X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1705 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

In a prime location with easy and quick access to long street and everything it has to offer. The staff is friendly and very helpful and will assist in making trips to table mountain or the old biscuit mill. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it for anyone else.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our location to be exactly what you were looking for it to be. It is awesome to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and assist you in booking trips while in Cape Town. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

I am an older woman who travels on my own. Because I wanted a double room with an ensuite, I had to pay to two people - I thought this was a bit unfair and it cost me more than I expected. To be fair, when I mentioned this to staff at reception, they gave me a discount of one night. The reason for asking for this room is that I don't sleep very well and snore through the night, so in wanting to not disturb others, I chose the above room.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. With regards to your room, it is unfortunate that we didn't have a single room available, but we are glad that we could give you a discount on your total stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The loft room my friends and I booked was spacious, clean and inviting. The food was great, the atmosphere comfortable, and it was just a short walk to a number of fun restaurants and bars. Overall great experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved your room that you stay in. We too love our location within the City as its close to amazing places, but far away enough that you can have a good rest at night. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The Backpack is the best hostel that Ive ever been. Great staff! Alwyas helpfull and in a Good mood. Excelent location and very secure. A lot of room options. Very clean and neet. Great place to make new friends. For sure, Ill be back and recomend to my friends.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hostel to be in a good location and you felt secure while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

77%

Don't understand how this is different from all of the other hostels we stayed at.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your overall stay with us. We believe that not only our guests make our hostel different, but our awesome location within in the City or that we are a Fairtrade in Tourism Accredited hostel, so we have certain values that we follow. We hope that should you visit us again, you will have a more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Fantastic :)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

One of my favourite hostels that I've ever stayed at!! It was "home" for a week, and we definitely were made to feel like family. Melanie and Lisa both went out of their way to help assist us with many different things to ensure that our stay in Cape Town was nothing but the best. Lucas the bartender was amazing - showed us to local spots and is such a gem of a person! Kathy was a pleasure to see every morning when we'd order breaky and always took care of her girls! WE LOVE THE BACKPACK!


97%

Everything about The Backpack is fantastic. The room was great, the location was right in the city and the staff were very friendly.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room. We are even more delighted to hear that you were happy with our staff. We always strive to give our guests the best service we can. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

What a great place to base yourself when in Cape Town, amazing views of table mountain, close to long street and the staff couldn't be more helpful- Mel and Lucas were great, I will definitely be going back.


100%

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been amazing. The staff are extremely helpful and Friendly, The environment is clean and safe. The atmosphere is amazing. we will definitely be back at the Backpack

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us once before, that you have come back again to stay again. Our staff strive on giving our guests the best service possible. The housekeeping staff work extremely hard to make sure that the hostel stays sparkling clean. We hope you will visit us again for a third time and more! Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

Awesome time, everyone super friendly, Lucas is an awesome bartender.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the services provided by our staff, especially Lucas. We will be sure to let him know. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

Loved the atmosphere. It was the best hostel I've stayed in.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved the atmosphere at our hostel. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

69%

I don't understand the hype or why they claim to be the best hostel in Africa. I was traveling there for months and can tell you that is absolutely untrue. While the staff are incredibly nice and helpful, the hostel itself is just your average hostel. It isn't particularly nice, the layout is confusing, and its right on a busy road with loud traffic that keeps you awake at night and wakes you early in the am. Depending on the room you are in, the showers/toilets can be on the other side of

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your stay with us. With regards to the award of Best Hostel in Africa, it is an honour that we have been given from our past guests who believe we deserve it. It is unfortunate that you couldn't of seen what those guests saw. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the services provided by the staff. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

94%

Good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad to see that you loved the location as it is situated in an awesome spot within Town. We look forward in welcoming you back int he near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Amazing hostel with great staff who was friendly and accomodating. The central bar/lounge was a great place to hang out, meet people, play some pool, and listen to good music. Everyone in Africa has a great story to tell, and this is the place to go to meet them. Definitely staying here again if I return to Cape Town!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us while in Cape Town. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. It is awesome to hear that you were able to make the most of the communal areas and get to know fellow travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

63%

Over rated and over priced. I've stayed in a few back-packer, from Hermanus up to Cape Town and this was the worst. Not bad, just not worth the money, over-rated in terms of hyping themselves as "Africas best Hostel" (!!!!) and the crowd are dull in comparison to other back packers. But hey, the mattress at least was excellent.....

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay at The Backpack. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the quality of mattress on your bed. We hope that should you stay with us in the future you will have a more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

We booked a three bedroom ensuite. The room was big, beautifully decorated, and very clean. The room even had coffee and tea included. The wifi was a little spotty, but the staff was responsive to fix it. We didn't end up using the pool because it rained, but the outdoor spaces are great at the hostel. The staff was extremely helpful with booking a wine tour and giving advice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved how your room was decorated. We are glad to hear that our staff was helpful in booking you on tours and giving you advice. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

Altogether an excellent place to stay

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

97%

Very friendly staff, always willing to help. And awesome views of table mountain with an excellent vibe.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you loved your staff with us and that you enjoyed the views of Table Mountain just as much as we do. It is lovely to hear that you were able to experience the awesome vibe that the bar/cafe does have, especially in the evenings. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

89%

After having stayed in a boring 4* hotel this was the ideal place to chill out, meet people and discover cape town. all clean, secure and quite yummy food. on fri nite a wine tasting was organised. very nice place. would come again. for sure.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack and that you were here to take part in one of our awesome wine tasting nights. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with and the delicious food served in our cafe. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

(1157 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback