X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1671 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Melanie is a star, she was so fantastic in organising trips and Baz Bus....

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We love to hear that you were happy with the services and information provided by Melanie. She really is amazing at what she does. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

83%

Eine Ratte in der Küche?!!! Sie war bereits bekannt und geduldet... Das Team war nett hatte aber wenig alternative Möglichkeiten als wir länger bleiben wollten und sie bereits ausgebucht waren. Von dem Lonely Planet gekürten "nest hostel of the world" hätte ich mehr erwartet als die Aussage "...versucht es nebenan!" Andere Hostels hätten das Zelefon in der Hand und max. 3 Versuche später eine Adresse parat, die bereits auf uns wartet... Gut Pech! Sonst war es rundum ein nettes Hostel in top Lage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry for the incident that you experienced and I can assure that all measures are now in place to ensure that, that incident does not ever happen again. It is unfortunate that we could not accommodate you any longer than you would of liked, but for we will always only recommend what is easiest for a guest and what we would stay in ourselves. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Great Hostel some rooms are very noisy though.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are extremely glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Every apsect of the hostel was excellent. A great place to stay. I'll be staying there again and recommending to friends. My only complaints would be a) the public PC's are in bad shape (old with extremely noisy fans), b) the wifi doesn't cover the entire hostel (no reception at the back), c) the PC's keep dropping their internet connection as they're WiFi connected and d) the router has 4 different names for each location in the hostel - being a network consulant this is all easy and quick to resolve. G

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the PC's - we are looking at possibly shifting them around and putting newer models in. We are also looking at a new WIFI access for the back rooms. We look forward to your return in the near future. Kind Regards Eleni Good

100%

Facility's are great! Staff are so nice, helpful and friendly. Great location. Loads of bars and Resturant in easy strolling distance. Lovely clean rooms.


83%

very good atmosphere, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

These people know what good customer service is! They run a good accommodation. The shuttle/cab to the airport could be less expensive. We found a driver from the airport that we engaged for the return that didn't cost as much and he was very good.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review we really appreciate your feedback and you have made our day with your comments about our service. The taxi company we use have a set price and are very competitive with market rates. A bonus is you never have to worry about being stuck in traffic jams and have the meter running! We hope that you will be back in Cape Town soon. Kind regards The Backpack Team

86%

The Backpack is a nice hostel, if you try to avoid staying in Longstreet, but still want to have a close hostel to Longstreet.


83%

My son and I especially enjoyed the view from the Steve Biko room which we also found very comfortable. The reception staff was exceptionally pleasant and hellpfulj. Overall, our stay was very agreeable and we look forward to coming back one day. Louis LeFevre

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel, maybe the best I've stayed in. With everything you need close by and with the friendly and helpful staff assisting there's always stuff to do. I would definitely stay again.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

It was one of the best hostels I've ever been to! staff was very helpful and friendly, the whole atmosphere was just great.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was the best I've stayed in travelling. The atmosphere here was great and met tons of travelers! Lucas and Mariano showed us the night life at night and made the whole week a great experience! I have never seen a better place to stay plus the location overlooking Table Mountain every morning!!! CHEERS!!! -Lindsay and Doug


94%

The staff, facilities, atmosphere, and location are absolutely perfect. The best hostel I've ever stayed in. I will certainly come back to visit Cape Town and I would love to stay here again.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it. Please come back to Cape Town I am sure there will be lots more to see and do. Kind regards The Backpack Team

51%

We booked a Private Double Ensuite for 3 nights and a Deluxe Ensuite for one night. When we arrived we were told our booking was one night in the Private Double Ensuite and 2 nights in a Double Budget -no ensuite. Primose, the manager said ‘the system’ was to blame ie Hostelworld. We spoke for about 20 mins and she would not budge on her point and would not offer a discount for inconveniencing us either.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel at the best location; not at long street, but really close, so more space and a swimming pool with a view at the table mountain.


86%

Enjoyed my stay, not a party hostel.


94%

Fantastic hostel, you can definitely see why they have been awarded the best! Helpful, friendly staff, great café/bar, awesome view, security at all times and good wifi connection no complaints here!


91%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel for several reasons. Firstly, the atmosphere is pretty good. Secondly, it is 5 minutes walk to long street, and lots of shops are near this hostel. I will definitely stay in this hostel if I go to Cape Town again.


86%

This hostel was amazing, We really appreciated our stay in capetown and especially in this hostel. The rooms are clean an tidy. You are able to park your car in front of the hostel and the personal will have an eye on it and make sure that nobody will take it away for a little additional fee. It is possible to have breakfast at the hostel. It takes a little time to get the things you ordered and it not cheap for african conditions but the money is your contribution for fair working conditions

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you so much, the staff was really doing everything for letting us feel like at home :) The atmosphere was nice with very nice people. Fortunately we didn't see any of the drunken teenager party crowds. Can recommend them!


(1172 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback