X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Backpackers Ritz of Johannesburg Reviews

1A North Road, Dunkeld West, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
104 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Staff lacks understanding and acceptance of travelers issues like time zone changes and are generally unfriendly, at times, mocking. They behave like they are doing you a favor accepting your money. Place is run down and not well kept. No towels, soap, washing machines, tiny showers and toilets hard to maneuver in. Location is not bad, but still a 4-5 km walk to the Sandton train station. Local shopping mall nearby. Neighborhood seems safe as I was able to walk around at night with no issue


86%

Really friendly helpful staff

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

I had a lovely stay at Ritz! Staff was a bunch of hilarious people and all so helpful and nice. Place is located a bit far from the city centre but the area felt safe and still there was all that you needed in walking distance. Rooms were nice and neat as well as the other facilities there. Many thanks :)


97%

There's only one problem with the place, which is the double bed in the private room is quite old and saggy. It was difficult for my partner (who has a chronic back problem) to sleep comfortably on the bed. On the other hand, the dorm bunks are fine. With all that out of the way, I must say that this place is a gem. The host family is super friendly and helpful. The dinner cooked and served at the hostel is worth every rand. It's in a safe and convenient location.


80%

The hostel staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction of shops etc. The room was nice and the facilities were good, although having stayed in other hostels in Johannesburg, it was average - but there was nothing wrong as such!


54%

I stayed here in June 2013 and compared to previous hostels stayed in through south Africa this was the worst value for money. No WiFi and the computers offered for paid use are full of viruses so didn't feel safe checking bank accounts or in putting credit card details to book things. There is also not a lot within walking distance. There is a shopping centre but all attractions require a taxi, which if you're a single traveller can become quite costly.Staff friendly but not customer focused

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff. Clean and felt very safe. Nice place, quiet as we were there in winter but still a good atmosphere despite this! Comfortable lounge area for relaxing with others and great that it has a pool table!


94%

Great hostel with an awesome garden. Make sure you try the bakery/restaurant just up the street, as well as the sushi at the seafood place next to it.


83%

Great location, very user friendly. Staff very helpful. Would definitely visit again.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are really helpful and so friendly. Was so easy to book things, and get there from the airport. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • 5th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Really quite foul. Cockroaches in the showers and the rooms. General feeling of dirtiness.

  • 15th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was okay. Toilets, beds, rooms etc. were good. The huge yard and the security is very good. They even have a pool which is pretty unusual for a hostel. But since one year travelling, I never felt that uncomfortable with the staff. Strange jokes about Dutch, Germans and Austrians and they always answered a question with a counter question. I did not like to go to their desk to ask for questions which belongs in my opinion to a good hostel.

  • 24th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

There are other hostels in Jo'burg with free pick up from the airport and internet. I found the Ritz really expensive.

  • 21st Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

awful stay, bad service and people really unfriendly. they lied to me tryin to make me pay twice the price for a tour in the lion park. I cant recommand to stay there... it's a shame!! I cancelled 3 nights and I changed place in emergency!

  • 20th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely the best location in JoBurg! Staff was really helpful, gave us tips and even made reservations for the restaurant. I would also recommend the shuttle service to the airport - we were (and heard of other people also being) stood up by the service we arranged through a travel agency. Here, the owner will pick you up himself, so it's definitely reliable!


83%

saw a lot of bad reviews about this place but we a very enjoyable place to stay. to all those people whinging your meant to be backpacking... toughen up


83%

Staff at front desk were really friendly, helpful and informative. Will pick you up and drop you at the airport for a really good price

  • 9th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very helpful staff and a friendly atmosphere.

  • 26th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I really liked the Backpacker Ritz. But for travellers who don't have much money it is very expensive.

  • 25th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Definetely recommendable place to stay! nothing to complain about.

  • 24th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback