X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1680 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

After having stayed in a boring 4* hotel this was the ideal place to chill out, meet people and discover cape town. all clean, secure and quite yummy food. on fri nite a wine tasting was organised. very nice place. would come again. for sure.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack and that you were here to take part in one of our awesome wine tasting nights. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with and the delicious food served in our cafe. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

A great location. We stayed in an ensuite double room (about £70) and it was just like being in a hotel. Room had a safe, hairdryer, tv, wardrobe, kettle. I realise not all rooms would have these. Free wi-fi in the lounge and bar. Free car parking. Felt very safe.


100%

We had a great few days at the hostel. The staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to be helpful. Our breakfasts were very good especially their breakfast in a glass muesli yoghurt fruit and honey. Thanks for looking after us so well..

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are extremely happy to hear that you loved the breakfast in a glass in our cafe in the morning! A favourite breakfast choice for sure! It is lovely to hear that you were happy with the standard of service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

Pepole are not cool, lot of noise and bed are very inconfortable. Also, when i have reseved, i don't no why we must be change your room, it was not good for him, because the other room was very very inconfortable (lot of noise and window too smal )

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay with us. The only reason you would of changed rooms, is if you had booked different types of accommodation. We do strive where we can to keep people in the same room so that they don't need to move rooms. We are glad to hear that you found the hostel to be clean and tidy as our housekeepers work hard to keep it that way. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

89%

Melanie is a star, she was so fantastic in organising trips and Baz Bus....

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We love to hear that you were happy with the services and information provided by Melanie. She really is amazing at what she does. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Great Hostel some rooms are very noisy though.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are extremely glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Every apsect of the hostel was excellent. A great place to stay. I'll be staying there again and recommending to friends. My only complaints would be a) the public PC's are in bad shape (old with extremely noisy fans), b) the wifi doesn't cover the entire hostel (no reception at the back), c) the PC's keep dropping their internet connection as they're WiFi connected and d) the router has 4 different names for each location in the hostel - being a network consulant this is all easy and quick to resolve. G

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the PC's - we are looking at possibly shifting them around and putting newer models in. We are also looking at a new WIFI access for the back rooms. We look forward to your return in the near future. Kind Regards Eleni Good

100%

Facility's are great! Staff are so nice, helpful and friendly. Great location. Loads of bars and Resturant in easy strolling distance. Lovely clean rooms.


83%

very good atmosphere, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

These people know what good customer service is! They run a good accommodation. The shuttle/cab to the airport could be less expensive. We found a driver from the airport that we engaged for the return that didn't cost as much and he was very good.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review we really appreciate your feedback and you have made our day with your comments about our service. The taxi company we use have a set price and are very competitive with market rates. A bonus is you never have to worry about being stuck in traffic jams and have the meter running! We hope that you will be back in Cape Town soon. Kind regards The Backpack Team

86%

The Backpack is a nice hostel, if you try to avoid staying in Longstreet, but still want to have a close hostel to Longstreet.


83%

My son and I especially enjoyed the view from the Steve Biko room which we also found very comfortable. The reception staff was exceptionally pleasant and hellpfulj. Overall, our stay was very agreeable and we look forward to coming back one day. Louis LeFevre

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel, maybe the best I've stayed in. With everything you need close by and with the friendly and helpful staff assisting there's always stuff to do. I would definitely stay again.


89%

It was one of the best hostels I've ever been to! staff was very helpful and friendly, the whole atmosphere was just great.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was the best I've stayed in travelling. The atmosphere here was great and met tons of travelers! Lucas and Mariano showed us the night life at night and made the whole week a great experience! I have never seen a better place to stay plus the location overlooking Table Mountain every morning!!! CHEERS!!! -Lindsay and Doug


94%

The staff, facilities, atmosphere, and location are absolutely perfect. The best hostel I've ever stayed in. I will certainly come back to visit Cape Town and I would love to stay here again.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it. Please come back to Cape Town I am sure there will be lots more to see and do. Kind regards The Backpack Team

51%

We booked a Private Double Ensuite for 3 nights and a Deluxe Ensuite for one night. When we arrived we were told our booking was one night in the Private Double Ensuite and 2 nights in a Double Budget -no ensuite. Primose, the manager said ‘the system’ was to blame ie Hostelworld. We spoke for about 20 mins and she would not budge on her point and would not offer a discount for inconveniencing us either.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel at the best location; not at long street, but really close, so more space and a swimming pool with a view at the table mountain.


86%

Enjoyed my stay, not a party hostel.


94%

Fantastic hostel, you can definitely see why they have been awarded the best! Helpful, friendly staff, great café/bar, awesome view, security at all times and good wifi connection no complaints here!


(1137 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback