X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1697 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was my 7th time in Cape Town and of course I stayed in The Backpack again. Best hostel in the Town! The only downside of the hostel is, their lovely receptionist Lisa supports Arsenal. What a pity!


94%

This is the second time I have stayed in this hostel and once again it doesn't disappoint. The recommendations for things to do are helpful,the staff is helpful, everything is very clean and neat, the showers are fantastic and the breakfast is great. I like the location because it is not right on Long St., so it feels safer, yet an easy walk to Long St. or tons of other great restaurants around.


97%

Really helpful staff.


97%

Backpack was our First accommodation in capetown. We Travelled with our 14 Month Old Baby. Honestly, we have been very satisfied with everything. The staff was very friendly, always helpfully and very Kind to our daughter!! We stayed at room "Madiba". We can really recommend this room if you stay with a Child Or you just want a Little Bit luxury. To emphasize is also the Location!!near by famous Sights like table Mountain, waterfront etc. Thank you very much to the Wohle team of The Backpack!

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us and that you found our facilities to be able to have a small child with you. It is awesome to hear that you loved your room and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly towards We look forward to welcoming back your entire family soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

I've only been here for 2 nights but I can't imagine a better hostel in Cape Town. Very nice and helpfull staff. Good location of the hostel and a very nice looking one too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are beyond delighted to hear that your stay has been an awesome one with us at The Backpack. It is cool that you found the location of the hostel to be a good spot. We always love the fact that we have such a stunning view of Table Mountain from our cafe area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

I ended up staying only two nights as I was in hospital the rest of the time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or sympathetic. I was only charged the two nights rather than the whole week! I was even visited by a staff member in the hospital. The room was very nice with four twin beds,large lockers, safes, and plenty of room to move around. The attached ensuite was very welcome. I found the room very clean as was the kitchen. Security was very tight. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that your time in Cape Town, wasn't entirely what you had expected, but we are delighted that you still were able to enjoy the two days you did stay with us. Our staff always strive to ensure that our guests feel welcomed and at home and we are glad that you found our staff to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The place was clean, convenient, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful! Really enjoyed my stay here.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are extremely glad to hear that you loved your stay with us and found the location of the hostel to be in a convenient spot within the City. It is awesome that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

Awesome people, lovely staff and just great fun. Definitely will come back. Cheers. Also good opportunities to book different tours and trips.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are very happy to hear that you were able to use the travel desk facilities provided by the hostel and you enjoyed all the tours you were booked on. We are happy to hear that you had an awesome time at the hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Everything from the staff to the atmosphere at this place is just fantastic! The staff will help you with everything you need while youre in Cape Town and also make you feel like your home! Lisa is just the funniest person you will ever meet! I dont have any negative things to say about this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so happy to hear that you found our hostel to be the best hostel you have ever stayed in. It is awesome to hear that you found Lisa to be helpful during your stay with us and we will be sure to let her know. Our staff always strive to ensure the guests are happy at the hostel and feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

Lovely place, helpful staff, clean and beautiful bedrooms. Internet doesn't work well anywhere, but with patience you can work ir out. All the recomended tours were amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cape Town and you found our rooms to be clean and tidy. It is awesome that you were happy with the services provided by our travel desk and you enjoyed all the tours you were booked on. Sorry, that the internet didn't work too well! It is something that we are always working on to improve. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

54%

We booked the hostel because of the good reviews on hostelworld but we were really disappointed. The staff wasn't very friendly and our room was OK but looked much worse than all the other hostels we stayed in and payed that much money for. Most importantly, the atmosphere in the hostel was really bad, people were not really interested in meeting new people at all. Would definitely not book again.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay with us at The Backpack. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible with us. It is unfortunate that you weren't able to meet like minded travelers. We hope that should you stay with us again, you would have a more enjoyable time. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in and I've travelled extensively. It has a fun bar, a great restaurant, large rooms, clean private bathrooms and amazing people! This is the place to be for everyone, young and old alike.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and found the facilities at the hostel to be good! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy meeting fellow travelers at the hostel. It is awesome that you found the hostel to be well cleaned, as our housekeeping team work very hard to keep the hostel at a certain standard. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

The best hostel that I stayed!!!! Excellence atmosphere! Good localization! Was perfect took my breakfast looking for table mountain! The staffs are great! When I came back to Cape Town I booking again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and found the atmosphere at The Backpack to be excellent! It is awesome to hear that you could enjoy the views we have of Table Mountain from the hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Eleni Good

37%

The reality is much lower than my expectation. Price is R660 on website for a single room, private shower. But they didn't give me private shower. Another man just walked in and they gave him R500 for a double beds room! This is unbeliveable. The towel are old and thin like used for 10 years! Big noice you can heard in the room when people walk by. I never saw a smile in any of front desk staff! 15 minutes to long street, not safe to walk along at night. never go back again!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay with us while in Cape Town. We checked your reservation, and you had been booked in a shared bathroom room. Unfortunately we the other guests being offered a special rate, we often have special for last minute reservations. Should you wish to return, we hope you will have a more enjoyable stay with us. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

An amazing hostel with amazing staff. Hot showers, clean rooms every night, great breakfast, decent internet in common area. The staff, travelers, and overall atmosphere give this hostel 5 stars...we had an unforgettable time. Shout out to Matt and Lucas for being badasses. There's a reason this hostel is rated the best in Africa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are beyond delighted to hear that you feel we deserve 5 stars for our hostel. It is awesome when staff make a guests stay that extra special. We will be sure to let the boys know you found them to be badasses! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfasts we have on offer in the cafe. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

86%

It was a really nice stay. One gets easily into contact with other travelers. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to stay there!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are happy to hear that you were able to meet fellow travelers while staying with us at The Backpack. It is lovely to hear that you found the hostel to have a nice atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

91%

I loved staying there. The place is great and super relaxed at night. the playlist of coffee was exellent and many beautiful guests

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are really happy to hear that you found the hostel to a great place and you were able to meet lots of new people. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our coffee in the bar/cafe area as we are proud to serve a Fairtrade Certified Coffee. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

we loved this place. Everyone in the staff was very helpfull and kind. the room are comfortable but a little bit cool during the winter. we'll recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are glad to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful towards you during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were slightly cold at night. We try to ensure that all our rooms have spare blankets and hot water bottles in the winter months. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

94%

I treated myself to the most expensive hostel in Cape Town, but I was not disappointed. The beds in the 8 bed dorm were gloriously soft and the atmosphere of the whole hostel is great, with everybody talking to everyone else. With many social areas and a bar there is always somewhere to chill out. Just a street away from Kloof and Long Street where all the action is as well. I've already booked my next weekend's stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us. Even though our price may differ slightly from other hostels, know that your money is spent ensuring our staff are given good wages and goes back into the community projects that we support. It is lovely that you found the location of the hostel to be awesome as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Fantastic Hostel in a brilliant location. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The bar was cosy and laid back and the food on offer was delicious and good value. We stayed as a family of 4 and it was perfect for us but the atmosphere and facilities were also ideal for travellers in small groups or on their own. It's close to lots of bars and restaurants. There really can't be a better place to stay in Cape Town in this price bracket.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Hostelworld.com We are extremely happy to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you found the hostel to be good value for money. It is awesome to hear that you were able to use the bar/cafe facilities to get to know fellow travelers. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback