X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Backpack Reviews

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1615 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I don't understand the hype or why they claim to be the best hostel in Africa. I was traveling there for months and can tell you that is absolutely untrue. While the staff are incredibly nice and helpful, the hostel itself is just your average hostel. It isn't particularly nice, the layout is confusing, and its right on a busy road with loud traffic that keeps you awake at night and wakes you early in the am. Depending on the room you are in, the showers/toilets can be on the other side of

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your stay with us. With regards to the award of Best Hostel in Africa, it is an honour that we have been given from our past guests who believe we deserve it. It is unfortunate that you couldn't of seen what those guests saw. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the services provided by the staff. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

94%

Good location


100%

Amazing hostel with great staff who was friendly and accomodating. The central bar/lounge was a great place to hang out, meet people, play some pool, and listen to good music. Everyone in Africa has a great story to tell, and this is the place to go to meet them. Definitely staying here again if I return to Cape Town!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us while in Cape Town. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. It is awesome to hear that you were able to make the most of the communal areas and get to know fellow travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

63%

Over rated and over priced. I've stayed in a few back-packer, from Hermanus up to Cape Town and this was the worst. Not bad, just not worth the money, over-rated in terms of hyping themselves as "Africas best Hostel" (!!!!) and the crowd are dull in comparison to other back packers. But hey, the mattress at least was excellent.....

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay at The Backpack. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the quality of mattress on your bed. We hope that should you stay with us in the future you will have a more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

We booked a three bedroom ensuite. The room was big, beautifully decorated, and very clean. The room even had coffee and tea included. The wifi was a little spotty, but the staff was responsive to fix it. We didn't end up using the pool because it rained, but the outdoor spaces are great at the hostel. The staff was extremely helpful with booking a wine tour and giving advice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved how your room was decorated. We are glad to hear that our staff was helpful in booking you on tours and giving you advice. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

97%

Altogether an excellent place to stay

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

97%

Very friendly staff, always willing to help. And awesome views of table mountain with an excellent vibe.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you loved your staff with us and that you enjoyed the views of Table Mountain just as much as we do. It is lovely to hear that you were able to experience the awesome vibe that the bar/cafe does have, especially in the evenings. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

89%

After having stayed in a boring 4* hotel this was the ideal place to chill out, meet people and discover cape town. all clean, secure and quite yummy food. on fri nite a wine tasting was organised. very nice place. would come again. for sure.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack and that you were here to take part in one of our awesome wine tasting nights. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with and the delicious food served in our cafe. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

A great location. We stayed in an ensuite double room (about £70) and it was just like being in a hotel. Room had a safe, hairdryer, tv, wardrobe, kettle. I realise not all rooms would have these. Free wi-fi in the lounge and bar. Free car parking. Felt very safe.


100%

We had a great few days at the hostel. The staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to be helpful. Our breakfasts were very good especially their breakfast in a glass muesli yoghurt fruit and honey. Thanks for looking after us so well..

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are extremely happy to hear that you loved the breakfast in a glass in our cafe in the morning! A favourite breakfast choice for sure! It is lovely to hear that you were happy with the standard of service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

57%

Pepole are not cool, lot of noise and bed are very inconfortable. Also, when i have reseved, i don't no why we must be change your room, it was not good for him, because the other room was very very inconfortable (lot of noise and window too smal )

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay with us. The only reason you would of changed rooms, is if you had booked different types of accommodation. We do strive where we can to keep people in the same room so that they don't need to move rooms. We are glad to hear that you found the hostel to be clean and tidy as our housekeepers work hard to keep it that way. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

89%

Melanie is a star, she was so fantastic in organising trips and Baz Bus....

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We love to hear that you were happy with the services and information provided by Melanie. She really is amazing at what she does. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

83%

Eine Ratte in der Küche?!!! Sie war bereits bekannt und geduldet... Das Team war nett hatte aber wenig alternative Möglichkeiten als wir länger bleiben wollten und sie bereits ausgebucht waren. Von dem Lonely Planet gekürten "nest hostel of the world" hätte ich mehr erwartet als die Aussage "...versucht es nebenan!" Andere Hostels hätten das Zelefon in der Hand und max. 3 Versuche später eine Adresse parat, die bereits auf uns wartet... Gut Pech! Sonst war es rundum ein nettes Hostel in top Lage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry for the incident that you experienced and I can assure that all measures are now in place to ensure that, that incident does not ever happen again. It is unfortunate that we could not accommodate you any longer than you would of liked, but for we will always only recommend what is easiest for a guest and what we would stay in ourselves. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Great Hostel some rooms are very noisy though.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are extremely glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The Backpack Team

100%

Every apsect of the hostel was excellent. A great place to stay. I'll be staying there again and recommending to friends. My only complaints would be a) the public PC's are in bad shape (old with extremely noisy fans), b) the wifi doesn't cover the entire hostel (no reception at the back), c) the PC's keep dropping their internet connection as they're WiFi connected and d) the router has 4 different names for each location in the hostel - being a network consulant this is all easy and quick to resolve. G

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the PC's - we are looking at possibly shifting them around and putting newer models in. We are also looking at a new WIFI access for the back rooms. We look forward to your return in the near future. Kind Regards Eleni Good

100%

Facility's are great! Staff are so nice, helpful and friendly. Great location. Loads of bars and Resturant in easy strolling distance. Lovely clean rooms.


83%

very good atmosphere, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

These people know what good customer service is! They run a good accommodation. The shuttle/cab to the airport could be less expensive. We found a driver from the airport that we engaged for the return that didn't cost as much and he was very good.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review we really appreciate your feedback and you have made our day with your comments about our service. The taxi company we use have a set price and are very competitive with market rates. A bonus is you never have to worry about being stuck in traffic jams and have the meter running! We hope that you will be back in Cape Town soon. Kind regards The Backpack Team

86%

The Backpack is a nice hostel, if you try to avoid staying in Longstreet, but still want to have a close hostel to Longstreet.


83%

My son and I especially enjoyed the view from the Steve Biko room which we also found very comfortable. The reception staff was exceptionally pleasant and hellpfulj. Overall, our stay was very agreeable and we look forward to coming back one day. Louis LeFevre

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback