Hostelworld.com

The Backpackshack

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
The Backpackshack Located at 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London.
The Backpackshack
England
London W3 8JB 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB
86% 421
51.5064853 -0.2737140
The Backpackshack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2016
8.6

Derrick was very helpful and the room was great! Clean bathrooms and usable kitchen space was great. The location was close to markets and the underground system.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
7.7

Rooms are kept simple (a bed and a closet), but who wants to stay at the hostel if he can visit London? ;) The staff is very kind and you can simply come in contact with people from that area at an evening in the pub. Beware that you have to walk about ten minutes to the underground and ride it about twenty minutes to the city. But after all, its worth its price. Tiny breakfast recommendation: look for Churchfields near the overground station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

Great hostel just a little ways out from the city. Would be ideal for anyone flying in or out of Heathrow. As long as you are okay with a 30 minute tube ride into the city, this hostel is a great money saver. Great staff and the rooms are adequate. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.3

Location - handy for tube ride into central London. Cleanliness, could have been better but was satisfactory. Facilities, only problem was shower in both bathrooms not very good, but we managed. owner and his mother were good hosts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
7.1

Easy access from heathrow and central London. About a 10 minute walk from the tube station, which isn't bad except when hauling a suitcase and bags. Rooms were very simple- a bed and a closet. Community kitchen and bathrooms led to quite a bit of noise from the hall in the mornings. We stayed over a weekend, and there was some noise from outside at all hours of the night, but I'm a heavy sleeper so didnt bother me at all. Staff was friendly, gave you a lot of freedom and space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nickperry232340
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

If you are looking for a good clean cheap private room then this place is good. Location just of Acton High Street so not right in heart but easy enough to get into London from here Derek? The guy that checked us in was friendly, bed was clean and so was shared bathroom. Would stay again. Kitchen was clean too with free tea and coffee in morning, was a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.9

This was my first trip to London and my first stay in a hostel. While Acton Town is a bit far from many London sights, I got quite adept at using the underground and feel like I got a much better idea of the layout of the city. Backpackshack was clean, comfy, and quiet and the owner and staff were incredibly helpful with suggestions of where to eat and how to get to the places I wanted to see. Wifi was also excellent, which was a pleasant surprise for a small facility!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.1

We had a fantastic time here! The facilities weren't fancy but everything was clean and comfortable and that was perfect for us. The hostel is a trip to the city center. The owner and his mother, Mags, were fantastic and made our stay comfy and a overall a wonderful experience! Would stay again and would recommend to a friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Really lovely staff! So friendly and welcoming you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.4

Nice atmosphere, kind staff and visitors, clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.