X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1683 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic hostel, you can definitely see why they have been awarded the best! Helpful, friendly staff, great café/bar, awesome view, security at all times and good wifi connection no complaints here!


91%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel for several reasons. Firstly, the atmosphere is pretty good. Secondly, it is 5 minutes walk to long street, and lots of shops are near this hostel. I will definitely stay in this hostel if I go to Cape Town again.


86%

This hostel was amazing, We really appreciated our stay in capetown and especially in this hostel. The rooms are clean an tidy. You are able to park your car in front of the hostel and the personal will have an eye on it and make sure that nobody will take it away for a little additional fee. It is possible to have breakfast at the hostel. It takes a little time to get the things you ordered and it not cheap for african conditions but the money is your contribution for fair working conditions

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you so much, the staff was really doing everything for letting us feel like at home :) The atmosphere was nice with very nice people. Fortunately we didn't see any of the drunken teenager party crowds. Can recommend them!


89%

Great staff, alway welcoming and helpful. The hostel was always clean and felt safe, and has nice communual areas to meet others travellers. Recommended!


94%

My Korean friend and I spent three nights recently in the Backpack's annex, which is on the 8th floor of San Martini Gardens. We had a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Our small balcony overlooked the Company Gardens and we had easy access to several important tourist attractions. Safe on-site parking was a a big PLUS.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved this place, felt right at home and met some lovely people to spend time with whilst in Cape Town. All the staff are really friendly, the hostel is right near town, close to a shopping mall with cheap food, on a bus route. The bar in the hostel is great too, always some to talk to and the hostel arranges activities if you fancy it - I went to a braai in a bar in neighbouring Woodstock, really chilled bar with local people that I would never have found otherwise. A must go if in CT!


80%

We stayed in a tent but they did not provide lock for it (we had to buy one). The hostel is well organized and with great variety of rooms. The wifi only works in the main lobby and in one of the living rooms inside. There is no regular beers in the bar, they provide only a few from unknown breweries, the breakfast is very expensive compared to any other place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have found that people prefer to use their own locks so do not provide any. The wi fi is free and works works in our cafe on our deck with great views of Table Mountain and in our comfy living room and yes our beers are all craft beers and we are very proud of that rather than supporting big monopolies. We really hope you tried one of them to find out how delicious they are. Kind regards The Backpack Team

94%

One of the best Hostels I've been so far. The Breakfast is as amazing as the view. All the staff is helpful, friendly and caring - thank you!

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thumbs up for your review! thank you and come back soon. Kind regards The Backpack Team

80%

Very nice , laid back place next to the town center. The maze of small passes and corridors each of them leading to a different lounge.Many different common areas where you can meet other tourists. Well equipped- kitchen, bath rooms and so. Rooms have different sizes. I had a chance to have a big one withe a very high ceilling and those are very few. Staff is friendly and smiling. It's like an green and white enclave in the middle of the city

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Stay here is wonderful. Good location, just five minutes on foot to the central Long Street. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds. A lot of common spaces. Fresh and clean tovels available every morning. Great atmosphere in the living room and in the bar. Having breakfast looking at the Table Mountain is really great. Staff extremely friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the kind words you said about us and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back again one day. Kind regards The Backpack Team

71%

My single room was nice and clean, the bathrooms were not clean. Nice atmosphere though, many cool hangout areas.

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you like the atomosphere and thought your room clean. On the other hand we are sorry that you found us lacking in the communal bathrooms. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and whilst this is no excuse i can only say we are sorry that you found us wanting in this area. Your comments will be discussed with our housekeeping department. Kind regards The Backpack Team

91%

Really Nice place to stay will definatly go back

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and hope that you will be back Kind regards The Backpack Team

97%

Lovely staff and very friendly


71%

The hostel was ok but not as good as I had expected seeing that it has won several awards. The staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, one could only get Wi-fi at the hostel bar or other common grounds, but not in the rooms itself. Breakfast was not included and relatively expensive.


97%

Excellent services, very good advises, great welcome in South Africa !! Only poor point : only WIFI, the computer with access to Internet is not usable :-( Thanks so much again :-)))

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A very clean hostel with good facilities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our cleaning staff work very hard in maintaining our high standards of cleanliness and really appreciate it when mentioned. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey. Kind regards The Backpack Team

97%

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT, HOUSE KEEPING & CAFE STAFF GREAT ... COUPLE OF THE DESK STAFF MUST HAVE BEEN HAVING A BAD DAY :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh dear so sorry that we did not come up to scratch on the front desk that is not good - no bad hair days on the front desk are acceptable! so happy the other members of staff kept the side up. Thank you for your review it has been very helpful Kind regards The Backpack Team

94%

A great place to stay in Cape Town. I loved the pool with view to the Table Mountain and the healthy breakfast offered.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are stoked you liked our place and we agree the pool has the most awesome views - you can never get tired of looking at Table Mountain!! and our breakfast i agree you gotta have the brekkie in a glass we make the muesli ourselves. Enjoy the rest of your journey Kind regards The Backpack Team

66%

The room was small. The atmosphere was not the best and for the price your pay here,you can stay in a better place. Still, i a good location,


(1138 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback