X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1825 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Nice place to be and they can afford to be much more expensive then the other hostels. The rooms are cleaned up every day and you get a towel. Unfortunately someone stole my stuff from the kitchen - only the ones they could you use - the rest i found in the common space. After all it's a hostel - you can get similar locations far more cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us. We do have higher room prices that other hostels and that is because we strive to have fair wages for all our staff as well as involving ourselves in the community projects. Pity about the food situation, must have had some hungry guests around! We hope we can see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

On a scale of 0-10 My stay would be an 8. I have to mention that the bathroom had a terrible smell could have been from the drain. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for the review of our hostel. We are sorry to hear about the bathroom smell, we do have old drainage systems, so we will take a look into this problem immediately. Other than that, we are pleased to hear you had a great time and that the staff could help out as much as possible. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

86%

Very nice hostel, good location - 5 mins to Long St. Nice pool area. But it doesn't have aircon and is quite expensive. Staff were friendly and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed wondering around Cape Town and its surroundings. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in Cape Town and this is because we offer fair wages to our staff and are involved in community projects. We are so happy to help out wherever we can! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

100%

I absolutely loved my 4-day stay at the Backpack. I had a lovely private room and shared bathroom; I really appreciated the provided shampoo and towels; to pay hostel prices and have a swimming pool in a lovely little garden overlooked by Table Mountain was amazing; all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; the restaurant has great coffee and food; and all other facilities (kitchen, safes, etc) were excellent; and the tours/advice were spot on. I heartily recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the lovely review. It is such a pity that your stay with us was only 4 days short! We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and appreciated the extras we have at our hostel for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Once you check in you don't want to leave again. The staff is friendly and helps you with everything. The communal lounge area is situated directly at the entrance, so you meet new friends very fast if you stay a little bit there. Long street, the place where most of the bars, clubs and restaurants are, is just a short walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; making new friends and enjoying the Long Street city life! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

A really nice place to stay in terms of atmosphere location and helpfulness of staff. We were here for 5 days and i could have easily stayed longer. It is situated nicely between table mountain up the hill, the main party street adjacent and the whalf down the hill. Thanks for the fun times

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review! We are so happy that you had a great stay will us and made use of our central location! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

91%

We can only say thank you! We had an amazing time in this Hostel!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And the pleasure was ours! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

97%

Great hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. Nice big common areas. Bathrooms were great. Only drawback is that you can't really walk to anywhere safely in the evenings, but this is more a reflection on Cape Town than the hostel specifically.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Unfortunately, Cape Town's streets are busy and dark at night and we prefer for our guests to get safe transport rather than to take risks. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

A backpackers like no other (and I've been to a lot). The place is gorgeous, comfortable, clean and well situated. The staff very helpful. It's a place that you can enjoy fellow travellers in the bar or find your own space to relax. They become your personal concierge's the second you arrive. Most importantly they respect and give back to the community; so your money and time in South Africa not only enriches your mind; but South Africans as a whole. I'd highly recommend it!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review of our hostel. We are humbled by your wonderful review. We do strive to give our staff fair wages as well as immerse ourselves into the community and help out as much as possible to the locals who have not been as privileged as we. We hope to welcome you back into our hostel soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

89%

Can see why this hostel has won multiple awards for best hostel in Africa for years in a row. They contribute to the society, stimulate their customers to donate and bring second hand clothing etc with them to donate as well. The price was a bit on the high side i thought and when i miscalculated the # of days i stayed, i could not get a refund. Quite inflexible line management. Everything needs to be approved by the manager on site. I guess this is how this motel supports the local community.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do work by a strict cancellation policy, which is stated on our website for guests to see. But you are correct, our higher prices are indeed due to the fact that we offer more; we help the community and support our staff with fair wages. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

94%

The hostel itself was great, however, it was disappointing that the booking that we had made in April was not available. The reception staff, Lisa and Melanie, handled this very well, however they assumed that management had informed us of this error. They continued to try to resolve this the next day. The room we were placed in was satisfactory, however was not what we had booked. I was disappointed that management had not informed us of this problem before we arrived.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us! We do apologise about the booking confusion. We had updated our reservation system and some bookings may have been lost in the process. We are so glad that Lisa and Melanie could help you with a room and that you were still able to still stay with us in the end. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

94%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff but it is expensive in terms of backpackers options. However, I did enjoy my stay, comfortable, clean beds, secure location, great vibe and great location. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the review of The Backpack! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; that you were able to join in on the good vibes and explorations of Cape Town. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in the area and this is due to us paying out staff fair wages as well as being involved in community projects. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

Great place, great location, great staff, great fellow hosteliers. All around epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, thanks for taking time to review us! We are so stoked about this awesome review and we really hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

Nice hostel in great location! Only stayed for one night but would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the great review of our hostel. We do hope that you will come back in the future to stay with us for more than just one night! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Great hostel. Nice staf. Wifi could be better (you have to login all the time and at some places bad reception). Also we missed a toilet in the last wing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for reviewing us. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do apologise about the poor wifi connection; at certain times of the day guests are all skyping home to their families and the system can slow down. We will take a look into this right away, thanks for bringing it to our attention. The last house has a single toilet outside, but just around the corner there are 4 more toilets. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

74%

We didn't get the room we had booked but the staff were very friendly and helped us as good as they could so it was ok. We really got along with the staff and had a great time at the hostel.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you found our staff to be of good service! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

This place is AMZING!!! I just had come of a 45 day camping trip and i really wanted something chilled and nice. I've stay all around the world but this is up there as the best!! The Pool is the BOMB!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the fantastic review of our hostel! We are so happy that your stay with us was charming after that long 45 day camping trip! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

97%

Cette auberge est très bien située de CAp Town et d'excellent rapport qualité/prix. Un personnel disponible et très serviable. Des petites attentions comme des serviettes pres de la piscine : surprenant ds une auberge. Je recommande vivement cet endroit.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us and found the location of the hostel to be in a great spot within the City. It is lovely to hear that you were able to make use of the swimming we have at the hostel, which has divine views of Table Mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The Backpack is a phenomenal hostel!! I've stayed in many hostels throughout the world and this is one of the best. The place fosters a real social atmosphere that attracts lots of awesome and interesting people. One night they even hosted a braai (South African BBQ) with a live band. Last but not least, the facilities are clean, organized, and well designed. I wish I could have stayed longer!


94%

I really enjoyed the backpack! The staff goes above and beyond and the atmosphere is very inviting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Backpack. It is lovely that you found the atmosphere of the hostel to be friendly and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

(1278 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback