X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpackers Ritz of Johannesburg Reviews

1A North Road, Dunkeld West, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
113 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Well, it is not a bad place to stay, if you know you want to hang out in this area. At least this place is remote and you won't see many homeless. Take Guatrain to Rosebank and get a Uber here with R30. But the dorm has 12-14 beds in a big loft, which does not get cleaned well often (1-2 a week according to my observation) They have all day breakfast but usually stop making them in the afternoon, which also let me down.


89%

The wireless doesn't work in the rooms. The staff were super helpful and knowledgable, especially connecting us with our safari company who were late picking us up. The avocado/bacon toast is delish!

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

a nice place with a friendly chief :-)

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The aesthetics are amazing!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The garden and a pool is very nice! Rooms and showers are clean but a bit decrepit. There are no bar anymore. The self-catering kitchen is good. One of the two owners seems to be little bored to his work, but the other one is really wonderful and always like a sunshine. The former one tried to charge too much for the airport pickup and misadvised us with some traffic connection information. Still a nice stay!


20%

The young guy on reception says some very inappropriate things and makes going to main house very uncomfortable when he is there. No one stays here. It's very awkward and I would not recommend staying here if your travelling by yourself. Everything is very old and run down. This property has great potential but general maintenance needs to be done. This is more a family home stay as the kids are always around.


100%

We love the central setting and the wonderful peace and quiet with am interesting history Thank You Jackie Huber

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff lacks understanding and acceptance of travelers issues like time zone changes and are generally unfriendly, at times, mocking. They behave like they are doing you a favor accepting your money. Place is run down and not well kept. No towels, soap, washing machines, tiny showers and toilets hard to maneuver in. Location is not bad, but still a 4-5 km walk to the Sandton train station. Local shopping mall nearby. Neighborhood seems safe as I was able to walk around at night with no issue


86%

Really friendly helpful staff

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a lovely stay at Ritz! Staff was a bunch of hilarious people and all so helpful and nice. Place is located a bit far from the city centre but the area felt safe and still there was all that you needed in walking distance. Rooms were nice and neat as well as the other facilities there. Many thanks :)


97%

There's only one problem with the place, which is the double bed in the private room is quite old and saggy. It was difficult for my partner (who has a chronic back problem) to sleep comfortably on the bed. On the other hand, the dorm bunks are fine. With all that out of the way, I must say that this place is a gem. The host family is super friendly and helpful. The dinner cooked and served at the hostel is worth every rand. It's in a safe and convenient location.


80%

The hostel staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction of shops etc. The room was nice and the facilities were good, although having stayed in other hostels in Johannesburg, it was average - but there was nothing wrong as such!


54%

I stayed here in June 2013 and compared to previous hostels stayed in through south Africa this was the worst value for money. No WiFi and the computers offered for paid use are full of viruses so didn't feel safe checking bank accounts or in putting credit card details to book things. There is also not a lot within walking distance. There is a shopping centre but all attractions require a taxi, which if you're a single traveller can become quite costly.Staff friendly but not customer focused

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff. Clean and felt very safe. Nice place, quiet as we were there in winter but still a good atmosphere despite this! Comfortable lounge area for relaxing with others and great that it has a pool table!


94%

Great hostel with an awesome garden. Make sure you try the bakery/restaurant just up the street, as well as the sushi at the seafood place next to it.


83%

Great location, very user friendly. Staff very helpful. Would definitely visit again.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are really helpful and so friendly. Was so easy to book things, and get there from the airport. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • 5th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Really quite foul. Cockroaches in the showers and the rooms. General feeling of dirtiness.

  • 15th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was okay. Toilets, beds, rooms etc. were good. The huge yard and the security is very good. They even have a pool which is pretty unusual for a hostel. But since one year travelling, I never felt that uncomfortable with the staff. Strange jokes about Dutch, Germans and Austrians and they always answered a question with a counter question. I did not like to go to their desk to ask for questions which belongs in my opinion to a good hostel.

  • 24th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

There are other hostels in Jo'burg with free pick up from the airport and internet. I found the Ritz really expensive.

  • 21st Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback