X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1760 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Friendly staff, but dorm room too expensive and way too much noise from the road - sounded like trucks were driving through the room! Breakfast a bit pricy also! No wifi-connection in the room! Come ooon! its 2015 - even the cheapest home-stays or hostels in fx. thailand and Vietnam has wifi in the rooms. When I actually managed to find a corner with wifi, the connection was so horribly slow that an average Google Search took up to 10-15 seconds. If I had know this I would have stayed away.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review of our hostel! Our prices of our rooms are what they are because we support the community in many ways as well as paying out our staff with fair wages. We do apologise for the noise in your room; Cape Town is a very busy city! Thank you for bringing the WiFi connection to our attention, we will see to this immediately. We are excited to announce that we are introducing a buffet breakfast which is now included in the room prices! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

The Backpack was a fantastic place to stay. I couldn't fault the hostel, location, people (guests & staff), activities and the city of Cape Town. Highly recommended as your first choice if there is a room available. As with anything in life, you get what you pay for and the Backpack delivers.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for taking the time to review us. We are proud of the product we give our guests and the extra cost you pay is how we pay out fair wages to all our staff and contribute to community projects that we support. We hope that we can see you in the future. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

I was a lone female traveller, unsure what to expect of cape Town and South Africa but I can honestly say I was made to feel so welcome and felt safe pretty much all of the time. Taxis at night are a good idea to be on the safe side - make sure the driver has the meter on!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, thanks for the review of our hostel. We are so glad to have given you a great experience and hopefully this will encourage you to make a trip to South Africa again! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

80%

Just so people are aware. This hostel is in a quiet area and we did met 3 people who where mugged while walking home on their own. Albeit in the early hours of the morning. Also some of the rooms don't have wifi. The pool area and views are a real bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for reviewing The Backpack. We are terribly sorry that you had to hear about these incidents happening so close to the hostel. However, we work with a taxi company that is around to lift guests at any time of the day and with this service at hand, we do not encourage guests to walk about the city after the sun goes down. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

97%

Excellent hostel with a fun, chilled vibe. Handy for shops, Long St, etc. For any travel advice see the wonderful Melanie, our trip to the garden route was amazing because of her. Definitely recommend this hostel. Ended up staying a lot of extra nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for reviewing the hostel. We are so happy that you had a great time with us, extending your stay a couple of times even, and that Melanie could help you with all your travel needs. We hope to see you again in the near future! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I met so many great people. I stayed in a four-bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom. I think it was a bit expensive as we were near the kitchen and had to put up with a lot of noise late in the evenings and early in the morning. Breakfast was not included, which I thought was cheap. However, the staff were always extremely helpful and friendly. There was always something going on and something to do. I would highly recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for the awesome review! It's great that your stay with us was satisfactory and that you gave yourself some time to wonder the city of Cape Town to see all it has to offer. The noise at the hostel is due to all the excited busy bodies getting up early for their day's activities. We hope that you can be a guest with us again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

74%

Overpriced. Nice facilities, nice location and nice staff….the bed was not so comfortable and the room and bathroom were not so clean. çreally nice view and friendy staff, although really overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are happy that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the view from the hostel. It really is one of a kind! We do apologise that the standard of your room and our bathrooms was lacking and we will see to this immediately. Our prices are due to us paying out fair wages to all our staff and supporting the community projects, so your money is going to a great cause. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Great place to stay, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, however the only bad things are the food for sale is priced very high for what it is, also the price increases when you book anything through the hostel. Expect to pay roughly 1/4 to 1/3 more for anything you book. Book activities directly with the operator. Otherwise it's a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your review of our hostel. We are glad that your overall stay was charming. We apologise that you found our food in the kitchen to be pricey but we do serve free-range and organic food only, as well as our beers are all craft beers. With regards to our tours; the cost we sell them at is not increased, the cost is what it is because the tour operators we support are all involved with responsible tourism. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

Very nice, the pool and the view to table mountain is amazing and it's not that far to the top of long street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review of The Backpack! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

91%

Amazing views, especially from the pool and a nice bar with good food. Location is 10 minutes walk from Long Street, though get a taxi there at night. Very good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review! We are happy to hear you loved staying with us and exploring Cape Town and its surroundings. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

77%

Nice place to be and they can afford to be much more expensive then the other hostels. The rooms are cleaned up every day and you get a towel. Unfortunately someone stole my stuff from the kitchen - only the ones they could you use - the rest i found in the common space. After all it's a hostel - you can get similar locations far more cheaper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us. We do have higher room prices that other hostels and that is because we strive to have fair wages for all our staff as well as involving ourselves in the community projects. Pity about the food situation, must have had some hungry guests around! We hope we can see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

89%

On a scale of 0-10 My stay would be an 8. I have to mention that the bathroom had a terrible smell could have been from the drain. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for the review of our hostel. We are sorry to hear about the bathroom smell, we do have old drainage systems, so we will take a look into this problem immediately. Other than that, we are pleased to hear you had a great time and that the staff could help out as much as possible. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

86%

Very nice hostel, good location - 5 mins to Long St. Nice pool area. But it doesn't have aircon and is quite expensive. Staff were friendly and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed wondering around Cape Town and its surroundings. Our prices are higher than other backpackers in Cape Town and this is because we offer fair wages to our staff and are involved in community projects. We are so happy to help out wherever we can! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

100%

I absolutely loved my 4-day stay at the Backpack. I had a lovely private room and shared bathroom; I really appreciated the provided shampoo and towels; to pay hostel prices and have a swimming pool in a lovely little garden overlooked by Table Mountain was amazing; all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; the restaurant has great coffee and food; and all other facilities (kitchen, safes, etc) were excellent; and the tours/advice were spot on. I heartily recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the lovely review. It is such a pity that your stay with us was only 4 days short! We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and appreciated the extras we have at our hostel for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

Once you check in you don't want to leave again. The staff is friendly and helps you with everything. The communal lounge area is situated directly at the entrance, so you meet new friends very fast if you stay a little bit there. Long street, the place where most of the bars, clubs and restaurants are, is just a short walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; making new friends and enjoying the Long Street city life! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

91%

A really nice place to stay in terms of atmosphere location and helpfulness of staff. We were here for 5 days and i could have easily stayed longer. It is situated nicely between table mountain up the hill, the main party street adjacent and the whalf down the hill. Thanks for the fun times

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review! We are so happy that you had a great stay will us and made use of our central location! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

91%

We can only say thank you! We had an amazing time in this Hostel!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And the pleasure was ours! Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

97%

Great hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. Nice big common areas. Bathrooms were great. Only drawback is that you can't really walk to anywhere safely in the evenings, but this is more a reflection on Cape Town than the hostel specifically.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Unfortunately, Cape Town's streets are busy and dark at night and we prefer for our guests to get safe transport rather than to take risks. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

100%

A backpackers like no other (and I've been to a lot). The place is gorgeous, comfortable, clean and well situated. The staff very helpful. It's a place that you can enjoy fellow travellers in the bar or find your own space to relax. They become your personal concierge's the second you arrive. Most importantly they respect and give back to the community; so your money and time in South Africa not only enriches your mind; but South Africans as a whole. I'd highly recommend it!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review of our hostel. We are humbled by your wonderful review. We do strive to give our staff fair wages as well as immerse ourselves into the community and help out as much as possible to the locals who have not been as privileged as we. We hope to welcome you back into our hostel soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team.

89%

Can see why this hostel has won multiple awards for best hostel in Africa for years in a row. They contribute to the society, stimulate their customers to donate and bring second hand clothing etc with them to donate as well. The price was a bit on the high side i thought and when i miscalculated the # of days i stayed, i could not get a refund. Quite inflexible line management. Everything needs to be approved by the manager on site. I guess this is how this motel supports the local community.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do work by a strict cancellation policy, which is stated on our website for guests to see. But you are correct, our higher prices are indeed due to the fact that we offer more; we help the community and support our staff with fair wages. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback