Hostelworld.com

The Backpackshack

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent place to stay if you don't mind some extra travel time. Good wifi. Excelent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
3.1

The pub has a very musty smell, which is unpleasant. This smell is all through the hostel. The rooms are outdated and dire. Curtains rotting/ moth bitten. The bunk beds ladder didn't have a single rung on it to climb up. Terrible lighting in the room. Heater was not turned on until very late in the afternoon so rooms were cold. not very well organised, and not good value for money! The lock of the bedroom door was breaking also.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The smell in the pub was a temporary problem and is now resolved. I agree with you on the curtains, these will be replaced during our annual overhaul this month as will the bed. The door lock is not broken but the handle does need tightened which will be seen to - security is not compromised. Heating is on in afternoon and evening due to budget constraints. You do make some fair points but the level of negativity is over the top to be fair...

27th Dec 2016
9.1

A decent place to stay, relatively near to Heathrow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.4

Door locks were broken. I went into first room, the door knob was broken,so I requested to change the room. unfortunately, the second room had the same issue. the staff is very friendly and very helpful. they have central heating which they switch-off during the nights, So in winters it can be really cold in the rooms. however, you can request for extra blankets. Morrisons is close by. Overall value for money. try to reach the hostel by 9.30PM.the area is not so good to roam late in the nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The door handle in the first room was broken, unfortunately it broke whilst the room was being prepared for you. There was no broken door handle in the second room and also there was no broken door locks. It is important to recognise the difference between the door handle and the door lock - NO door locks were broken, so your review is wrong. We have an excellent record in terms of security and are disappointed by your inaccurate comments. Also in over 7 years no guests have come to any harm in the local area either at night or at any time....

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
10.0

One of the better hostels I've been to - close to the supermarket, laundromat, public transport. Have made its pub my local (even though I now live an hour away).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.9

The Backpackshack was a very neat little hostel above a nice little pub. The people were interesting and there was a toilet, a bed and a shower. And for 25 quid. You can't expect anything more. It was a very tight knit place and felt very personal. I would totally stay again if I came round the same parts again and was in need of a bed. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
8.9

Took a trip to London for a gig in Islington and although the Backpackshack was a little far out of Central London (about 35 minutes on the tube/£30 taxi) it was an absolute bargain. Friendly staff, really cheap and we had everything we needed. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
10.0

I liked it the staff were polite and helpful even the night staff in finding me a cup of tea... a 3.00am when I could not sleep certainly stay there a gain..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic little find . Very clean . Staff couldnt have been more friendly andhelpfull. Will definately use again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

This place was more of a hotel than a hostel! All private rooms no dorms and proper private bathrooms as well as a large fully equipped kitchen. Seemed like a quiet family pub which I preferred as there is no noise for a good nights sleep and there's 24hr access if you want to go out for a party experience. The owner was lovely and helped us with our bags. Defiantly worth the extra couple of dollars a night for a couple or two friends. Wish we could have stayed longer I'd defiantly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.