expensive. Staff were friendly and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed wondering around Cape Town and its surroundings. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in Cape Town and this is because we offer fair wages to our staff and are involved in community projects. We are so happy to help out wherever we can! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team


I absolutely loved my 4-day stay at the Backpack. I had a lovely private room and shared bathroom; I really appreciated the provided shampoo and towels; to pay hostel prices and have a swimming pool in a lovely little garden overlooked by Table Mountain was amazing; all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; the restaurant has great coffee and food; and all other facilities (kitchen, safes, etc) were excellent; and the tours/advice were spot on. I heartily recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the lovely review. It is such a pity that your stay with us was only 4 days short! We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and appreciated the extras we have at our hostel for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.


Once you check in you don't want to leave again. The staff is friendly and helps you with everything. The communal lounge area is situated directly at the entrance, so you meet new friends very fast if you stay a little bit there. Long street, the place where most of the bars, clubs and restaurants are, is just a short walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; making new friends and enjoying the Long Street city life! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.


A really nice place to stay in terms of atmosphere location and helpfulness of staff. We were here for 5 days and i could have easily stayed longer. It is situated nicely between table mountain up the hill, the main party street adjacent and the whalf down the hill. Thanks for the fun times

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review! We are so happy that you had a great stay will us and made use of our central location! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team


We can only say thank you! We had an amazing time in this Hostel!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And the pleasure was ours! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.


Great hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. Nice big common areas. Bathrooms were great. Only drawback is that you can't really walk to anywhere safely in the evenings, but this is more a reflection on Cape Town than the hostel specifically.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Unfortunately, Cape Town's streets are busy and dark at night and we prefer for our guests to get safe transport rather than to take risks. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(47 results)

← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback